Brian J. Gould MD
4.7 / 5
  • Spanish
(503) 813-2000
Rockwood Medical Office
19500 SE Stark St.
Portland, OR 97233

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.7
Overall Score
  • 4.6
    Wait Time
  • 4.7
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.7
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.7
    Explanations
  • 4.7
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 137 Ratings
  • 50 Comments

Our experience was very good. We both liked Dr. Gould and the staff.

August 08, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

fanastic Dr

July 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was very impressed with Dr. Gould and his willingness to explain things. He was thorough. I liked him very much.

June 26, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My doctor is the best. Thanks *Brian Gould.

June 21, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Gould has ALWAYS spent necessary time with me. Dr Gould makes me feel like he cares not only about my health, but also my well-being.

June 07, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent *Dr. Brian Gould.

May 23, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Kaiser member for 50+ years - Excellent service once again. Have recommended *Dr. Gould to several friends.

April 25, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

good doctor.

March 12, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am extremely satisfied with my doctor he takes time to listen,answers all my questions an explains so I can understand without using all those medical terms

February 24, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Gould has very good inter- personal skills. he is aware of who he is talking with, and answers questions with candor.

February 15, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Gould takes good care of me.

February 08, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Brain Gould is the best dr. we have ever had. He is like a family member as well as a doctor. Love to see him even if we are sick!

January 08, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Everyone who was there that day in the office treated me with courtesy and professionalism (registration, nurse, x-rays, and physician) but I want to recognize that I have complete trust in *Dr. Gould because he has always been very thorough and careful to give me a diagnostic, also he has always explained to me about the medications about my questions. I chose him because he speaks Spanish because I consider that with an interpreter there is no privacy.

December 15, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

i am so happy Dr. Gould is my physician!! he is an amazing doctor and really cares about his patients. my entire family sees him and are equally happy!

December 13, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellant Doctor . Great patient care

December 13, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was the fastest, most efficient, office visit I've ever had. From when I parked until when I left it was the shortest amount of time. Yet, my visit was still so beneficial and Doctor Gould was wonderful for me.

December 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very happy with Dr Gould and staff. Very clear explanations. Appreciate the professionalism. thanks

November 30, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Gould was very professional, caring & expedient. He was very good at explaining what I had & the details surrounding that. I felt very confident with his care & would highly recommend him.

November 27, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Gould and his Assistant are excellent!

September 13, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

If my doctor can't inject it with cortisone or treat it with a pill he is not interested. I had a list of questions and after I stated the questions without any answers he specifically stated "Now can we get on with what I want to talk about" Left office feeling like it was a waste of my time.

August 31, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Gould is kind, caring and competent I trust and like having him as my MD. [name]

August 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Gould Brian is extraordinary Dr. he was giving me time to listen my problem and help me to find solutions.I would recommend his help to friends and family.he is great healer.

June 21, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Gould is very professional, gentil, interested on my health problems, willing to do his best, good listener, shows no hurry when talking with the client

March 15, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My dr. was great and the nurse was so nice and put me a ease for my appoint. My dr. took his time and addressed all my question.

February 27, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very informative appointment. The doctor took plenty of time to explain all of my new meds.

February 22, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

It was a very satisfactory visit, and Dr. Gould answered all my questions patiently, precisely, without any condescending whatsoever. I felt fully informed and realistically reassured about the procedures and drugs that I was to take before my trip. Hearing Dr. Gould speak to me in excellent Spanish was an added bonus!

January 25, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very grateful for the care and concern of the staff and *Doctor Gould.

November 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Doctor Gould was very competent, nice, and professional. Plus, he was patient and thoroughly answers my questions about my medication and alternative opinions about it. He provided me with helpful information to consider and I appreciated it.

August 25, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I love Dr. Gould. he understands me and although he doesn't know a ton about my disease I trust him fully.

August 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Meeting my primary for first time. Felt comfortable with his analytical style.

August 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

very good

August 09, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Gould is without a doubt the most caring, compassionate M.D. I've ever had. He listens to me. Asks me what I want. He is one of the best. I'm very satisfied with my care. Dr. Gould Isn't afraid to help me with my pain, to try everything to better my quality of life. Thank you *Dr. Gould.

June 24, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My first meeting with Dr. Gould. He made me an informed patient. I appreciate the time he spent explaining things.

June 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Gould is clear and candid in his communication. He is conversational, allowing me to issue every complaint while asking questions that indicate he has heard my concerns. Then he involves me in the decision process.

May 25, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I like Dr. Gould very much and I feel he is thorough and takes a genuine interest in my as a patient.

March 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I like my Doc.

March 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

was good

February 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

All good.

