Barbara M. Berger OD
4.9 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Longview-Kelso Medical Office
1230 Seventh Avenue
Longview, WA 98632

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.9
Overall Score
  • 4.4
    Wait Time
  • 4.8
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.9
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.9
    Explanations
  • 4.8
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 383 Ratings
  • 62 Comments

Dr. Berger (Barbara) is the most thorough eye specialist there possibly could be.

May 23, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very thorough & good at explaining issues. // So pleased with our care.

April 24, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

She's GREAT.

April 23, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr.Berger is very good, she is very thorough Dr. Berger is at the top of my list, would not like to go to another OD.

April 09, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I really like Dr. Berger. I have gone to her for several years now and I think she's terrific.

April 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Barbara Berger is exceptional. She takes time to do a thorough exam. She is great!

April 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

very professional and personable

March 08, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Berger was great.

March 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr Berger is a very caring doctor. The very nicest and the best.

March 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This visit was a return appointment, was a very good follow up, on eye problem. She really cares.

February 19, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Berger is the best!!!!

February 05, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Berger is fantastic. I recommend her often.

February 05, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Barbara Berger is trying to figure out my complaint about my eyes and lenses. She is easy to talk too and trying!! Doing her best!! [name]

January 24, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Berger is thorough & very competent.

January 18, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I really appreciate Dr. Berger. She is very kind and willing to take time to answer questions, etc.

January 17, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very best!

December 26, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Berger is very thorough throughout her examination. She is very professional and knows her specialty very well.

December 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Barbara Berger is very thorough and caring.

December 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Berger is a most caring & helpful dr. She is friendly and answers all my questions. I feel like a real person when she is with me, like she really cares about my well being.

November 27, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Berger made me feel at ease and answered all my questions. A good visit!

November 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Complete faith in *Dr. Berger & competency of staff for eye care. [name]

October 24, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Berger is a fantastic eye dr. She explained the procedure as it happened. The kind, patient treatment was great, very professional. The exam and selection of frames helped me.

October 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent care and thoughtfulness

October 16, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

She went above and beyond to ge tin touch with me. i was very impressed. Her explanation was great.

October 09, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good care & answered all questions.

August 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very Good and problem taken care of with ease.

August 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Berger was very professional and I will definitely recommend others to her.

August 24, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Barbara Berger was very professional and very caring about my concerns.

August 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Berger is the best!!!

August 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My experience was great - I rarely mark very good regardless of what it is always can be better. She's a great Dr.

July 31, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Both *Dr. B. Berger & [name] have always been very nice & helpful. Enjoy the visits with them. They answer any and all my questions so I understand them. I would & will tell everyone that they are the greatest.

July 27, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have been given specific recommendations, which are easy to follow. I feel optimistic about my 'condition' as a result, and I know that I will follow-thru with the instructions.

July 25, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

She was very thorough and listened well

July 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

ALWAYS a pleasure coming in

July 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I like *Dr. Barbara Berger!

July 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Barbara Berger is a wonderful doctor and takes very good care of her patients!

July 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I think *Barbara Berger is one of the BEST you have.

June 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Both the nurse and the doctor were very friendly, polite and informative.

June 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have seen this provider several times and really, really like her. She is very nice, down-to-earth and patient when you have to decide which eye chart looks better!

June 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Barbara Berger has always been an excellent provider, answering all of my needs with caring words and compassionate care. Most all of my close friends have had her as their provider for many years. She is an asset to Kaiser.

May 23, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The most thorough eye exam I can remember. Dr. B. Berger was professional, explained each phase of the exam and offered helpful information.

March 27, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I think Dr. Berger is excellent, and I actually enjoy my exams with her (sounds strange, but true!)

March 16, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I've had Dr. Berger before, I've always liked her thoroughness, and I'll ask for her again next time. // Dr. Berger was very courteous, thorough, and she answered the questions I had.

February 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I like *Dr. Berger and have been seeing her for my annual check up for me past 4 or 5 years. She is very thorough. The best eye doctor I have ever seen.

February 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Berger is an excellent doctor! I have recommended her.

February 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Barbara Berger is an excellant provider. Very thorough. Explains things as she goes along. I have had her as my provider for 28 years and I plan to keep her until she retires.

January 31, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Barbara has taken care of vision for many years. She has always done an excellent job.

January 13, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Always good experience with Barbara Berger and her staff.

January 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

All very good.

January 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Barbara Berger is an excellent clinician, very thorough, and very caring. [name]

December 08, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Always a pleasure to have my eyes checked. :)

December 01, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Barbara Berger OD was extremely thorough. Answered my questions about my eye health in terms I understood. I felt in good hands, thank you. // Barbara Berger is very easy to talk to. She gladly answered my questions.

November 11, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

the doctor was very understanding that I had to be out by a certain time to get my wife to her treatment. I really apriciate the staffs help and understanding thank you.

November 04, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent Doctor

October 28, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

great experience, Barbara does a great job. Very professional

October 19, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Berger was very nice and helpful. Very trustful

September 30, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Feel confident that my health issues are a primary concern to Dr. Berger.

September 22, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Barbara Berger is a wonderful provider, I do not have complaints about her!

September 15, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

All went well -- Dr. Barbra Burger is always kind and thorough -- she is always appreciated.

August 31, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Everything about my visit with *DeBerger was EXCELLENT. She is very caring and professional.

August 17, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was very pleased with Barbara Berger's care and attention to detail. She is excellent.

August 03, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The assistant and doctor was friendly, helpful & efficient.

August 03, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I grew up in Ashley, North Dakota, where my parents owned the local drug store. In that small town, I learned the value of hard work and helping others. I also developed a taste for German food and a great love of the outdoors. I carry these values and interests with me today. I received my undergraduate degree in biology at Carroll College in Helena, Montana, and my Doctorate in Optometry at Pacific University in Forest Grove, Oregon. My husband ("the other Dr. Berger") and I both enjoy practicing at Kaiser Permanente. We have been at the Longview-Kelso Medical Office for more than 30 years and have grown deep roots in this community. We raised our two children here. Our daughter is now a child and family therapist in Seattle, and our son is an attorney in Port Angeles, Washington. We love the Pacific Northwest and consider the Longview-Kelso area to be a well-kept secret.

About my practice

My highest priority is to help members achieve the best vision possible and to thoroughly evaluate and address their eye health needs. I am proud of our entire Vision Essentials team. Our optometrists, ophthalmologists, and opticians work together so that Kaiser Permanente members receive the very best eye care.

How I thrive

I enjoy getting outdoors to hike, bike, and kayak. My husband and I also have outdoor fun geocaching (using GPS to find hidden containers). I love road trips, reading, volunteering with my church, and listening to good music.

Medical School ?

Pacific University
Forest Grove

Medical Training ?

Optometry
Pacific University
Forest Grove OR

Board Certification ?