Brian R. Willis MD, PhD
4.8 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Interstate Medical Office Central
3600 North Interstate Ave.
Portland, OR 97227

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.8
Overall Score
  • 4.5
    Wait Time
  • 4.8
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.8
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.9
    Explanations
  • 4.8
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 160 Ratings
  • 31 Comments

He explained my condition in terms I understood and answered all my many questions. Dr Willis discussed with me the options I had to become stronger and heal my liver in a way that made complete sense to me. Most of his information I never heard before. Great Doctor.

July 13, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very kind experienced provider and informs me of all health care and results as needed. Kudos to my provider and to KP for having a wonderful staff member on your team. Thank you Dr. Willis

June 29, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Willis is the best. When I had the endoscopy he came in before the procedure and then afterwards. He is the best.

March 27, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

he believes in me. That makes me fight harder and think positively.

January 23, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

For the past 15 years *Dr. Willis has been my care giver for my particular condition. During that time he has been a tremendous source of encouragement to me and my wife, helping us in dealing not only with my medical condition, but also my resultant anxiety and depression. He has always been absolutely truthful and always has taken the time to answer our questions and address our concerns.

January 02, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Because of *Brian's care & expertise I am alive & Hep C free. It has always been a pleasure to see him & the rest of the excellent staff.

December 29, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Willis exhibits the finest and highest levels of measurable qualities as a practicing physician. His thoroughness and conscientious exam, follow up, and directives have, at the very least, improved my life. I can justify saying he has certainly extended it as well as making it better.

December 27, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Willis is very good and apologized for computer problems.

December 21, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I feel safe under the care of *Dr. Willis. He monitors my health closely and picks up on changes that need to be addressed.

December 21, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

If I could rate Dr. Willis higher than very good, I would. He is outstanding and cares about my health.

October 20, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Willis is thorough, articulate, and genuinely concerned about my health and well-being. He is very knowledgeable, professional and personable. I know I can depend on him.

May 23, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great experience.

March 10, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have never, ever had a bad experience at *Dr. Willis office.

November 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Willis is the best.

November 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Trust is not something easily and freely given from me to doctors. I do trust the care of *Dr. Willis with my health - he is a good listener and provides meaningful feedback and care.

October 25, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Willis is an outstanding professional.

October 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I feel very fortunate to have Dr Willis as my Hepatologist !

August 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

excellent care

August 03, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Willis explains everything at a patients level, if you have a question he will stop and answer for you. Very thorough and caring. [name]

July 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Overall my experience with *Dr. Wilis was good. He explained things in a way I could understand. I will be having follow up visits with him to monitor my condition. I feel I'm in good hands with him.

July 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

my confidence in Dr. Willis is 100 percent. excellent Doctor.

May 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

she listened

May 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I'm very grateful for Dr. Willis, his skill, his care, and his compassion.

April 26, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Willis is probably at the top of my list of the best doctor I have had over the last 30 years in the Kaiser system, and I have had quite a few really good doctors. He was caring, professional, gave complete explanations of issues concerning me, a good listener , and took the time needed. Very happy with my care at this appt.

March 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Willis is a excellant provider.

March 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I so grateful for the exceptional care I have received. It has changed my life.

February 09, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Willis took my medical problem very seriously. He wanted me to get an MRI for the next day and the arrangements were made. // This office visit was what I have come to expect from Kaiser. Exemplary service and medical care.

December 22, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Willis and a Fellow from OHSU worked together and both provided exemplary service.

December 15, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Willis was excellent! I would highly recommend him! He was easy to talk to and explained everything completely. I was very satisfied with his care.

December 11, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent review of treatment results, follow up monitoring, possible future complications and patient self care. I always enjoy seeing *Dr. Willis.

November 11, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Every thing about my visit was great.

October 27, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am originally from Spain, then Puerto Rico, and moved to the States for college some years ago. I remained here, first in Washington state, then I completed my postgraduate training in Chicago, Illinois and finally, I returned to the great Northwest for my specialty training and then medical practice.

About my practice

I specialize in conditions of the liver (hepatology), and, to a lesser degree, general gastroenterology. Having been in private practice for a decade, I greatly appreciate the setting of a staff model health organization such as Kaiser Permanente from the standpoint of both doctor and patient. This systems approach to healthcare delivery is, in my opinion, vastly more responsible, preventive, and moral, than that encountered in the standard private practice setting. At Kaiser Permanente, the individual patient remains preeminent and is prioritized over any guideline, protocol, or one-size-fits-all mentality.

How I thrive

I enjoy volunteering at a medical clinic which provides care for those who are indigent. In my spare time I also enjoy photography, travel, reading, and hiking.

Medical School ?

University of Illinois College of Medicine at Chicago
Chicago

Medical Training ?

Gastroenterology
Oregon Health & Science University
Portland OR

Internal Medicine
Oregon Health & Science University
Portland OR

Board Certification ?

Internal Medicine
American Board of Internal Medicine

Gastroenterology
American Board of Internal Medicine