Cara L. Kawahara MD
4.6 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Sunset Medical Office
19400 NW Evergreen Parkway
Hillsboro, OR 97124

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.6
Overall Score
  • 4.4
    Wait Time
  • 4.5
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.6
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.5
    Explanations
  • 4.5
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 172 Ratings
  • 13 Comments

Dr. Kawahara is a good listener. I appreciate her taking time to talk with me.

March 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I feel good coming to this doctor. She always takes time to listen and not be half way out the door when answering questions I might have like another doctor I have had in the past

February 26, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kawahara was excellent, she was very kind, quick, professional, and seemed very caring.

February 12, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very friendly doctor & staff. Dr. Kawahara knew all about my case & she gave me good advice & helped me with everything. I was very comfortable with *Dr. K. also.

November 30, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Both *Dr. Kawahara and her assistant were extremely friendly which made me very comfortable during this my initial office visit. I have a lot of confidence that I will be taken care of professional/knowledgeable people. Please pass along my thanks to both!

October 25, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Consistently provides excellent care!

August 31, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I felt (after several exposures & experiences) that the doctor lacked bedside manner, and was very condescending with a lack of people skills.

July 27, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

an amazing provider and seemed to care about what I was saying.

May 19, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I liked Doctor Kawahara. She was friendly and seemed knowledgeable. She answered my questions calmly. She was not in a rush to get done with seeing me. That was nice.

March 31, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good first visit experience - very well-organized practice.

January 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

both doctor and her nurse were friendly and efficient.

January 21, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. & entire team really went above & beyond for me at a very difficult time in my life [name]

November 04, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

As this is my 1st time seeing this doctor, I had a very good experience. the doctor was very nice too ,she answered all my questions and was very positive. // She seems to be a nice person and a competent doctor

September 08, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was born and raised in Hawaii with frequent trips to visit family in Portland, Oregon. I now enjoy living here with my family. My husband and I enjoy hiking, camping, and exercise and one day hope to share all these activities with our three young children. I developed an interest in medicine out of my own need to understand my health on a higher level.

About my practice

As a family physician, I love that I am able to care for the entire family, from newborns to their grandparents. Diagnosing and treating illnesses is just one part of being a doctor. The larger part of my job, which I enjoy the most, is educating patients on their chronic illnesses and helping them to take control of their health issues.

How I thrive

Family is very important to me and spending time with my husband and children brings me the greatest joy I have experienced in life.

Medical School ?

Tulane University School of Medicine
New Orleans

Medical Training ?

Family Practice
Providence Health System/Milwaukie Hospital
Portland OR

Board Certification ?

Family Medicine
American Board of Family Medicine