Brian L. Gumbs MD
4.8 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Skyline Medical Office
5125 Skyline Road South
Salem, OR 97306

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.8
Overall Score
  • 4.5
    Wait Time
  • 4.8
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.7
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.7
    Explanations
  • 4.7
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 103 Ratings
  • 23 Comments

*Dr. Gumbs & his team are professional, thorough, and caring. Fantastic!

July 25, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Gumbs was such a great provider. Helpful, easy-going, knowledgeable, smart. If our primary pediatrician, *Dr. [name], wasn't already our favorite doctor/person, we'd switch to *Dr. Gumbs. Thanks so much!

July 24, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have a lot of confidence in *Dr. Gumbs as he is very knowledgeable and shows care/concern for my child, and any questions I might have he is able to answer. He also sends home information with us so we have a reference if any other questions arise.

June 28, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

definitely recommend to friends and family // Great courteous care

June 18, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Gumbs was very helpful with my speech questions that I had about my daughter.

May 21, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Gumbs was great. He is good at listening. Tell him, thank you! From us.

May 03, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Gumbs is very personable, interacts well with my child, efficient and never rushed. One of my favorite pediatricians to see with KP.

March 28, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Gumbs is an amazing pediatrician!!

February 15, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Brian Gumbs is an amazing doctor, always goes above & beyond, and is interesting/informative to speak with on current health related topics.

February 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Love *Dr. Gumbs and the staff!

January 25, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Dunn and staff were friendly and efficient!

January 17, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Gumbs was amazing with [child]. i wish we could make him our primary care provider for my girls.

January 16, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The Dr. was amazing!!! I had questions after our appointment I emailed and he responded so quickly. He was very kind and helpful..

December 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

We saw him once for urgent care and liked him so much we chose him as our primary.

November 27, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Gumbs is awesome to work with!

November 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Brian Grumbs, MD is an amazing pediatrician. He is informative, updated on current issues and always willing to discuss topics as it relates. He is also super friendly and engages well with children. He can make an appointment enjoyable which is difficult to do.

November 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Gumbs was very nice and reassuring that I was correct to bring my child in for care.

July 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Gumbs takes his time in asking us questions, answers all of our questions and explains things to us. We appreciate his thorough care.

June 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was very impressed with the level of care and communication of *Dr. Gumbs. I will be requesting him for my other children.

March 31, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Gumbs is a good physician. We are satisfied with his treatment and advice.

March 30, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Gumbs interacted easily with my child, was very engaging. Highly recommended.

February 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Gumbs is amazing! By far the best Pediatrician my boys have ever had. He has always been genuine with his care, always doing what's very best in my kid's interest. He directs the conversation of their care to them while including me which helps me to raise my kids responsible for taking care of their health! We found a gem with Dr. Gumbs!

December 28, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

We would recommend any parent to Dr Gumbs. He pays attention to detail, offers more resources based on his own research as suggestions, he is non judgmental and the kids love him.

November 04, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

After growing up on the south shore of Long Island, New York, I studied at Grinnell College in Iowa, graduating with a double major in Biology and German. I returned to New York for medical school, to Albert Einstein College of Medicine in the Bronx. During both medical school and college I spent time in studying in Germany, first in Freiburg, then in the radiology department at the university hospital in Hannover. My pediatric residency was at Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center, where I had clinical experience throughout New Hampshire and Vermont. My Adolescent Medicine rotation took me to Hawaii for a month, with time spent at Kaiser Permanente, Tripler Army Medical Center, and the Hawaii Youth Correctional Facility. Before settling in at Kaiser Permanente, I worked in Ashland, Ohio; Cooperstown, New York; and most recently in Coos Bay, Oregon.

About my practice

I believe that being a pediatrician is much more than just about treating illness. It is about partnering with my patients and their families, providing the information and resources they need to improve their health and prevent disease. By practicing with Kaiser Permanente, I have the privilege of working in a system that supports this idea, and continually works to improve the quality of care I can deliver.

How I thrive

Outside of work, I love to spend time sailing, gardening and hiking with my wife and dogs. The Willamette Valley is an ideal location to explore, with endless possibilities to enjoy the outdoors from the Cascades to the coast. I am also passionate about making my community a healthier place, by supporting our local farms and orchards, and by working to make it more pedestrian and bike-friendly. When I need some down time, I unwind listening to music. My tastes are broad, as I like everything from jazz, to classical to grunge! My wife and I especially enjoy experiencing music live, as I am a once (and hopefully future) jazz saxophonist.

Medical School ?

Albert Einstein College of Medicine of Yeshiva University
New York

Medical Training ?

Pediatrics
Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center
Lebanon NH

Board Certification ?

Pediatrics
American Board of Pediatrics