Alistair Bahar MD
4.9 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Interstate Medical Office Central
3600 North Interstate Ave.
Portland, OR 97227

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.9
Overall Score
  • 4.6
    Wait Time
  • 4.9
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.9
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.9
    Explanations
  • 4.9
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 177 Ratings
  • 53 Comments

I didn't know if I would like *Dr. Bahar when I first met him. However, we had a great discussion about my care. He asked about my concerns & then repeated back what he wrote as a summary.

May 24, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

was very happy with my doctor. spent a significant amount of time with me and included me in the decision. Felt confident in his knowledge and experience.

May 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Bahar is excellent. His manner is of concern and he does not talk down to you. He is thorough in explaining and truly inspires confidence. // Dr. Bahar really inspires confidence.

April 19, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very satisfactory consultation with *Dr.Bahar, who was patient and through as always.

April 03, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Bahar is wonderful - kind, caring & warm - I totally trust his professional judgment about my care & treatment - thankfully, I don't need anything more at present & feel confident that if that changes I can count on *Dr. Bahar for help - Thank you. [name]

March 27, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Bahar is an amazing care provider!

March 27, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Bahar is thoughtful and very attentive. He takes his time during your appointment and makes sure to explain things very well. He encourages you to ask questions throughout and makes sure you understand. Great Dr. and great experience.

February 16, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great & caring doctor & staff.

January 26, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Wonderful bed site manner, very gracious re-explained potential problems very professional, and knowledgeable researched my history quickly on the computer reassuring.

January 25, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Overall pleasant experience with *Dr. Bahar.

January 23, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Bahar was great! Clear, compassionate, wonderful!

January 03, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Found Dr. Bahar exceptional in knowledge and caring toward handling my medical condition.

January 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Bahar he is very good doctor.

November 21, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He gives his complete attention to the patient and provides the level of information which matches the depth of your interest in the topic. He answers questions thoroughly. He explains what he is doing , and why he is doing it. He uses a holistic approach to the patient, taking into consideration all aspects of the patient's health. He is respectful of the patients' preferences and viewpoints. I always look forward to appointments with this exceptional physician.

November 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Bihar was really great! He was very thorough in his review of my condition and took the time and care to explain the details to me. I felt cared for. Thank you!

November 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Bahar is the best. I was in need of a diabetic eye screen and he coordinated it so I could have it done there in clinic and save me an additional trip to the doctor.

November 09, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

First time meeting *Dr. Baker. He was very nice and spent a lot of time on our appointment.

October 31, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I would highly recommend *Dr. Bahar. I have had excellent discussions with him when we met. I am glad he is part of my care team.

October 19, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Bahar is absolutely wonderful! He attended to my needs, questions, anxieties about my issue. How refreshing to have soooo much time to converse and feel like I mattered. I appreciate the luxury of time with an expert; an expert with people skills!

October 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Having Dr Behar as my doctor helping me with my diabetes has been a plus. He has worked closely with me and it has really helped. He is an exceptional Doctor and very sincere and caring.

October 03, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I thoroughly enjoy *Dr. Bahar. He is always gracious and kind. He explains things so I can easily understand them.

October 03, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Bahar did an excellent job. I had no pain during or after the biopsies an no adverse reactions. He explained everything to me in his calm and reassuring manner.

September 13, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very comfortable, supportive environment.

August 31, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The visit was a good experience, it was an easy procedure and I didn't get any complication. The care provider (doctor) & nurse handle me with care.

August 30, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

very considerate and caring attitude

August 17, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Bahar is one of the nicest Doctors at Kaiser that I have ever had. He takes the time to explain what you have and how he is going to take of it. He is a very gentle man.Hope he stays at Kaiser for many years.

August 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Bahar listens carefully to all my comments and concerns and responds thoughtfully. He takes as much time as is necessary to make sure I understand my treatment options and am comfortable.

July 20, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Everything was great.

July 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Felt very comfortable w/*Dr. Bahar.

