Anita G. Rao MD
4.7 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Mill Plain One Medical Office
203 SE Park Plaza Dr Suite 140
Vancouver, WA 98684

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.7
Overall Score
  • 4.5
    Wait Time
  • 4.7
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.6
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.7
    Explanations
  • 4.7
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 86 Ratings
  • 14 Comments

I have full confidence in *Dr. Rao. She is very supportive and answers all of my questions thoroughly.

June 07, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Rao was very professional, but I felt she was completely focused on me and my care when seeing me. My husband was with me at all appointments and his definition of *Dr. Rao was "a no nonsense person" - she tended to the matter covering all the aspects that as a patient i was concerned with explaining in a manner that I could understand as to what the surgery involved - past - present - future - *Dr. Rao is very clear with detail. She took away fear with her explanations.

February 19, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Rao is an excellent doctor & easy to work with. Very informative. Would have her again in a heartbeat!

February 01, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I think *Dr. Rao handled this well and professionally.

November 20, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Rao is a credit to Kaiser. The dr. was very informative on all the questions I had about my shoulder surgery.

October 26, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Rao and her staff are the best!

June 12, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*DR RAO is excellent. She included me in the discussion/decision about whether surgery was appropriate and what to expect. She was engaging with me and my spouse right before surgery and gave my spouse an overview of the surgery right after it was done while I was still sedated.

March 13, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Rao - a breath of fresh air, down to earth, cheerful in her comments, very helpful in my question & communicates her intent in my well being. I left feeling very good to be in her care. I would recommend her care & expertise to my best friends. [name]

January 19, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I appreciated the friendliness & positive attitude of the doctor and her assistant! They both worked as a great team!

November 21, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Options were clearly explained and my decision was respected.

November 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Awesome!

July 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

At first I wasn't sure surgery was for me but I am so glad I chose to do it! *Dr. Rao gave me back my use of my right arm w/o pain! I'm so happy with the results and the work *Dr. Rao did! Her & her staff are wonderful!

May 26, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Rao & staff best ever!!

May 17, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Rao is an awesome dr. VERY PROFESSIONAL.

May 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Although I was born and raised in the Midwest, I now consider myself a happy transplant to the Pacific Northwest having lived in the Portland/Vancouver area since 2002. I completed my medical training in St. Louis (Go Cardinals!) and Chicago, and did additional specialized fellowship training in Orthopedic Sports Medicine and Shoulder Surgery at Johns Hopkins in Baltimore. I have enjoyed sports my whole life as an active participant (tennis and soccer primarily), but now more so as a weekend warrior and cheering sideline fan. The Pacific Northwest has been a great place to live. Nothing beats the beauty of the greenery and mountains, temperate climate, outdoor activities, and great people with similar values to my Midwestern roots.

About my practice

My practice includes sports medicine and arthroscopic procedures, such as ACL knee reconstruction, cartilage/meniscus surgery, and shoulder repairs and reconstructions. I also treat patients with more complex shoulder issues and "wear and tear" requiring shoulder replacement. I favor a team approach and I am fortunate to be well supported in both my clinic and operating room, in addition to our physical therapy department. My goal is to have an open dialogue with every patient that encourages questions and offers explanations. I understand how debilitating injuries can be and work with each patient to individualize a treatment plan, whether that involves surgery or other non-surgical options, to ensure the best functional outcome possible.

How I thrive

Maintaining a healthy balance between work and home is really important to staying well-rounded. I enjoy spending time with my family and friends. This time helps ground me and reminds me of what is truly meaningful in life. I try to stay active and always feel rejuvenated after a good work-out at the gym or a hike in the gorge. I am a Cardinals baseball fan and can't get enough of tennis, whether it is on the court or watching on television. Downtime I spend with a good book or creating video projects. Giving back to the community is also important and I have served as team physician for various area clubs and school teams.

Medical School ?

Northwestern University Medical School
Chicago

Medical Training ?

Sports Medicine
Johns Hopkins Hospital
Baltimore MD

Orthopaedic Surgery
St. Louis University Group of Hospitals
Saint Louis MO

Board Certification ?

Orthopaedic Sports Medicine
American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery

Orthopaedic Surgery
American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery