Christian A. Speer MD
4.8 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Skyline Medical Office
5125 Skyline Road South
Salem, OR 97306

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.8
Overall Score
  • 4.5
    Wait Time
  • 4.8
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.8
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.8
    Explanations
  • 4.8
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 177 Ratings
  • 56 Comments

Dr.Speer is the best Dr. EVER! He's so caring and explains everything so well and never makes me feel rushed. Our family is very thankful for him.

July 19, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Nurse & doctor were both great! Very pleased.

July 05, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I had an overall FANTASTIC experience w/*Dr. Speer & his team. I would venture to say this was the best medical care I have EVER received. *Dr. Speer is an exceptional physician & really made my concerns feel valid & important.

June 26, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Been seeing this man for some time and have always found him to be friendly, professional and competent. If he has any doubts at all about what he is finding, he will repeat his stops to ensure a proper diagnosis. I feel secure with him. He is without doubt one of my favorite Kaiser professional, - one of my "Kaiser Family" of caregivers.

June 26, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Speer is my best dr. yet. He checks up on everything. He listens and makes me feel like a respected adult - not like a complaining old woman (even if I am!).

May 31, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I love *Dr. Speer. He has amazing bed side manner and is very knowledgeable. He always puts me at ease.

May 09, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I really enjoyed the appointment with Dr. Speer.

February 21, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

good service

February 21, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The care was and is very professional quality!

February 21, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Every time I was treated by *Dr. Speer, his care and concern was exceptional. He actually talks to you, explains in detail, and never seems in a hurry like most physicians do nowadays. I always look forward to my appointment with *Dr. Speer because I know my needs will be recognized and met.

January 25, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The doctor was very thorough.

November 30, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I thank he a very good doctor

November 16, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Speer was very attentive to my concerns and needs. Would highly recommend *Dr. Speer to anyone.

October 24, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr asked very good questions , described his evaluation of my tests and gave good information on next steps test. I completelt trust him to perform the tests that are forthcoming.

October 12, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He was super awesome and made me feel comfortable when I really wasn't.

July 27, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Speer is awesome - I would truly recommend him to anyone.

July 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Speer was professional. He listened to my symptoms and concerns.

July 05, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Spear was excellent at explaining my medical concerns. He is very caring and concerned about his patients.

May 31, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was my first visit to *Dr. Speer. He was very pleasant, thorough and really took the time to get to know me and answer all my questions. I like doctors that are there to assist you, but also good about letting you make final decisions about care yourself. *Dr. Speer was quick to let me know that I am in control - he is there to help guide me with his expertise. I really appreciated that!

May 04, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Speer was very informative and took time to explain my health concerns.

May 03, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

ESPECIALLY IMPRESSED with care given by doctor and two women attending.

May 03, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My experiences thus far when visiting *Dr. Spear have been very positive. He explains his diagnoses very dearly and will discuss _____ thoroughly and any concerns I may be having. Dr. Spear also has a way of making me feel at ease and unrushed. I would recommend him to anyone who needs a caring... physician.

April 05, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Speer and his staff could not have been nicer or more professional. They are excellent in their field.

March 30, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was very pleased with both *Dr. [Speer] & [name]. It was my first visit so was impressed that *Dr. [Speer] had reviewed my history ahead of time. Really appreciated his compassion, that he listened to me, and made sure I had all my questions & concerns addressed.

February 23, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was one of the better doctor's office experiences I've ever had - I didn't wait long & *Dr. Speer spent a lot of time with me discussing my needs & explaining next steps/possible solutions. I was in & out of there feeling like I was the only patient & that my needs were fully met. That's a rarity, so I sincerely appreciated that approach.

January 26, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Treated with respect and felt like my concerns were heard. Felt hopeful when the visit was over that my issue will be addressed, even if it takes time and that the best option/s will be considered.

November 17, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Another great appointment with *Dr. Speer. He is attentive, listens, and cares to figure out what is wrong and how to help me best.

November 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Speer also asked me if there were any other health related issues that concerned me. I mentioned my Lipoma and he arranged the referral for surgery. This was above and beyond what I expected from my GI visit. Very pleased with him!!!

October 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great! Very much liked the patient care & time taken.

October 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Speer is outstanding - a good listener and clear in his explanations using language lay folks can understand. Not only a skilled practitioner but an excellent communicator. I really appreciate having him as a specialist physician.