February 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Gould is very easy to talk with.

February 03, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Gould and the staff in department D at Rockwood are just topnotch

January 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Extremely responsive to my emails or phone calls. Spends more than enough time with me. I LOVE Dr. Gould AND his assistant. Excellent providers.

November 04, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

provider very good and interested in my overall healh

October 30, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Couldn't be better.

October 08, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Had real PAIN in both of my feet & ankles and needed to see my Doctor ASAP, but couldn't get a appointment until 8 days later. E-mailed my Doctor who immediately ordered medication for me that help the pain, keep my appointment the following week.

September 24, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Nice man - very informative & professional.

September 09, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent doctor. good experience. // good doctor, very competent and knowledgeable

September 04, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

It was an urgent appt for a new problem and my primary care Dr. had a full schedule. Dr. Gould was thorough, understanding, and even took the time to consult with my PCP about what should be done. I really appreciated that.

August 26, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

very good

August 12, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I really enjoy Doctor Gould. He I is a very easy going and personal physician.

August 11, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

GOOD

August 07, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Nací y me crié en New Jersey, soy el menor de tres hijos. Tuve la suerte de asistir a la Stanford University, donde completé mis estudios universitarios en Biología Humana. Después de Stanford, asistí a la University of Michigan donde obtuve una MPH (Master’s Degree in Public Health, Maestría en Salud Pública). Esta experiencia me permitió vivir en Guatemala durante dos años, donde trabajé en programas de atención médica para personas pobres de las zonas rurales, y fue allí donde decidí asistir a la facultad de Medicina. Después de enseñar Español y Biología en la preparatoria durante tres años para prepararme para el ingreso a la facultad de Medicina, ingresé al Baylor College of Medicine en Houston, Texas. Conocí a mi esposa en nuestro primer año de la facultad de Medicina. Completamos nuestra formación de posgrado en San Antonio, Texas. Estamos casados desde hace 12 años y tenemos gemelos.

I was born and raised in New Jersey, the youngest of three children. I was fortunate to attend Stanford University, where I completed my undergraduate education in human biology. After Stanford, I went to the University of Michigan for a Master's Degree in Public Health (MPH). This training allowed me to live in Guatemala for two years, working on health care programs for the rural poor and it was there that I decided to attend medical school. After teaching high school Spanish and Biology for three years to prepare for medical school admission, I was accepted to attend Baylor College of Medicine in Houston, Texas. I met my wife in our first year of medical school. We completed our post-graduate training in San Antonio, Texas. We have been married for 12 years, and have twins.

About my practice

Me gusta atender a una amplia variedad de pacientes: hombres y mujeres, jóvenes y adultos de todas las condiciones. Hablo español de manera fluida y me gusta atender a las personas latinas en su idioma. La Clínica de Rockwood (Rockwood Clinic) me plantea el desafío de atender pacientes de todas partes del mundo. Los pacientes originarios de otros países tienen enfermedades distintas y creencias diferentes sobre lo que consideran que puede estar mal en su cuerpo. Es probable que no tenga todas las respuestas, todo el tiempo, pero estudio e investigo nuevos problemas todos los días. Me gusta enseñarles a mis pacientes sobre su salud y explicarles, o aclararles, la información médica complicada. Cada paciente es diferente: yo trabajo mucho con cada persona para tener un plan que pueda mejorar su salud.

I enjoy providing care to a wide range of patients: male and female, young and old, from all walks of life. I am fluent in Spanish, and enjoy providing care to Latinos in their native language. The Rockwood clinic challenges me with patients from all over the world. Patients originally from other countries have different diseases and different beliefs about what they feel may be wrong with their body. I may not have all the answers all the time, but I study and research new problems every day. I enjoy teaching my patients about their health, and explaining or clarifying complicated medical information. Every patient is different: I work hard with each person to come up with a plan to improve their health.

How I thrive

El área de Portland, Oregon ofrece muchas posibilidades para estar al aire libre y disfrutar de la naturaleza. A mi familia y a mí nos gusta ir a los parques, ir de excursión a las cascadas y esquiar en Mt. Hood en el invierno. Tratamos de despejarnos y viajar dos veces al año. También disfrutamos del tiempo en casa con nuestra familia y amigos.

The Portland, Oregon area offers so many opportunities to get outside and enjoy nature. My family and I love to go to the parks, hike to waterfalls, and ski Mt. Hood in the winter. Twice a year we try to get away for a week and travel. We also enjoy time at home with our family and friends.

Medical School ?

Baylor College of Medicine
Houston

Medical Training ?

Internal Medicine
University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio
San Antonio TX

Board Certification ?

Internal Medicine
American Board of Internal Medicine