Anna L. Raphael MD
4.5 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Gateway Medical Office
1700 NE 102nd Ave
Portland, OR 97220

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.5
Overall Score
  • 4
    Wait Time
  • 4.6
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.6
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.6
    Explanations
  • 4.5
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 111 Ratings
  • 34 Comments

I consider Dr. Raphael to be a highly competent professional. She is knowledgeable and caring. I'm lucky to have her as my physician.

July 02, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent care.

June 11, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

If there were higher ratings than 5 stars, Dr. Raphael would receive them from me. 10 stars?

May 23, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

i felt that there was more of a connection between Dr. Rafael and myself regarding my health concerns than there had been during past visits. I believe Dr. Rafael listened to what I had to say about my current health concerns and that she followed up with appropriate treatment and referral.

March 13, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have not felt that she has any interest in me as a person - no questions other than exercise & medications. I believe she is medically competent, but over the period I have been in her practice I have never felt a connection.

March 08, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Anna Raphael was knowledgable and attentive to my needs, personable and efficient.

November 08, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

THIS WAS A WELLNESS VISIT...DOC COVERED EVERYTHING. ORDERED TEST I WAS DUE FOR AND IT ALL TOOK LESS THAN 10 MINUTES AND I WAS DONE!

August 30, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

MD was focused and responded appropriately to my concerns. She is new to me so I am pleased to find that she both listens without discounting me and seems to make evidence based decisions on facts that are made available to her. Once I see her, she seems very timely and appropriate.

May 30, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I'm very pleased with the care provided.

March 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Appreciate Dr. Raphael's compassion!

November 30, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Raphael is great I feel lucky to have her as my doctor.

November 23, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

provider answered all of my questions and addressed my concerns

November 23, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am SO thankful that when my long term doctor retired I was assigned to Dr. Raphael! She is completely thorough each time!

August 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I hate having to see the doctor but her and her assistant make me feel at ease and confident that I am being heard and understood.

July 25, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very happy with Dr. Raphael, she is always nice and listens to me. I've already recommended someone to her and they liked her too!

June 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am SO grateful that Dr. Raphael is my physician! After my previous long term doctor retired I requested a woman and met my new doctor. She is such a good listener, responds to ALL my questions and concerns, and I feel she really is an active part of my striving for good health. She is calm and patient, and sorts though my issues so professionally!

April 20, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Like her kindness easy to talk to this, is [name]

March 31, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The dr. helped with my concerns; however, I would have appreciated just a moment of empathy since the wait time was so long I missed a planned event. She apologized & thanked me for my patience when she came in the room, but didn't connect with me. It's a small thing but just 2 seconds of understanding for me would have been preferable to a generic "thanks for your patience." As she was a new doctor for me, I didn't know her or feel inclined to connect with her. However, she did address all my concerns well.

March 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have had only good experiences so far with KP. Every person I speak with is competent, friendly and sympathetic. *Dr. Raphael is no exception. When my family started with Kaiser I picked *Dr. Raphael at random since I didn't have any for knowledge of the doctors on staff; it has worked out just fine.

February 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Raphael didn't recommend very much to me even though I have had medical issues in the past.

February 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I found her unsatisfactory. I had taken a list of my concerns with me, in order to facilitate the appt. When I pulled it out she said she didn't know if she had time. I would never go back and see her. She is the only one that I ever had an issues with.

February 17, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have been very pleased with the services provided.

February 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Positive experience comparing to previous experiences with other medical care/service .

February 03, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was a long appointment because I had to prioritize 5 or 6 concerns, including starting the process of finding specialists since I'm new to NW Kaiser. Not only was Dr. Raphael very kind and helpful, but also I read her notes on the appointment and was impressed by her ability to clearly and succinctly summarize our complex conversation.

January 26, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Raphael demonstrates confidence and concern in her verbal interactions, but these are undermined somewhat by her timidity in touch.

January 20, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I do not feel that my concerns were taken seriously, the physical examination was very brief, and did not cover what I was asking for. In no way was I satisfied with my visit. My issue was not corrected, nor did I feel that all was done to truly satisfy my needs and concerns. My follow up questions were disregarded, and the information which was provided to was of no use. Very, very, very disappointing experience.

January 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I appreciated Dr. Raphael included my daughter in this visit, and worked with her in my plan of care.

December 22, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very disappointed in the care VERY long wait without warning/explanation and impersonal, dry, insensitive care I will look for a better provider.

November 04, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

this appointment was hard for me due to my condition but Dr. Raphael was very nice and understanding. She patiently explained things to me, which wasn't' easy because I was crying, but still she made me understand and accept the needed treatment. Later I had to email her because I needed more explaining, due to another appointment. She answered promptly, explaining in excellent detail exactly what I needed to ease my mind! I'm most grateful she was so helpful to me in what was a stressful situation for me.

November 03, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I thought that my primary care provider showed great care about my issues, however I felt that there was a sense of urgency to move on to the next patient.

October 16, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

She was very gruff and fast and not super interested in speaking with me about what I was there to talk about. In her follow-up notes/email she gave me some news I was not glad to get without any explanation - I need to have a follow-up with another provider (I have scheduled it). She seemed competent but was not very nice that day.

October 14, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Rafael is very thorough, explains everything, takes time to listen, & makes practical recommendations.

October 13, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

She found out helpful things about my medications by talking to a Kaiser psychiatrist; I really appreciated her taking the time and calling me back directly.

October 07, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

After initially loving my Doc for getting me on the correct bi-polar medication, she pointed me down the wrong direction twice with other medications that have caused 2 setbacks. I am seriously considering changing practitioners now that I have paid medical insurance effective next month.

August 17, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am originally from New York state, but my medical education has taken me to several parts of the country. I am pleased to have practiced with Northwest Permanente in Portland since 2012.

About my practice

I gain satisfaction in getting to know our members over the long run and partnering with them to improve their health. Many medical problems have a significant behavioral component and can be prevented or alleviated by changing lifestyle habits. I believe that prevention is preferable to cure because cures are rare. In fact, I consider managing chronic conditions to be the mainstay of my practice.

How I thrive

In my spare time, I enjoy outdoor activities, travel, and writing. I have published an article on the ethics of cosmetic enhancement. If you're looking for book recommendations, I can probably help with that, too!

Medical School ?

University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine
Pittsburgh

Medical Training ?

Internal Medicine
Scripps Mercy Hospital
San Diego CA

Board Certification ?

Internal Medicine
American Board of Internal Medicine