Benjamin A. Katz MD
4.8 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Skyline Medical Office
5125 Skyline Road South
Salem, OR 97306

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.8
Overall Score
  • 4.5
    Wait Time
  • 4.8
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.8
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.8
    Explanations
  • 4.8
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 370 Ratings
  • 43 Comments

Dr Katz is friendly and professional.

June 22, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I received great care from *Dr. Katz and his staff (and from dr. in optometry who referred me). I couldn't ask for better treatment in any way, and am very thankful my eye has completely healed. A+!!

May 29, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

A good doctor.

May 02, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My visit to *Dr. Katz is always very well handled and I come away with any questions answered in words I understand and I always know exactly what we are going to do next and what we hope the results will be.

April 27, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Katz & team - Excellent!

February 08, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Was quite pleased with my whole experience with *Dr. Katz. [name]

January 31, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Katz was very knowledgeable and helpful.

January 24, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good

January 18, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Katz was very informative and explained what I would experience on the day of the operation and that put me at ease. I feel that I will be OK after the operation and follow up visits.

January 16, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

caring and friendly

December 20, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This doctor was very professional, informative, and easy to talk to. I would recommend him highly.

December 15, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have total faith in *Dr. Katz and his staff, and am confident I am getting the best care possible.

October 24, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

We appreciate Dr. Katz very much. He is informative,kind, and very professional. He explains things so it is better to understand.

October 12, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I couldn't be more pleased and satisfied with the care and expertise provided to me by DR Katz. My first surgery ever for any condition. Great experience.

September 22, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This is my 1st time to see him, so no further comment except that he is nice concern and friendly, tried to reach out to the needs of his patient

September 14, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Katz is great. Very personable and respectful.

September 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Nice.

September 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Katz and [name] are awesome. They're personable, professional and caring. I am always treated with respect and have been very well taken care of.

July 18, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Katz performed a procedure I had had done twice before by two other ophthalmologists. He was the only one that carefully explained what to expect afterward and what to watch for. In addition, he examined both eyes carefully even though I was in there about only one eye. Finally, he manner was professional but friendly. I feel lucky to have seen him.

July 11, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

the dr was very caring and helpful

July 11, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I appreciate that both *Dr. Katz and [name] allayed my concerns about my condition, as well as the nature of follow-up treatment.

June 30, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My provider was on vacation - I needed checked right away. *Dr. Katz treated me as if I was and had been his patient before. He thoroughly tasted my eyes, explained wanted a retina dr. to check my eyes, has an appt. made for me to see *Dr. [name], who also did an excellent job of testing - making authorization to [other clinic]. All was made in excellent timing. I feel like am in good hands, very appreciated.

June 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Katz is very personable and knowledgeable and supportive.

June 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Katz is caring, thorough, patient, very competent and doesn't rush you through the exam. answers any questions and even anticipated questions I had. excellent!

May 09, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

very professional, and listened to my concerns

March 10, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

As much as having my eye dilated and then shining a focused bright light into it can be made pleasant, Dr. Katz did a great job!

March 08, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Kaiser is extremely fortunate to have Dr Katz!

March 03, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Katz was caring, friendly & informative.

February 24, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Katz did a fabulous job. I would recommend him to anyone.

February 23, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great doctor. Very thorough.

February 07, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

It was quick, thorough and professional. Problems, and potential problems, were checked, evaluated and I left with solid plans of action.

February 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He was very nice and he was kind. His exam was comfortable and gentle. My problem with him is he was in a hurry. Because of his rush to leave I don't think he really understood how my vision problem is affecting the quality of my life.

February 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Katz is a wonderful DR. I give him an A plus!

February 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good.

January 27, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Katz answered all my questions in detail with care and understanding concerning my upcoming surgery thus easing my mind and putting my fears to rest. He instilled great confinence for this upcoming surgery that lies in his hands.

January 10, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Answered ALL questions Very satisfied.

January 04, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Thank you for the kind care & response to my questions.

December 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Routine visit - second time w/ *Dr. Katz - very thorough.

December 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

very good

November 09, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Really felt like the doctor was on top of things, specifically cared about my health and doing the best job he could do for me.

November 03, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent.

October 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr & nurse were wonderful!

October 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

While this was my 1st visit with *Dr. Katz, he had thoroughly reviewed my chart and knew my visual history. He examined my eyes completely and took photos for a possible problem. He pinpointed the cause and made suggestions to help alleviate the problem. His suggestions worked well.

October 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was born in Southern California but have had the opportunity to live all over the country. I received my undergraduate degree in Utah, then moved to Texas on an academic scholarship. Around this time, I served as a Foreign Service representative in La Paz, Bolivia, where I became fluent in Spanish. After medical school, my training moved me again, this time to the Pacific Northwest. I had a couple of detours after training, but my family and I are now happy to call Oregon home.

About my practice

I chose to practice medicine because it offered the opportunity to serve people. In Utah, I volunteered as an interpreter at Primary Children's Hospital, but it was during my service in Bolivia that I became interested in eye care. At Prevent Blindness Texas, I performed volunteer ocular health and vision screenings and assisted in research. Now as a physician, my focus is on the whole person and each individual's overall health, and I practice comprehensive eye care. I enjoy connecting with all members and have a particular interest in cataract surgery.

How I thrive

I spend most of my free time with family. We love being outdoors with our dogs. I enjoy anything active and especially like distance-running and participating in triathlons. I am an Eagle Scout and continue to try to serve the community.

Medical School ?

University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston
Galveston

Medical Training ?

Ophthalmology
Palmetto Health/University of South Carolina School of Medicine
Columbia SC

Board Certification ?

Ophthalmology
American Board of Ophthalmology