Antony M. Poothullil MD
4.9 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Interstate Medical Office Central
3600 North Interstate Ave.
Portland, OR 97227

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.9
Overall Score
  • 4.4
    Wait Time
  • 4.9
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.9
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.9
    Explanations
  • 4.8
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 289 Ratings
  • 92 Comments

I always feel cared for and in very competent hands when in the Opthamolgy dept, esp w Dr Poothilil and his asst [name]. they are excellent providers.

June 26, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Poothullil is a fantastic doctor.

June 25, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

We love Kaiser. Dr. Poothullil and his staff were wonderful.

June 25, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Poothullil goes above and beyond in his courtesy and professionalism. He is friendly and thorough in his examinations.i highly recommend him as an ophmalogist.

June 06, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Kaiser Permanente should consider themselves very fortunate to have such a wonderful dr. on staff! Wonderful man!

June 04, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Poothullil communicates very well, seems to take the time needed. I feel confident in his care. He didn't brush off my questions, as other ophthalmologists have done.

June 04, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Poothullil is the best. Have gone to him for at least 10 years. He is so caring and knowledgeable!

April 25, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Poothullil is an excellent doctor and surgeon. He is caring, explains procedures well and clearly wants the best possible outcome for his patients. I have the utmost confidence in him.

April 16, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

exceptional

April 02, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Poothulli is an amazing doctor and human. He is caring, considerate and genuinely wants the best for his patients. He is an asset to your organization.

March 20, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have every confidence in *Dr. Poothullil. He treats me like I am his most important patient.

March 14, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

very impressed and felt well taken care of

March 08, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr is an excellent communicator. He is appreciated.

March 05, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

EXCELLENT PROVIDER/DR. SO IMPRESSED WITH HIS EXAM, EXPLAINING ABOUT WHAT HE WAS DOING AND RESULTS THEN CONTINUING WITH TREATMENT PLAN ALL CLEAR FOLLOWED BY VISIT SUMMARY TO REFER TOO IF NEEDED. OUTSTANDING!

February 15, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have a difficult to resolve eye issue & I'm very impressed with *Dr. Poothullil and entire team.

February 08, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. P is a smart, very nice man. He knows his stuff.

January 29, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My situation is complex with several options for care. Care provider was superb in describing pros, cons, risks. Despite a busy schedule, he was patient, honest, insightful, and answered my questions and helped in my decision making.

December 04, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

EXCELLENT SERVICE.

November 27, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Pootullil is always VERY professional AND personable. He anticipates my questions, and answers with utmost competency. He is not in such a hurry that he can't hear my questions and concerns, yet he moves forward with efficiency and precision. And, I appreciate that "99% good" is not good enough for him. 100% is the standard. I like that in a doctor. Especially an eye doctor! Thank you, *Dr. Pootullil.

November 07, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The MD was consistently professional & knowledgeable. Wouldn't think of going to another for surgery or care.

November 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Poothullil and his care team was very courteous and professional. They were very patient with me and explained everything very well. Thank you for the OUTSTANDING service.

October 26, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Puthalil and his staff are always first rate.

October 16, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This dr. has been providing care for me for 10 yrs. +. He has consistently shown care, compassion, sensitivity and a high degree of competency with a medical problem that is somewhat rare, but has been stable for 10 yrs.. I am VERY grateful for him.

October 12, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Tony Pouthilil is amazing. Kind, warm, brilliant, highly skilled, clear and humble. His competence and breadth of knowledge seems endless. His reputation is well-deserved. One of the phone schedulers I spoke with when she noticed who was doing my surgery, said, "He's a god!" I concur.

September 19, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Poothullil meets all my expectations of a very good doctor. I totally trust him with my eye care.

September 18, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. P is the best.

August 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Poothullil is the consummate professional. He is efficient but thorough in his examinations, says what needs to be said, and wishes you a happy day.

August 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He did not talk down to me // It was a very good experience

July 20, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Amazing Doc, so competent, kind and good!