June 23, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Bahar went above and beyond explaining scans, proceedures, and outcomes and was able to answer all of my questions.

June 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Bahar was wonderful, caring & engaging. I felt confident with the care I received.

May 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very happy I made the decision to see this physician. He spent quite a long time with me addressing my concerns I have had diabetes type 1 for 4 1/2 yrs., and *Dr. Bahar explained the progression of the disease, indicating where I needed to mark changes. I feel he was very kind and thorough. I would HIGHLY recommend him to another diabetic.

May 09, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He spent a lot of time explaining, showing me a model of the thyroid to further show what was happening, looking at very old past medical records from other areas of the country, talking about options and their consequences.

April 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Bahar is amazing! Very caring, generous w/his time, showed professional expertise & personal concern for my medical needs. Very good @ communicating w/me both my medical needs & what actions he would be taking. Highly impressed.

April 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Bahar shows great kindness & concern. Very personable. Always explains things thoroughly. I feel confident in his care - always up to date & informed.

April 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

When I was informed that I would need to see a specialist (*Dr. Bahar) my imagination took over, picturing the worst. *Dr. Bahar put me at ease, as did his staff.

April 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr is AWESOME! He is so kind and considerate and really makes you feel that he cares about you and wants to help any way he can. I can't say enough nice things about him.

March 16, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Bahar is a wonderful doctor - courteous, professional, and has my complete confidence.

March 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Bahar is a very wonderful provider. He talks to you, explains everything he is doing and shows concern for you comfort. I really appreciate his approach and how at ease I felt with him.

February 16, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Bahar is the most kind, sincere, caring, thorough, & competent doctor I've ever encountered. I've been with Kaiser for over 40 years.

January 20, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good.

January 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great experience.

December 29, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Bahar is excellent. He is very knowledgeable, makes sure you understand the tests, results, and what it means for your condition. Openly discusses the wisdom of a variety of approaches. He is very competent and honest.

November 18, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Exceptional technical and interpersonal skills.

November 10, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Alistair Bahar very good MD. [name]

November 10, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Bahar was wonderful!!

November 09, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Alistair is great,

November 03, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Bahar was great. He had reviewed my chart before entering, something not always done; he listened carefully and fully explained his answers. I was thoroughly satisfied with the visit.

October 27, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Had a biopsy. *Dr. Bahar was very reassuring & explained what he was doing during the procedure.

October 26, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I appreciated his courtesy and unhurried manner, as well as all the questions he asked. He also reassured me that my condition wasn't my fault, that it could happen to anyone regardless of lifestyle.

September 03, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I wish we could have 1000 dr. like *Dr. Bahar. He is caring, informative. Thank you.

September 02, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent Doctor. Listened intently to my concerns and responded exactly to the point of my inquiries. Explained every step of the procedure and made the entire experience as pleasant as could be expected.

August 24, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. took great care in speaking slowly & clearly as I am hard of hearing.

August 03, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am from Virginia and first moved to Portland in 1998 for my Internal Medicine residency. I practiced as a general Internist in Bend, but my interest in Endocrinology brought me back to Portland. After completing my fellowship and research training in Endocrinology, I returned to private practice in Virginia and then moved back to Portland in 2012.

About my practice

I practice general Endocrinology and provide my members with evidence-based care by doing what is necessary and proven to be effective. I believe lifestyle plays an enormous role in our health; what we eat and what we do or don't do, affects us physically. I am honored to work as a physician with Kaiser Permanente.

How I thrive

I value physical fitness. Living in this city makes access to the coast and mountains easy. I enjoy theater and classical music performances regularly.

Medical School ?

University of Virginia School of Medicine
Charlottesville

Medical Training ?

Endocrinology
Oregon Health & Science University
Portland OR

Internal Medicine
Oregon Health & Science University
Portland OR

Board Certification ?

Endocrinology, Diabetes and Metabolism
American Board of Internal Medicine