Charles R. Elder MD
4.7 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Gateway Medical Office
1700 NE 102nd Ave
Portland, OR 97220

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.7
Overall Score
  • 4.6
    Wait Time
  • 4.7
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.8
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.7
    Explanations
  • 4.8
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 107 Ratings
  • 47 Comments

*Dr. Elder is SUPERB!

June 28, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Elder is a true healer - and I am grateful to have him as a provider at Kaiser. He has had a huge positive impact on my health and life. He always has do-able suggestions that contribute to my health.

April 02, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The science of the Ayurveda diet/way of living is very new to me. *Dr. Elder took the time to answer questions & was encouraging with the small steps taken as I begin this journey. Helpful resources were given & the options for the classes are great.

March 22, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Elder and his assistant, [name], are able to put you at ease with their patient and caring nature. It is apparent that they practice holistic, integrative living as well as help patients move in that direction too. Highly recommended!

February 15, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Elder is GREAT and I want to continue to see him. His lecture was also very informative the week previous.

January 23, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Elder is great! I really appreciate his outstanding care and his kind and friendly demeanor. Give him a raise!

April 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Elder is the best of the best.

March 31, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He is a kind of doctor who always investigates a problem before solving it and this makes him different from any doctor I have ever had. Very professional, articulate, good communication, attentive to details. He carried all this attitude to work with his patients every day on job. Thank you *Dr. Charles for taking care of me and my family and (_____). God bless you and your family!

March 10, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I like my primary doctor and [name], his nurse

February 15, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Elder and his nurse [name] are the best! They are the perfect team. I feel very confident in their care and concerns health.

February 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Charles Elder MD & his nurse kinda are very competent and very nice, like family. AFter all of years with working with both. They both go out of their way to help & advise me regarding my health concerns.

January 31, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Elder is the most caring Dr. I have at Kaiser. I really cannot find anything negative about my doctor. I appreciate that he listens and then involves me in the decisions he makes. I feel so important when I visit.

January 27, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Charles R. Elder is a thorough medical professional in every sense. I have complete confidence in his skills & abilities. He is a caring and effective physician. A great credit to Kaiser-P.

January 24, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Elder is a great doctor, I wouldn't want any other doctor. He shows great care and concern, and he's always taken great care of me.

December 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Elder and his nurse are great.

December 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Elder has been my doctor for many years. He has always taken time for me and listened to my concerns. He is kind, and caring! He is a keeper!!

November 23, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I always look forward to my visits with *Dr. Elder. He's always very kind, a good listener. Pleasant & easy to talk to & I never feel rushed.

November 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Allowing the patient to finish a sentence before asking another question would be greatly appreciated. The provider deferred to me about medications for treatment and that made hesitant to trust the providers understanding and/or hearing/listening to the patient about the problem & pain.

October 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I bring a list of questions to my annual checkup and Dr. Elder is always patient with me. I leave with a sense of relief that my concerns are addressed, and I am more confident that my health issues will be OK.

September 13, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

good

August 30, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Love having Dr. Elder as my primary.... I'm very lucky to have him as I think along the same holistic/naturopathic lines as he does. he is very comfortable for me to be around and I never feel hurried by him.... He understands me and is never forceful in any type of treatment, as we discuss options rather then being told what I will do. it just doesn't get much better than him!!

August 23, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Elder is very patient and consistant with his advice.

August 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

A good experience! Respectful attitude towards me, excellent visit and suggestions by Dr. Elder.

August 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Elder has always treated me very openly and with concern for any potential issues and my comments about how to respond to any blood work issues.

August 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very satisfactory as always

June 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am a new patient for *Dr. Elder and he was very personable and professional in his approach. I would say a good doctor.

May 27, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He was great. He talked to me, not my chart.made sure I had no unanswered questions.

May 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Elder is a wonderful doctor. His eastern/western medicine background make him extremely helpful in most situations.

April 26, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Elder was outstanding!

April 13, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I like the fact that *Dr. Elders treats you as a real person. He talks to you about your problems suggest what to do and then asks you what you think. Very very nice dr.

April 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Elder is great!

April 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Elder was fantastic provided excellent next steps re: issues.

April 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

he is the best.............

March 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent care!! I told at the time I always feel good after my appts. with *Doctor Elder & his staff -

February 23, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Neither nurse or MD seemed rushed. I am willing to drive from Vancouver because *Dr. Elder comes highly recommended. I feel I am off to a very good start with Kaiser.

February 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I understand that Dr. Elder takes time with patients and thus can run late so that is why it was a long wait and I am ok with that.

February 09, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was a wasted visit. I was not at ease with Dr. Elders and will return to him. It was extremely awkward in communicating with him. It would have been nice if he called me as a new patient to do a bit of follow up. I do not want to see or hear from this doctor again.

February 09, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My doctor and his nurse are both THE BEST. They both take time to make my visits both enjoyable and informative. Listening to my questions and concerns are shared by both of them. They are a bright spot in my day.

February 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Elder is an excellent doctor.

February 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Elder is supportive, listens and provides information in a positive manner. He's helped me incorporate mindfulness and accountability in my daily wellness goals. Without hesitation I've recommended Dr. Elder to friends and family members.

January 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Elder was very kind and focused. I felt that the visit was very productive. Thank you for having Dr. Elder. I very much appreciate his approach, teaching and guiding how to better take care of ourselves and heal in natural ways. // I already have recommended this caregiver to others.

December 14, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Elder and his team have provided excellent care at every visit. I am very satisfied with him as my PCP.

November 17, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Fantastic Doctor!!

November 10, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

good conversation and expected mammogram ordered; dr Elder very pleasant person elder // Dr Elder was focused, listened and understood my concerns and ordered a Mammogram.

October 20, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Elders treats his patients very good and talks to you about everything. *Dr. Elders treats you like a real person.

October 01, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Good. I'm new and took advantage of the annual wellness exam to meet the doctor, get him acquainted with my conditions and take a couple of further steps to get established with Kaiser. Dr. Elder was genial and straightforward, and since he was the only doctor at Gateway taking new patients, I'm glad I found him so. The doctor was behind I'd been warned of that before I arrived. I was in no hurry. // the doctor was able to find records and notes about my visits to Drs. [name] and [name] at OHSU. Those were valuable in informing him about my conditions. It was heartening to see an instance in which continuity was possible.

August 18, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

excellent

August 14, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I grew up in Northeast Ohio. I received my BA, MD, and MPH degrees from Boston University, and completed my internship and residency in internal medicine at the University of Michigan. I am married with two children. I chose a career in primary care medicine because I like to get to know people over a long period of time.

About my practice

In my practice I encourage my patients to be proactive about their health, and to follow healthy lifestyle recommendations.

How I thrive

I think that as a physician one needs to maintain a healthy and balanced lifestyle so as to set a good example. My family enjoys hiking, skiing, cycling, and most outdoor sports. I exercise on a daily basis, and frequently commute by bicycle (18 mile round trip). I complete a yoga and meditation routine twice daily, and follow a lacto-vegetarian diet.

Medical School ?

Boston University School of Medicine
Boston

Medical Training ?

Internal Medicine
University of Michigan
Ann Arbor MI

Board Certification ?

Internal Medicine
American Board of Internal Medicine