July 12, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

If there were a way to assign 10 stars, I would shower them on the consultation, collaboration and care I received from Dr. Poothullil.

July 10, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Doctor and staff very polite and professional.

June 28, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. PUthilill was patient, warm, took his time to answer all my questions, explained my options. And mostly told me there would be another opportunity to so Q's which I know I'd need. Already I have come up with more Q's.

June 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

an excellent communicator

May 22, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Extremely good experiences

May 11, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

he is newer to me but careful about all pre and perioperativw instructios as well as eliciting questions. he is unusually member- centric.

May 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He is fantastic.

April 27, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I feel extremely lucky that Dr. Poothullil was assigned to be my surgeon. He explained the extent of my Macular Degeneration and Cataracts in easy to understand language and was interested in hearing my concerns and questions. I would recommend him to anyone who is concerned about their eyes!

April 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

One of the finest doctors I've ever seen.

March 20, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Poothuillil is one of my very favorite doctors. // I explained that my eyes had been especially dry and Dr. gave suggestions to help my eyes feel better. He is always helpful.

March 16, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Poothullil was superb, as always. This was a following visit to surgery last year. He was professional, friendly, competent, listened patiently to my questions, and comprehensively discussed next steps. He's the best health professional I've had the pleasure to use.

February 20, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Poothullil has the wonderful combination of professionalism and warmth. He seems blessed with good memory as he always asks about my family by name and I find him to be extremely 'In the moment". I've never felt slighted with time or information. He is a good listener and genuinely interested in my comfort level. I tend to ask questions and he never seems impatient.

January 20, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Poothullil is an exemplary physician who demonstrates kindness in all interactions, shows respect for and concern patient's understanding is maximal, clearly conveys medical information in comprehensive and detailed way, demonstrates professionalism with utmost humanity of care and competence in his field. He is a master of his craft, who builds rapport and trust with patients just from his natural goodness, intelligence, expertise and dignity. He stands alone in his excellence among physicians this interviewee has received care from in Kaiser. I, obviously, am limited in capacity to expre

November 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

like working w Dr. Poothullil

November 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Poothullil, is a very caring and wonderful doctor and I would be honored to tell anyone how good a doctor he is. I had the best carry all through the process.

November 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I really like Dr. Poothillil and his whole team.

October 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. was excellent in all respects.

October 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Poothullil has consistently provided extra care in dealing with my mother's eye issues compounded by her dementia. He is compassionate and communicates very effectively with me as well as with my mother.

October 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Poothullil is excellent and I have complete confidence in him.

September 26, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Poothulill is my favorite KP physician. Most competent, informative, and caring. Always takes time to ensure all my questions and concerns are addressed.

September 21, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Poothullil is one of my very favorite Kaiser doctors!

September 20, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Poothullil is a doctor I trust. He asks the right questions, he makes sure you understand, he is very thorough, and shows concern and compassion. I would definitely recommend him.

September 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I love my Dr.

September 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

A kind, thoughtful and professional Doctor.

August 26, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent consideration of care/explanation of care process for cataract procedure. All questions answered. Good handouts at the appointment regarding cataracts - would like to have had opportunity to review before visit.

August 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Exceptional.

August 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Poothullil is kind & VERY knowledgeable!

July 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent care.

July 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Poothulil is s professional through and through. I have the upmost confidence in him and respect him immensely.

July 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

EXCELLENT CONNECTION AND GIVES ME EVERY CONFIDENCE IN HIS CARE.

July 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Exceptional MD. he is one perfect example of Kaiser.

June 03, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am so pleased to have *Dr. Poothullil as my ophthalmologist. He's very professional, caring and is great at addressing my concerns. I feel like I'm in good hands.

June 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. P and his assistant are great. They hear me.

May 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

perfect!!

