Ben D. Wachsmuth MD
4.8 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Gateway Medical Office
1700 NE 102nd Ave
Portland, OR 97220

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.8
Overall Score
  • 4.7
    Wait Time
  • 4.8
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.9
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.8
    Explanations
  • 4.8
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 126 Ratings
  • 42 Comments

I always recommend dr. Wachsmuth to others even though he's not taking new patients. I don't see him very often, but when I do I feel he's good at listening to my concerns and making any connections to previous health issues or family history.

June 15, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Doctor is always prompt, answers all my questions thoroughly and is also super friendly and attentive. // Doctor is always good with providing various alternatives to my care needs. Very thorough in his explanations and makes me aware of future expectations.

April 23, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent experience, Doctor Wachsmuth was very easy to talk to, answered all my questions and concerns.

April 03, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I really like Dr. Wachsmuth. He does an excellent job of explaining what is happening and getting my input into my treatment. He is very knowledgeable and interested in connecting to the patient he is treating. I would happily recommend him to anyone.

March 19, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Wachsmuth is very understanding and a good active listener. I really feel like we are getting to a solution to my issues.

March 02, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Wachsmuth is great!

December 22, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

exellent // I am very happy to have such a doctor.

December 05, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great.

October 26, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He is also good person and doctor

October 17, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He is a good doctor for me.

October 13, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Wachsmuth is the best Dr. I've ever had. Consistently compassionate, thorough and well-read, Ben is a gem.

October 13, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Extremely helpful and kind. He answered all my questions, and gave me instructions I could understand, and easily follow.

October 10, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Wachsmuth is a wonderful doctor.

September 18, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

First time seeing this doctor. He was prepared from the moment he greeted me, very obvious he had checked my records..

August 28, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I felt confortable around the doctor, which enable me to discuss with him a bit more about my health.

August 11, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

doctor was good

August 04, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

We are just getting acquainted with *Dr. Wachsmuth and are happy with his medical care and personal interest.

January 09, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The doctor was empathetic and helpful.

December 16, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent

October 20, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Wachsmuth and his nurse are very prompt

October 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Wachsmuth is a wonderful, caring, thorough provider. I would recommend him to my whole family.

October 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

As always, this dr. & assistant were super pleasant & efficient. They were not only punctual but even early. I was quite pleased.

August 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

i came with many ailments and Dr. Wuchsmith patiently helped me all of them.

August 19, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I changed my primry to Dr. Wachsmuth. :-)

June 20, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This provider moved clinics to one further away. We're happy to drive the extra miles so we can have him. He is pretty much on schedule as far as I can tell, but has a way of making you feel he has all the time in the world. He DOESN'T have his hand on the doorknob.

June 20, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Doctor is very informative and great to see. Helps every time.

June 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Ben and [name] are both always so warm and friendly. It is always so nice & see both of the. They truly care!

May 20, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was my first visit with my PCP. I was very pleased.

May 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Wachsmuth appears to be genuine in his concern and treatment. He always treats me as a person and not a patient. My care has always been a dialog of solutions and what works for me.

May 03, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

made me feel listened to Which was very comforting.

April 25, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I normally go to Mt Scott clinic but when Dr Wachsmuth moved to Gateway, I went there. He is an excellent doctor - never seems rushed and looks at the big picture. He takes an interest in me and is aware of my overall health needs. I will continue to see him and am very grateful for his work.

April 19, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I actually already recommended this Dr to my partner.

April 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr.Ben Wachsmuitt is excellent won't want any other Doc.

March 31, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I love Dr. Wachsmuth and for this reason, chose to keep him as my care provider even though his new office location isn't the most convenient for me. At this visit (even though this was not the purpose of my appointment), he spent extra time consoling me and asking if I had any needs following the very recent and unexpected death of my husband. That meant a lot to me.

March 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Always caring about what is going on, concerned about the health problem, made sure he was very gentle during exam

March 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Wachsmuth is an excellent doctor. His nurse [name] is excellent too! They both are so caring & very knowledge & my husband & I are so thankful & grateful and our P.C.P. team.

February 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Ben is very patient and allows time for questions and you never feel rushed. He does great at explaining things in a way one can understand. I am happy you have him!! My wife and I followed him from Sunnyside because we think a lot of him and his professionalism.

January 27, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

A+++

January 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr.Ben is one of the best Dr. I have seen KP he actually cares

January 21, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Am always happy with the thoughtful care by my provider and his staff

December 09, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I will miss *Dr. Wachsmuth when he leave. Thank you for the service. [name]

September 21, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

all good.

September 10, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am originally from St. Louis, Missouri. I graduated from Missouri Columbia School of Medicine before relocating to Portland for my residency in Family Medicine. I am married and have three beautiful daughters.

About my practice

I work in the Family Medicine group in the Portland area. I enjoy caring for people who have a wide variety of health conditions and performing various procedures such as injections, skin biopsies, cyst removals, and toenail removals. On the other end of the spectrum, I enjoy treating common mental health issues, such as depression.

How I thrive

I gain inspiration by being part of an intimate faith community and spending time in the wilderness (nature), hiking, fishing, and camping with my family. I also enjoy intellectual stimulation from books that grapple with the relationship among science, religion, and philosophy. And an occasional vacation is refreshing as well!

Medical School ?

University of Missouri, Columbia School of Medicine
Columbia

Medical Training ?

Family Medicine
Providence Milwaukie Hospital
Milwaukie OR

Board Certification ?

Family Medicine
American Board of Family Medicine