Amber C. Carlson OD
4.8 / 5
(503) 813-2000
North Lancaster Medical Office
2400 Lancaster Drive NE
Salem, OR 97305

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.8
Overall Score
  • 4.7
    Wait Time
  • 4.8
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.8
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.9
    Explanations
  • 4.8
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 348 Ratings
  • 66 Comments

I felt well-cared for, Dr Carlson took the time to do a full exam and explained everything well.

July 13, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Friendly - knowledgeable and understanding of my condition - ocular rosasea

July 11, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent!

July 10, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

She was delightful

March 12, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Carlson is professional, courteous and personable.

March 09, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was impressed by the ease with which Dr Carlson examined my eyes, described my symptoms and their cause. It felt like a meeting among friends.

March 09, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

very knowledgeable and able to communicate

February 28, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

wonderful provider! she addressed my son's injury and explained everything on what we could expect as his eye healed. very impressed. thank you Dr Carlson

February 14, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Carlson patiently explained my condition (cataracts forming) in detail, answering every question and anticipating others. She strikes me as an extremely competent, caring physician. I'm grateful for her expertise.

February 13, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Courteous, respectful, thorough.

January 29, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Carlson is the greatest!

November 27, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have been seen by Dr. Carlson before so I scheduled my appointment on line so I could see her again. She is an excellent doctor. She answered all my questions & concerns & was very thorough with the exam. I did not feel rushed at all. Very satisfied with Dr. Carlson & I would request her again.

November 17, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

this was the first time we meet her. I was very impressed and wish to see her in future appointments. I like her knowledge and bedside manner. thank you

November 15, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I had a very nice experience. The eye doctor was very nice and the appointment went well.

October 18, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Carlson explained everything thoroughly and answered my questions completely

October 03, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

One of the best eye exams I have ever had and I have had over 50 in the last 60 years.

September 12, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This is the first time I had seen Amber C. Carlson OD and I will definitely ask for her again when I have my next eye exam.

September 08, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Carlson was excellent. She listens well and did a thorough eye exam.

July 28, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Mr. Doctor was wonderful. Thank you!

July 21, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was most impressed by the care I received.

May 15, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

good

May 10, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Amber was great!!!

May 09, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

really enjoyed the visit

May 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good.

April 28, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Carlson could not be more amazing! She was so patient and gentle with my 3 year old son. I really appreciated her warmth and professionalism. Kaiser Permanente is lucky to have her, and we will be requesting her for all of our future exams for the entire family. Thank you for a wonderful experience!

April 11, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

good

March 22, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Amber C. Carlson, OD: Has always been a very caring and professional..

March 15, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Extremely pleased with the timeliness throughout this visit and the professional care I received was excellent.

February 14, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Carlson is capable, knowledgeable, personable, and efficient.

January 25, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Carlson knows her job very well.

January 23, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very nice and very caring. Answered all my questions and showed concern. I would recommend her.

January 13, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

highly recommended

January 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*DR. CARLSON - well-exceeded my expectations w/her patience answering my barrage of saved-up questions about avoiding future possibilities of potential eye-health problems & maintaining current problee-free vision as I continue to age... Overall, I'm particularly impressed by *DR. CARLSON's knowledge & attention to detail.

December 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

care provider extremely nice and professional

December 20, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Carlson is excellent! She's easy to talk with & understands my concerns.

December 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Carlson is a wonderful care provider. She was very good with my very nervous 5 year old. She explained everything thoroughly to him so he could understand and not be intimidated. I feel it was the best eye exam I've seen. My son now wants to be an optometrist. Way to go *Dr. Carlson!!!

December 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent experience! Very friendly and spoke openly with me about my eye concerns. It was refreshing to have a doctor not necessarily want to prescribe meds or make changes to a prescription--to give over the counter suggestions for issues. Very positive experience. Thank you Dr. Carlson!

November 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very professional, kind, and informative. Gave me great advice on home treatment options for my dry /strained eyes and great exam overall.

November 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Thanks, good luck, God bless you!!!

October 24, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

great person

October 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good experience with doctor and nurse assistant. Very kind and comfortable environment and treatment

October 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Carlson was the one who took me to the Exam Room. And I would rate her far above very good. I am so happy I was assigned to her. She is professional, warm and answers whatever I ask her. She's a keeper!!

September 26, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I liked Dr. Carlson a lot! Professional yet down-to-earth & approachable.

September 19, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great experience. Amber and her assistant were very professional and knowledgeable.

September 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Everyone was very helpful and I was very impressed with my Optometrist. She did an excellent job answering my questions and providing an explanation of my eye care.

August 24, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very pleasant :)

August 19, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Carlson was excellent, patient and provided very thorough answers to my questions.

August 19, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Carlson was Awesome!

August 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The Doctor was great.

August 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Carlson took the time to listen to concerns and answered questions clearly.

July 25, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent Provider.

June 13, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Carlson is very professional and courteous. Her concern for my condition (cataract) was and is appreciated. She explained problem and solution in laymans terms that I could understand.

March 21, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was very impressed with Dr. Carlson's thoroughness and knowledge. I felt I got a thoughtful and complete exam and the doctor explained the what and why very clearly.

March 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

What a great provider. Very professional, very informative. This was an all-around greT experience!

February 26, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Top notch care provider.

February 19, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very courtious. friendly, and professional, great service.

February 17, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Carlson was excellent. Didn't rush and took ample time explaining what was going on with my eyes. I felt very confident in her explanations. // Great experience at this visit!

January 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good experience

January 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Easiest and most informative visit I have had at Kaiser Permanente.

January 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Again awesome!

January 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Carlson was terrific.

December 30, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I had a wonderful experience, the doctor and everyone who helped was AWESOME!

December 23, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Carlson was very nice and helpful, as was the assistant.

December 01, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I like her. She's one of the good ones for sure!

November 11, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

She was efficient, easy to understand and answered my questions.

November 10, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I would definitely see her again.

August 05, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I grew up in a small town in Western Montana and attended Montana State University-Bozeman and graduated with a bachelor's degree in Cell Biology and Neuroscience. I then attended Pacific University College of Optometry in Forest Grove, Oregon on a military scholarship and graduated in 2009 where I then joined the United States Army and was stationed in Germany for over three years. After my military service, I looked forward to returning to the Pacific Northwest and was fortunate enough to join Kaiser Permanente's team.

About my practice

The department of optometry at Kaiser Permanente is dedicated to serving all your visual needs. I see a wide array of patients of all ages and with varied visual concerns.

How I thrive

I enjoy spending time with my husband and young son exploring everything the great Northwest has to offer. I enjoy skiing, hiking, swimming, travel, and photography.

Medical School ?

Pacific University
Forest Grove

Medical Training ?

Optometry
Pacific University
Forest Grove OR

Board Certification ?