May 03, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

dr poothullil is the best doctor at kaiser

May 03, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My vision had to be entrusted with a skilled surgeon and I found that with *Dr. Anthony Poothullil and his team. My vision is obviously essential and his skill gave me back the vision I had before bad cataract and then some. I trusted him twice with both eyes. Thank you for employing *Dr. Poothullil and his team and his assistants.

May 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

superb doctrer

April 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Good experience Dr Antony M. Poothullil was informative, prompt, responsive to questions and very gracious.

March 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Good experience.

March 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Poothullil is an outstanding doctor in all ways. I have complete confidence in him.

February 24, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am grateful for *Dr. Poothullil's care and kindness. He is an excellent physician!

February 23, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Best eye doctor ever.

February 17, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great care

February 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Poothullil is really a thoughtful doctor. He is one of my very favorites. // I had no WAIT - Dr. took me early - that is what I really like about Dr. Poothullil - he is almost always on time.

February 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am happy working with Dr Pootull.

January 20, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Poothillil is meticulous, responsive to my questions, and thorough. He seeks additional information when appropriate, e.g., repitition of a previous test.

January 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good experience, short wait, thorough exam, future plan and and Dr. P is an excellent opthmologist.

January 13, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I can see so much more clearly now thanks to the laser treatment from Dr. Poothoolil.

December 16, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Poothullil and his staff are outstanding, not only at his office, but in the surgery room as well!!!! I am so grateful I had him do my surgery and his staff to care for me. I could not be happier with the medical care I have received.

November 25, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent doctor. Explained things thoroughly. Was thoughtful and caring.

November 11, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

"Top notch care".

October 30, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am exceedingly pleased with the care my doctor provided and with the care the Kaiser teams provided me. They are the best in my opinion. Couldn't ask for more. Love you all.

October 23, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I love Dr.Poothullil! He has been my eye doctor for about four years now and he is so kind and easy to talk with.

October 19, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

We have the utmost confidence in *Dr. Poothullil and the staff at the Ophthalmology Dept. at Central Interstate -

September 29, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My provider always take time to answer, explain, concerns/questions. I am very please withhis care.

September 18, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Poothullil is excellent. Period.

September 16, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Poothullil was great! Very good at patient education and inspiring trust and confidence. Very friendly and unhurried. Highly recommend him!

August 31, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Wonderful care and concern- runs like clock work- all friendly and caring, Dr. is wonderful and caring about every step.

August 26, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

ALL WENT EXTREMELY WELL.

August 18, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Poothullil and the opthalmalogical staff the best!

August 14, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Poothullil has been a wonderful support - very informed and very concerned about addressing my issues

August 12, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

i was extremely pleased with the care I received from Dr. Poothullil. He communicates very well and met all of my needs. I would highly recommend him to people that I know who require cataract surgery.

August 11, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This doctor is my favorite of all my physicians at Kaiser. He is high quality, extremely intelligent, knowledgeable, and takes the time to discuss my concerns and offers helpful suggestions, etc.

August 11, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I grew up in Texas along the Gulf Coast, went to college at Rice University, and medical school at Baylor. After medical school, I continued my training in San Francisco and then in Boston. I moved to Portland, Oregon (where my wife grew up) in 2005 to join Kaiser Permanente Northwest and have been happy to be here ever since.

About my practice

I am trained as both a general ophthalmologist and a cornea specialist. I specialize in cataract surgery, corneal transplantation, and other surgeries involving the front of the eye. It's really been a privilege to practice medicine, and I like to involve my patients in developing their plan of care. I also serve as the Chief of the department of Ophthalmology.

How I thrive

I enjoy spending time with my family, staying active, and doing things outdoors in the sunshine when I can. And, if I have the time, I like to cook a great meal!

Medical School ?

Baylor College of Medicine
Houston

Medical Training ?

Cornea, External Disease and Refractive Surgery
Harvard Medical School
Boston MA

Ophthalmology
University of California (San Francisco)
San Francisco CA

Board Certification ?

Ophthalmology
American Board of Ophthalmology