Amber C. Carlson OD
4.9 / 5
(503) 813-2000
North Lancaster Medical Office
2400 Lancaster Drive NE
Salem, OR 97305

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.9
Overall Score
  • 4.7
    Wait Time
  • 4.8
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.9
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.9
    Explanations
  • 4.8
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 308 Ratings
  • 50 Comments

I was most impressed by the care I received.

May 14, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

good

May 09, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Amber was great!!!

May 08, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

really enjoyed the visit

May 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good.

April 27, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Carlson could not be more amazing! She was so patient and gentle with my 3 year old son. I really appreciated her warmth and professionalism. Kaiser Permanente is lucky to have her, and we will be requesting her for all of our future exams for the entire family. Thank you for a wonderful experience!

April 10, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

good

March 21, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Amber C. Carlson, OD: Has always been a very caring and professional..

March 14, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Extremely pleased with the timeliness throughout this visit and the professional care I received was excellent.

February 13, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Carlson is capable, knowledgeable, personable, and efficient.

January 24, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Carlson knows her job very well.

January 22, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very nice and very caring. Answered all my questions and showed concern. I would recommend her.

January 12, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

highly recommended

January 05, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*DR. CARLSON - well-exceeded my expectations w/her patience answering my barrage of saved-up questions about avoiding future possibilities of potential eye-health problems & maintaining current problee-free vision as I continue to age... Overall, I'm particularly impressed by *DR. CARLSON's knowledge & attention to detail.

December 27, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

care provider extremely nice and professional

December 19, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Carlson is excellent! She's easy to talk with & understands my concerns.

December 13, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Carlson is a wonderful care provider. She was very good with my very nervous 5 year old. She explained everything thoroughly to him so he could understand and not be intimidated. I feel it was the best eye exam I've seen. My son now wants to be an optometrist. Way to go *Dr. Carlson!!!

December 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent experience! Very friendly and spoke openly with me about my eye concerns. It was refreshing to have a doctor not necessarily want to prescribe meds or make changes to a prescription--to give over the counter suggestions for issues. Very positive experience. Thank you Dr. Carlson!

November 27, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very professional, kind, and informative. Gave me great advice on home treatment options for my dry /strained eyes and great exam overall.

November 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very professional. Very down to earth. Made the process very comfortable.

October 24, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Routine eye exam with dilation. I have some family history of glaucoma, *Dr. Carlson answered all my questions and we discussed the general health of my eyes. It was a good exam.

October 24, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Thanks, good luck, God bless you!!!

October 23, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

great person

October 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good experience with doctor and nurse assistant. Very kind and comfortable environment and treatment

October 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Carlson was the one who took me to the Exam Room. And I would rate her far above very good. I am so happy I was assigned to her. She is professional, warm and answers whatever I ask her. She's a keeper!!

September 25, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I liked Dr. Carlson a lot! Professional yet down-to-earth & approachable.

September 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great experience. Amber and her assistant were very professional and knowledgeable.

September 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Everyone was very helpful and I was very impressed with my Optometrist. She did an excellent job answering my questions and providing an explanation of my eye care.

August 23, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very pleasant :)

August 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Carlson was excellent, patient and provided very thorough answers to my questions.

August 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Carlson was Awesome!

August 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The Doctor was great.

August 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Carlson took the time to listen to concerns and answered questions clearly.

July 24, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent Provider.

June 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Amber Carlson is the best eye doctor I have seen in years. She walked with me to get my contacts just right. Thank you so very much! I can see again!

May 23, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Carlson is very professional and courteous. Her concern for my condition (cataract) was and is appreciated. She explained problem and solution in laymans terms that I could understand.

March 20, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was very impressed with Dr. Carlson's thoroughness and knowledge. I felt I got a thoughtful and complete exam and the doctor explained the what and why very clearly.

March 03, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

What a great provider. Very professional, very informative. This was an all-around greT experience!

February 25, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Top notch care provider.

February 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very courtious. friendly, and professional, great service.

February 16, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Carlson was excellent. Didn't rush and took ample time explaining what was going on with my eyes. I felt very confident in her explanations. // Great experience at this visit!

January 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good experience

January 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Easiest and most informative visit I have had at Kaiser Permanente.

January 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Again awesome!

January 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Carlson was terrific.

December 29, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I had a wonderful experience, the doctor and everyone who helped was AWESOME!

December 22, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Carlson was very nice and helpful, as was the assistant.

November 30, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I like her. She's one of the good ones for sure!

November 10, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

She was efficient, easy to understand and answered my questions.

November 09, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I would definitely see her again.

August 04, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I grew up in a small town in Western Montana and attended Montana State University-Bozeman and graduated with a bachelor's degree in Cell Biology and Neuroscience. I then attended Pacific University College of Optometry in Forest Grove, Oregon on a military scholarship and graduated in 2009 where I then joined the United States Army and was stationed in Germany for over three years. After my military service, I looked forward to returning to the Pacific Northwest and was fortunate enough to join Kaiser Permanente's team.

About my practice

The department of optometry at Kaiser Permanente is dedicated to serving all your visual needs. I see a wide array of patients of all ages and with varied visual concerns.

How I thrive

I enjoy spending time with my husband and young son exploring everything the great Northwest has to offer. I enjoy skiing, hiking, swimming, travel, and photography.

Medical School ?

Pacific University
Forest Grove

Medical Training ?

Optometry
Pacific University
Forest Grove OR

Board Certification ?