Alistair Bahar MD
4.9 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Interstate Medical Office Central
3600 North Interstate Ave.
Portland, OR 97227

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.9
Overall Score
  • 4.6
    Wait Time
  • 4.9
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.9
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.9
    Explanations
  • 4.9
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 205 Ratings
  • 77 Comments

Excellent service, as usual. Dr. Bahar is a great communicator, abd obviosly very expert

August 09, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Kaiser has some excellent physicians. None better than [Alistair] Bahar. Knowledgeable friendly, takes time to explain procedures. Always smiles. A wonderful doctor. Kaiser lucky to have him.

July 18, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Bahar is one of the most thorough doctors I've ever had. he's great.

June 21, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Bahar is the best doctor I've had to help me treat my condition kind, professional, knowledgeable.

June 12, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I wish that all Kaiser MD's demonstrated the professionalism of *Dr. Bahar. I especially appreciated that he took time to educate, explain, listen & I learned a lot & was motivated to take steps to implement his suggestions. I felt empowered to improve my health. I trust his advise.

June 01, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Bahar is one of the best doctors I have ever been to. I was very impressed with my first visit.

May 31, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Bahart his team have provided wonderful care. They take the time to answer questions & respond to emails promptly. I was impressed with *Dr. Bahar's attention to my issues as well as his including me in the treatment decisions. Plus he took time & care to make a needle biopsy a pain free experience.

May 10, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Bahar is a special, but puts the patient at ease. The first visit he spent quite a long time showing me the pictures of my thyroid and explaining it clearly. This visit was for a needle biopsy. Again he explained everything and put me at ease. He has a very professional and warm manner.

May 09, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr was incredible , explained everything

March 07, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

All positive

February 20, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Bahar and the staff were excellent, and I wouldn't want to go anywhere else!!!

February 16, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I really appreciate Dr. Bahar's thoroughness and attention to detail.

February 08, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Bahar is an excellent & very approachable endocrinologist. He is a true enrichment to the Kaiser Permanente Healthcare.

January 23, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Bahar was very courteous, patient and helpful in each of my visits. He took the time to clearly explain the issues with me and I felt I made the best decisions because of his explanations of my options. I feel like I am in good hands with him.

January 05, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Bahar was sensitive, professional and informative. I was pleased to be attended by him.

January 03, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Bahar is intelligent, empathetic, compassionate, kind and very caring - what a fantastic doctor -of course, very knowledgable as well - a real pleasure I certainly enjoyed talking with him & listening.

December 19, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

So kind - a real gentle man.

December 12, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was a very good experience and *Dr. Bahar spent quality time explaining my problem & thoroughly answering my questions.

November 03, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Bahar was a GREAT doctor who made this visit enjoyable and relaxing even though the procedure was a serious one. Terrific & thank you *Dr. Bahar!

November 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Bahar was great. I appreciated the time he spent explaining things plus letting me know differences to expect between his approach and Dr. [name]. I enjoyed the appointment!

October 27, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent physician.

September 26, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I couldn't understand his terminology when I talked to him. Most of the time I had to guess what he was trying to ask or say to me.

September 19, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

great dr

September 14, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. was honest and told me the truth about my condition and I felt healed.

August 29, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

appreciated physician's ability to describe procedure and outcome, h seemed kind and expert

August 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have been treated by *Dr. Bahar for many years and have always enjoyed his candor, humor and knowledge.

July 26, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent physician, very caring and works with you to find ways to improve your health.

June 27, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I didn't know if I would like *Dr. Bahar when I first met him. However, we had a great discussion about my care. He asked about my concerns & then repeated back what he wrote as a summary.

May 25, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

was very happy with my doctor. spent a significant amount of time with me and included me in the decision. Felt confident in his knowledge and experience.

May 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Bahar is excellent. His manner is of concern and he does not talk down to you. He is thorough in explaining and truly inspires confidence. // Dr. Bahar really inspires confidence.

April 20, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very satisfactory consultation with *Dr.Bahar, who was patient and through as always.

April 04, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Bahar is wonderful - kind, caring & warm - I totally trust his professional judgment about my care & treatment - thankfully, I don't need anything more at present & feel confident that if that changes I can count on *Dr. Bahar for help - Thank you. [name]

March 28, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Bahar is thoughtful and very attentive. He takes his time during your appointment and makes sure to explain things very well. He encourages you to ask questions throughout and makes sure you understand. Great Dr. and great experience.

February 17, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great & caring doctor & staff.

January 27, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Overall pleasant experience with *Dr. Bahar.

January 24, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Bahar was great! Clear, compassionate, wonderful!

January 04, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Found Dr. Bahar exceptional in knowledge and caring toward handling my medical condition.

January 03, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Bahar he is very good doctor.

November 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He gives his complete attention to the patient and provides the level of information which matches the depth of your interest in the topic. He answers questions thoroughly. He explains what he is doing , and why he is doing it. He uses a holistic approach to the patient, taking into consideration all aspects of the patient's health. He is respectful of the patients' preferences and viewpoints. I always look forward to appointments with this exceptional physician.

November 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Bihar was really great! He was very thorough in his review of my condition and took the time and care to explain the details to me. I felt cared for. Thank you!

November 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Bahar is the best. I was in need of a diabetic eye screen and he coordinated it so I could have it done there in clinic and save me an additional trip to the doctor.

