Cathleen J. Miller MD
4.7 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Kaiser Sunnyside Medical Center
10180 SE Sunnyside Road
Clackamas, OR 97015

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.7
Overall Score
  • 4.6
    Wait Time
  • 4.7
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.7
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.7
    Explanations
  • 4.7
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 39 Ratings
  • 11 Comments

*Dr. Miller was very nice to work with.

May 21, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Highest praise for *Dr. Miller.

January 30, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I appreciated the doctor taking time with me.

January 23, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Cathleen Miller is very easy to talk to. I like her style, direct and open. Did not feel rushed and enjoyed the visit.

January 16, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent service, as always.

May 04, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Always feel my concerns are dealt with promptly and professionally. Great customer service!!

April 14, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I would recommend *Dr. Cathleen J. Miller. To anyone that I knew if they needed neurologist services. Because she is one of the nicest, kindest, wonderful, and knowledgeable doctor I have ever ever met. She listened to what I had to say, I felt like for the first time in a very long time that finally a doctor was really listening to what I had to say and what I was really saying. Then she also didn't judge me by the way I answered myself which was a breath of fresh air. [name]

April 14, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent doctor!

March 13, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Miller is one of your best care providers. Personable & very compassionate. She is a consummate professional & a valued member of your staff. Five stars!

November 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Good.

October 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I had a lot of confidence in *Dr. Miller's ability and knowledge.

May 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was born to a Corvallis High School graduate and Oregon State University student who entered the Air Force upon graduation. My early years were spent moving frequently from base to base with my parents and two sisters. My first jobs were selling gourds that I grew door-to-door while I was in 4-H in Nebraska, and detasseling corn for hybrid farmers in the summers. I went on to Oregon State University and the University of California, San Francisco. I met my husband in graduate school and we started a business in health science communications in San Francisco, and also worked in multimedia and special effects. While in graduate school I was inspired by an exemplary rheumatologist who was the mentor for my graduate thesis. My daughter was born at the Redwood City Kaiser Permanente the Saturday morning between my orientation week and my first week of medical school at the University of California, San Francisco. I completed my internship in Internal Medicine and residency in Neurology and incorporated into a specialty group practice for 10 years with two other neurologists in Santa Cruz, California. I became board certified in Neurology and have served as a board examiner for the oral portion of the Neurology board for over a decade. My husband and I then opened a solo practice with my husband as office manager. After four years, my daughter's wedding, and the birth of our first grandson, my husband showed me a postcard from Northwest Permanente recruiting a Neurologist. He said "Here's your dream job" and I agreed. We closed our practice in 2006 and moved to Portland, Oregon.

About my practice

As a physician, I have the privilege of hearing many life stories and my patients have been my greatest teachers. I am fortunate to have joined an organization that prioritizes preventive health care, utilizes evidence-based medicine customized to each member's needs, and has an advanced electronic medical records system. I work with an outstanding cast of health care providers. I have a Master Herbalist diploma that has helped me appreciate complementary and alternative medicine. I enjoy all aspects of Neurology and approach each person I see with a fresh look at his or her neurological concern. A detailed history and examination continue to be essential to a neurological evaluation, despite advanced technology.

How I thrive

My favorite form of exercise is dance. Everyone can move to the tunes of their choice. "Motion is lotion!" Playing a musical instrument is also good for the brain and the soul. Hopefully I will advance to playing someday, beyond practicing. I am dabbling at Celtic harp, fiddle, and cello. My diet recommendations are sticking to the "hunter-gatherer" foods, avoiding sugars and starches, and eating small, frequent meals. I try to avoid boxed foods. My family remains my priority, another reason for moving back to the Pacific Northwest. Life is all about change and choices. Enjoy the journey and be happy with the choices you have made.

Medical School ?

University of California, San Francisco School of Medicine
San Francisco

Medical Training ?

Neurology
University of California (San Francisco)
San Francisco CA

Board Certification ?

Neurology
American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology