Alexandra A. Choban OD
4.9 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Interstate Medical Office Central
3600 North Interstate Ave.
Portland, OR 97227

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.9
Overall Score
  • 4.1
    Wait Time
  • 4.9
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.9
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.9
    Explanations
  • 4.9
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 253 Ratings
  • 95 Comments

This provider is EXCELLENT!

July 26, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was my first experience with Dr. Choban. She was courteous, professional, warm and caring. I was deeply impressed with her communication style and ability to explain things to me. I feel confident in her skills and ability to care for my eyes.

July 24, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. [Choban] is exceptional. She gave me the most thorough eye exam of my life! I was very impressed by her knowledge and professionalism.

May 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Choban is a wonderful person. Kaiser is lucky to have her. She really cared about my condition and answered all of my questions.

May 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The doctor I saw was amazing! Best eye doctor I've ever had.

May 10, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Choban is wonderful--very thorough and caring, excellent discussions on eye status, care, and follow up. She's great!

May 08, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Choban is truly the BEST. She is one of the reasons I stay with Kaiser. Her care is utmost professional.

April 26, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent dr.! Been choosing to see her for years. Great new glasses every time.

April 24, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent doctor.

April 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

We had a great visit with *Dr. Choban. She was kind and caring getting our 6 year old examined for her first glasses.

April 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I really liked Dr. Choban. // I've been going to eye doctors my whole life and this was one of the best experiences I've had.

April 10, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Choban was fantastic.

April 05, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Choban spent the time to explain and talk through questions I had

March 20, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Good experience

March 13, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I enjoyed my appt. with *Dr. Choban. I learned a lot about my vision or lack of.

March 13, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

dr choban is fantastic and super smart. I completely trust her.

February 20, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Even though she was running behind schedule, I did not feel rushed. She took the time to answer all my questions and was very kind and informative.

February 20, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Choban was running behind and I was informed of this. When she came to get me, she was very courteous and sensitive to the fact I needed to get back to work at a certain time. She was very fast, professional and kind, also very informative. I felt comfortable and safe in her presence.

February 20, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Choban is wonderful!

February 08, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Choban is wonderful & can't recommend her highly enough.

January 30, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Choban's level of professionalism and compassionate care exceed level 5 in all of these categories. She is excellent!

January 23, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Best dr. I've had!

January 18, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Choban was warm yet professional.

January 18, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Choban is amazing - one of best drs. at Kaiser!

January 11, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have the highest praise for Dr. Choban. I schedule all my eye appointments with her and look forward to seeing her. She is extremely knowledgeable and a joy to see!!

December 12, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

She was absolutely wonderful, friendly, and very caring.

December 07, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have every confidence in DR Choban and I would recommend her very highly. she was instramental in seeing another DR for my cataract surgery.

November 16, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

She deserves an A+; so thorough, patient and caring. Every time!

October 05, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Choban was excellent all around.

September 26, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This provider is EXCELLENT. I could not have been better cared for!

September 26, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Choban is my favorite care provider at Kaiser - she gets my highest recommendation.

September 21, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Choban has an excellent manner with patients. // Dr. checked my past measurements, not just the most recent.

September 14, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Alex is the best. She is one of the few eye drs. who understands my eye issues.

September 14, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I've never had such a great experience with any doctor, amazing.

September 05, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Choban was GREAT! She spent a lot of time explaining things to me & my 13 yr. old daughter. She put my daughter at ease right away. Great doc! Will definitely see her again.

August 17, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Choban is lovely. She is engaged and caring.

August 15, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Choban is excellent in every way!

August 10, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Choban is likely the most professional and thorough of optical physicians I have encountered in my years at KP. All were good, but I feel that she addressed the reasons for my visit, the likely issues I might be facing due to my age and family history and the best plan to meet my optical needs. I highly recommend this woman.

August 08, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Chobanis excellent with young children.

July 25, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Choban is the best optometrist at Kaiser, she is so very thorough and a great listener. I feel very confident in her assessments and grateful that she takes care of my eyes. The Dept. of Optometry is better having *Dr. Choban practice.

July 18, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Choban is one of the best doctors I've ever had. She is very professional, knows what she is doing... exudes confidence, at the same time, she is has a very warm personality which puts one at ease and makes you feel cared for. I highly recommend her!

July 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Choban is wonderful.

June 29, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Choban was excellent and with the wait. [name]

June 29, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Choban is the best optometrist I've seen at Kaiser

June 20, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Choban is AWESOME!!! (She could talk a little louder during the exam.) Thank you.

June 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

First time an eye doctor has suggested my vision issues may be caused by a mild case of dry eye. She had excellent non-drug, natural remedies that I have already started to use. Great doctor.

May 16, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Choban is wonderful. Very pleasant and upbeat. She's careful and informative and precise. I really appreciate her enthusiasm and will go out of my way to schedule appointments only with her.

April 25, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My provider, Dr. Choban was AWESOME!

April 20, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Choban is one of my all-time favorite providers - warm, knowledgeable, efficient but takes time to know me and engaging to where I feel I know a bit about her. With *Dr. Choban, I feel cared for and connected!