November 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

First time meeting *Dr. Baker. He was very nice and spent a lot of time on our appointment.

November 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I would highly recommend *Dr. Bahar. I have had excellent discussions with him when we met. I am glad he is part of my care team.

October 20, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Bahar is absolutely wonderful! He attended to my needs, questions, anxieties about my issue. How refreshing to have soooo much time to converse and feel like I mattered. I appreciate the luxury of time with an expert; an expert with people skills!

October 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Having Dr Behar as my doctor helping me with my diabetes has been a plus. He has worked closely with me and it has really helped. He is an exceptional Doctor and very sincere and caring.

October 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Bahar did an excellent job. I had no pain during or after the biopsies an no adverse reactions. He explained everything to me in his calm and reassuring manner.

September 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very comfortable, supportive environment.

September 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The visit was a good experience, it was an easy procedure and I didn't get any complication. The care provider (doctor) & nurse handle me with care.

August 31, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

very considerate and caring attitude

August 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Bahar is one of the nicest Doctors at Kaiser that I have ever had. He takes the time to explain what you have and how he is going to take of it. He is a very gentle man.Hope he stays at Kaiser for many years.

August 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Bahar listens carefully to all my comments and concerns and responds thoughtfully. He takes as much time as is necessary to make sure I understand my treatment options and am comfortable.

July 21, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Everything was great.

July 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Felt very comfortable w/*Dr. Bahar.

June 24, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Bahar went above and beyond explaining scans, proceedures, and outcomes and was able to answer all of my questions.

June 03, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Bahar was wonderful, caring & engaging. I felt confident with the care I received.

May 13, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very happy I made the decision to see this physician. He spent quite a long time with me addressing my concerns I have had diabetes type 1 for 4 1/2 yrs., and *Dr. Bahar explained the progression of the disease, indicating where I needed to mark changes. I feel he was very kind and thorough. I would HIGHLY recommend him to another diabetic.

May 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He spent a lot of time explaining, showing me a model of the thyroid to further show what was happening, looking at very old past medical records from other areas of the country, talking about options and their consequences.

April 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Bahar is amazing! Very caring, generous w/his time, showed professional expertise & personal concern for my medical needs. Very good @ communicating w/me both my medical needs & what actions he would be taking. Highly impressed.

April 19, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Bahar shows great kindness & concern. Very personable. Always explains things thoroughly. I feel confident in his care - always up to date & informed.

April 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

When I was informed that I would need to see a specialist (*Dr. Bahar) my imagination took over, picturing the worst. *Dr. Bahar put me at ease, as did his staff.

April 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr is AWESOME! He is so kind and considerate and really makes you feel that he cares about you and wants to help any way he can. I can't say enough nice things about him.

March 17, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Bahar is a wonderful doctor - courteous, professional, and has my complete confidence.

March 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Bahar is a very wonderful provider. He talks to you, explains everything he is doing and shows concern for you comfort. I really appreciate his approach and how at ease I felt with him.

February 17, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Bahar is the most kind, sincere, caring, thorough, & competent doctor I've ever encountered. I've been with Kaiser for over 40 years.

January 21, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good.

January 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great experience.

December 30, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Bahar is excellent. He is very knowledgeable, makes sure you understand the tests, results, and what it means for your condition. Openly discusses the wisdom of a variety of approaches. He is very competent and honest.

November 19, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Exceptional technical and interpersonal skills.

November 11, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Alistair Bahar very good MD. [name]

November 11, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Bahar was wonderful!!

November 10, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Alistair is great,

November 04, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Bahar was great. He had reviewed my chart before entering, something not always done; he listened carefully and fully explained his answers. I was thoroughly satisfied with the visit.

October 28, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Had a biopsy. *Dr. Bahar was very reassuring & explained what he was doing during the procedure.

October 27, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I appreciated his courtesy and unhurried manner, as well as all the questions he asked. He also reassured me that my condition wasn't my fault, that it could happen to anyone regardless of lifestyle.

September 04, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I wish we could have 1000 dr. like *Dr. Bahar. He is caring, informative. Thank you.

September 03, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent Doctor. Listened intently to my concerns and responded exactly to the point of my inquiries. Explained every step of the procedure and made the entire experience as pleasant as could be expected.

August 25, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. took great care in speaking slowly & clearly as I am hard of hearing.

August 04, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am from Virginia and first moved to Portland in 1998 for my Internal Medicine residency. I practiced as a general Internist in Bend, but my interest in Endocrinology brought me back to Portland. After completing my fellowship and research training in Endocrinology, I returned to private practice in Virginia and then moved back to Portland in 2012.

About my practice

I practice general Endocrinology and provide my members with evidence-based care by doing what is necessary and proven to be effective. I believe lifestyle plays an enormous role in our health; what we eat and what we do or don't do, affects us physically. I am honored to work as a physician with Kaiser Permanente.

How I thrive

I value physical fitness. Living in this city makes access to the coast and mountains easy. I enjoy theater and classical music performances regularly.

Medical School ?

University of Virginia School of Medicine
Charlottesville

Medical Training ?

Endocrinology
Oregon Health & Science University
Portland OR

Internal Medicine
Oregon Health & Science University
Portland OR

Board Certification ?

Endocrinology, Diabetes and Metabolism
American Board of Internal Medicine