Chinar S. Mehta MD
4.8 / 5
Rating Details Details
4.8
Overall Score
  • 4.5
    Wait Time
  • 4.8
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.8
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.8
    Explanations
  • 4.7
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 31 Ratings
  • 26 Comments

New dr. to me - I liked him and staff -

January 31, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was my second appt. with *Dr. Mehta. I felt he was caring and really listened to my comments. He has done two endoscopy procedure on me and will do another procedure soon. I have the utmost confidence in *Dr. Mehta.

January 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

1st visit with this provider instand & rapport, completely at ease with the doctor findings and future appt. in all probability.

December 16, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Liked *Dr. Mehta & I think he found what I needed ([medication]) have just started it. Hope it helps.

September 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Mehta was very personable and seemed to genuinely care.

August 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Mehta spent an extended time with me discussing my medical history and treatment options. He was very personable. Though this was the first time we met - I left almost feeling like were old friends!

July 27, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The staff and doctor were all very friendly and attentive.

July 19, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Mehta was a very patient and caring man, when talking about my problems. he answered all my concerns and I left with confidence that I was in the right hands and was heading in the right direction with his guidance. very good doctor and staff.

June 24, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was very impressed with my visit with Dr. Mehta. I was able to ask a number of questions and was helped a great deal during this visit. // I found this visit with Dr. Mehta to be worthwhile and I received helpful information regarding my condition with new ideas for follow through.

June 24, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Mehta was good in all respects and works good with primary physician

June 03, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Being a cancer patient I have met many Drs. and nurses. *Dr. Mehta has to be one at the top. He takes the time to answer any question, explain all options. He is great! Thank you.

May 25, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Extra good.

May 17, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Mehta was concerned and scheduled further tests. I have no complaints about this visit as all were professional and, I believe, quite competent.

May 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Mehta very caring and kind, made me feel at ease and confident in what he told me.

May 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Mehta is professional, friendly, thorough & makes going to the clinic a pleasure.

April 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

It appears he is trying to find out what's causing the problem.

March 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I liked the way *Dr. Mehta listened asked questions and got to know me before making his recommendation of a further procedure.

March 03, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very caring, friendly and kind Doctor. // Wonderful and funny and kind MD. I enjoyed meeting him.

February 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Waiting time to see Dr. seemed bit long but he took plenty of time to ask questions and recommend treatment from this point forward. Feel like progress is moving forward to get my system working better.

November 03, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The care provider doubted my diagnosis that I had been given 15 years ago. I felt belittled when the provider explained parts of the GI tract to me. I really didn't feel the provider was listening to anything I was saying, which made me uncomfortable about sharing more about my health and experiences. I will not be returning to this provider.

September 18, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I had a great visit with Dr. Mehta, very easy to talk to and feel very comfortable with him and his services. Thank You Dr. Mehta.

September 17, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I felt that I was listened to and not hurried when I spoke of my history of crohn's disease.

September 17, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I so appreciate Dr. Mehta sending me to the colon specialist who referred me to a physical therapist who helped me with my colon problems. I appreciate that he was encouraging of me having an endoscopy and later explaining the results. He was so kind and very knowledgeable.

September 15, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I received a diagnosis under somewhat strange circumstances (a diagnosis based on a colonoscopy several years ago), and I had lots of questions, including questions about alternative methods of treatment. I was informed I don't really have a choice other than the recommended course of treatment. I left feeling like I had no hope and no options, only statistics about the worst-case scenario (not something I want to ignore, but difficult to digest on a first visit).

August 14, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He is the very best!

August 13, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very positive visit. Dr. Mehta took a good amount of time with me, very cordial and helpful. I really enjoyed meeting with him and his staff.

August 05, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was born and raised in India. In high school, I developed a strong interest in medicine. I attended Rostov State Medical University, one of the premier medical schools in Russia. I pursued further training in internal medicine and gastroenterology at Mount Sinai School of Medicine affiliated hospitals in New York City. I practiced in New York City before moving to the Northwest. Besides English, I am fluent in Russian, Hindi, and Gujarati. My wife is a pharmacist and we have two boys. I love playing with my boys, tennis, ping pong, badminton, and Cricket. We love to travel and watch movies.

About my practice

Knowledge is power and I strive to be at the forefront of latest clinical developments to provide the best possible care. I educate my patients about all possible options and engage them in the decision making process, which I think is the key to our mutual success. I learn and help by listening. I enjoy practicing general gastroenterology and have a keen interest in the diseases of the liver, bile duct, and pancreas. We at Kaiser Permanente embrace the culture of preventive measures, healthy diet and an active lifestyle, which I believe is the cornerstone for good health. Our integrated care delivery system and efficiency sets Kaiser Permanente apart from most organizations and I am privileged to be part of an organization which aligns closely with my vision of a well-functioning health care system.

How I thrive

I enjoy running, bicycling, and trekking. I like listening to music and aspire to learn an instrument. I make it a point to spend quality time with my family and friends whenever I can and believe happiness and success in life start with good health, energized spirit, and a happy family.

Medical School ?

Rostov State Medical University
Rostov-on-Don
Russian Federation

Medical Training ?

Advanced GI Endoscopy
Winthrop-University Hospital
Mineola NY

Gastroenterology
Mount Sinai School of Medicine
New York NY

Internal Medicine
Mount Sinai School of Medicine (Queens Hospital Center)
Jamaica NY

Board Certification ?

Gastroenterology
American Board of Internal Medicine