April 20, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Choban is fantastic! I really appreciate her ability to explain medical information, her warm manner, and her willingness to devote time to her patients. Also, she is very accommodating despite my strong dislike of having drops or bright lights in my eyes.

April 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have seen Dr Choban several times prior to this visit and her conscienscious professional and personal treatment is always a pleasure.

April 04, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Amazing doctor. One of the best I've seen at Kaiser. Dr. Choban was friendly, well educated, and explained everything she was doing. Lovely

March 14, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Alexandra Choban was thorough and pleasant.

March 14, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I love Dr. Choban! She remembered me from a three years prior visit (or else has great records), took her time and answered all my questions. She is extremely personable, gentle and fun. I rate her a 5+++!

February 09, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent experience, very professional, courteous, and prompt.

December 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This care provider could not be better!!!

October 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Choban is extraordinary! She is the best OD. She listens, explains everything well, and goes above and beyond and I have such confidence in her knowledge. I am grateful that she "takes care of my eyes".

September 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Choban is a very skilled, professional, approachable and kind provider. I only have vision in one eye and feel confident she will not miss anything.

September 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very nice doctor!

September 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Choban is always very polite, professional and engaging. One of the medical care providers I have had.

August 30, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Choban was very warm and helpful. I appreciated her personability and her expertise!

August 23, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I enjoyed the exam and interactions with Dr. Choban.

August 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr.Choban is delightful to work with and thorough.

August 09, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Choban is excellent in all respects. I would recommend her highly.

July 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Choban - very kind, considerate - recommended yearly visits - explained rationale for more timely visits.

June 30, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Choban is very good about listening to concerns and explaining answers. I always feel that I have received a thorough exam. She is professional as well as caring and kind.

June 16, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I appreciate Dr Choban fetching me from the waiting area in person and fully attending to me during the appt and the walk out.

June 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. C is the best!

June 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Choban is amazing. She is calm and reassuring.Highly professional.

May 19, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Choban is wonderful, very thorough and explains everything clearly. Love her!

April 26, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Tom was very personable, attentive, and understandable. I am very pleased with the visit.

February 25, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Ms. Choban is always warm and professional. She seems highly skilled and has been able to help with with the transition to trifocals and helped me respond to my aging eyes.

February 23, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I rate the care I received extreme-ly high and appreciate this. Thank you!

February 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am very grateful to be able to see Dr Choban. She's remarkable! She solved a problem for me that was plaguing me, related to my bifocals, and it works great. Her efforts to be patient focused and warm also put me at ease.

February 09, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Choban was very nice.

January 21, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Choban is competent and friendly - A great and unusual combination. I seek her out to be sure I get the care I need and the continuity I want. She's wonderful and I trust her with vision. // Superb caregiver.

January 19, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent, Dr. Choban is very thorough, kind, courteous and knowledgeable.

January 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Choban is GREAT I recommend her to all K. Per.

January 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Waited 15 minutes before entering exam room, not too bad. Care provider came out herself to collect me and apologized.

January 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Good balance of professional conversation and personal anecdote sharing. Really human to human contact.

December 17, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I'm a big fan of Dr. Choban and deliberately scheduled a later appointment than I wanted so that I could see her. She's just fantastic. Very competent and very friendly. A pleasure to deal with.

December 03, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very friendly staff *Dr. Choban is very good specialist & very good with kids.

December 03, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was the best eye visit I have ever had. Dr. Choban was friendly, caring, and amazing. She really understands my wondering eye situation. I am new to Kaiser and so far our relationship is off to a great start.

November 19, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The doctor addressed all of my concerns in a very clear way, and made me feel like I had all of her attention all the time. She is very personable.

November 19, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Choban was exceptionally clear and patient, spent considerable time figuring out what the issue was and making sure it wasn't something worse.

October 27, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Choban did a very thorough exam and took time to discuss my concerns.

October 27, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Nice people, well trained, professional. The Dr. was a joy to work with!

October 15, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Choban was great at listening to my and my child's concerns with his vision and helped him feel comfortable with getting glasses.

October 08, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very thorough. I made an appt for my husband to see *Dr. Choban. The best OD I've had at Kaiser.

October 01, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Always professional - always listens to my concerns, definitely a asset to Kaiser!

October 01, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Choban is very professional, very competent, and very caring.

September 22, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Choban was very professional and communicated very well. She also has a warm and caring "chairside" manner.

August 27, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Choban was incredible! I absolutely adored her. I will always try to see her

August 25, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was quite distressed with this condition and the doctor assured me that my eyes are healthy, created a plan of treatment that I can follow. I felt much better after seeing her.

August 11, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Choban made sure I was comfortable with choices about new eye prescriptions. She was concerned about an eyelash problem I've had in the past and checked to see that there wasn't a problem this time. She made me feel cared for and not rushed during appointment.

August 04, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Medical School ?

Pacific University
Forest Grove

Medical Training ?

General Optometry
Pacific University
Forest Grove OR

Board Certification ?