September 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Speer noticed something in my problem list (had nothing to do with what I was seeing him for) - Made a correct diagnosis to a problem I had previously been seen for by several FP & specialist physicians.

September 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Speer is a great, caring, knowledgeable, loving dedicated physician. I trust him with my health.

August 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Speer is outstanding & a pleasure to work with.

August 09, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My experience with *Dr. Speer and his nurse/assistant was excellent! I also believe that with his analysis I may be on the way to solving my physical issue.

August 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Speer and his staff are excellent. Friendly, good listener, not in a hurry to get to the next patient. Answered all the questions I had and gave me excellent advice. Dr. Speer is an excellent Doctor. I was very happy that i went to him. I would highly recommend him to my family and friends. [name]

June 09, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Speer is awesome and his staff speaks highly of him as well. He has followed up by email - great member of your medical team!

June 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Spear was fantastic! Both my daughter my husband and me ever so happy with him - so knowledgeable so understanding and so kind. We are all too lucky to have him as my doctor!

May 31, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Everything well done. Pleasantly and with appropriate knowledge.

May 25, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Speer is the best!!!

May 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Loved the doctor.

May 03, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Speer spent quality time with me. We went over my recent stomach issues, viewed my C-Scan and discussed options on how to go forward with my Irritable Bowel/Diverticulosis problems. He answered all my questions and we made decisions on what I need to change in the next few weeks. He is very easy to talk to and genuinely seems to care about me, as his patient.

April 21, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Speer is on of the very best doctors I've encountered at KP! I've recommended him to others multiple times

April 19, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Speers is very thorough and if he does not know something, he will investigate and give you answers. He follows through and appears to have genuine concern for me and my medical problems.

April 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

100% happy w - *Dr. Speer, wonderful doctor! And his staff is great too!

March 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very happy with my experience.

March 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

great doctor

February 17, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good all around. Delicate issues handled without problems. I have a plan to follow & know who to call if I have continued problems.

February 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very kind & gentle & knowledgeable.

February 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr Speer was not only kind but he was very knowledgeable and I felt like he really listened to me and was present.

December 03, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Awesome.

October 07, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Speer reminded me of the old days when physician took time with their patients. This visit was the best I have had in a VERY long time. *Dr. Speer listened, questioned & diagnosed, and all with a smile! It made me feel good.

October 07, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I would trust *Christian Spur w/my life. He is caring, listening, smart... to get to the answer of my problem. A very nice young man.

October 01, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Christian A. Speer is a great doctor !

October 01, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great care provider...

September 30, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

After seeing my PCP & seeing my test results, I was referred to *Dr. Speer. He emailed me right away to find out what was going on. In the office *Dr. Speer listened & helped me figure out my next steps for my health! He is awesome!!!

September 17, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. was encouraging during procedure (sigmoidoscopy).

August 06, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have been a doctor since 1995 and have practiced gastroenterology since 2000. I trained at the University of Vermont, the Cleveland Clinic, and at Norfolk and Norwich hospitals in the United Kingdom. After working in private practice in Vermont and Hawaii, I joined Kaiser Permanente in 2008.

About my practice

Gastroenterology is so much more than colonoscopy. We diagnose and (non-surgically) treat disorders that affect the organs that process food and drink, from the food pipe to the bowels--including the liver, gallbladder, and pancreas--and address abdominal symptoms in general. We often use specialized cameras that allow us to work on the inside of the body. Gastrointestinal symptoms can be caused by illnesses that damage internal organs, such as stomach ulcers. Very often, however, symptoms result from abnormal organ or nerve function without tissue damage, so-called "functional disorders,

How I thrive

I am a firm believer that a simple and balanced physical, emotional, and spiritual life promotes good health. Stress is best treated with joy and a reduction of overload, especially from gadgets and people who take way more than they give. My family and I make time for rest and time for fun. We try to answer life's hard questions, play with the dogs, and try to make our fellow human beings' lives a little easier. Kindness trumps selfishness, forgiveness trumps grudges, soccer trumps football.

Medical School ?

University of Hamburg Faculty of Medicine
Hamburg
Germany

Medical Training ?

Gastroenterology
University of Vermont
Burlington VT

Internal Medicine
Cleveland Clinic Foundation
Cleveland OH

Board Certification ?

Gastroenterology
American Board of Internal Medicine

Internal Medicine
American Board of Internal Medicine