Christina Derstine MD
4.9 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Interstate Medical Office East
3550 North Interstate Ave.
Portland, OR 97227

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.9
Overall Score
  • 4.5
    Wait Time
  • 4.9
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.9
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.9
    Explanations
  • 4.8
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 93 Ratings
  • 17 Comments

Dr. Derstine was warm and knowledgeable

February 12, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

We love *Dr. Christina Derstine - MD so so much. She is the reason I re-selected Kaiser on OHP so my daughter could stay with her. Thank you.

January 12, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

It was our first visit with Dr. Derstine and our experience was entirely positive. She is a wonderful care provider and took the time to listen and ask questions.

January 04, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Derstine is a wonderful, thoughtful, caring and competent doctor who we trust with our children fully. We met her during an emergency situation with our oldest daughter & continued to have her with our second born. The way she takes time to thoroughly answer our questions/concerns and provide advice means so much. Plus, she's just a delightful person to have as a doctor. She's really the best

December 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Derstine is a wonderful pediatrician, always attentive & informative. My daughter feels comfortable in her care. I would highly recommend her as well as her supportive staff who have varied through numerous wellness visits.

November 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

my only resistance in recommending Dr. Derstine would be knowing if others first had Kaiser. However we love Dr. Derstine and truly appreciate her time, and attention. .

October 31, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Derstine is fantastic! She was very present w/us & thoughtful about caring for my son.

October 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

this is the first time my son saw this provider. she was very gentle and friendly. she took her time and answered all our questions. she talked directly to my son too and included him the discussion. very pleased!

July 27, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

We love *Dr. Derstine! She is friendly and caring. She listens closely to any concerns I have regarding my children and provides thorough explanations.

July 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

dr. derstine is wonderful. she takes time to listen to [child] (and her little sister and friend who tagged along) and address her questions. she respects [child] and reassures her

June 30, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Derstine is a excellent doctor!!

June 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Derstine continues to go above & beyond. - She knew we were having trouble getting to the endocrinology so she ordered 2 chart review for the new endo. doctor. I feel like she is working hard to help us get to the root of his health issues.

April 24, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My experience has been that Dr. Derstine is a kind, respectful, fully present pediatrician who is great with kids. I'm very happy she pediatrician to my kiddos.

February 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My experience has been that Dr. Derstine is a kind, respectful, fully present pediatrician who is great with kids. I'm very happy she pediatrician to my kiddos.

February 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Derstine continues to go above & beyond to help get good care for all 3 of my boys. She is genuinely concerned about their health & is a delight to work with.

December 27, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This is my primary doctor for my children. I absolutely love her! She shows great care and concern for my children - hope she never LEAVES!

December 06, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Christina and her staff are so good she care about your concerns and she is worry about your kids.

October 08, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I grew up in a small city in Indiana not far from Chicago. I chose to stay in Indiana for my undergrad education at Earlham College and medical school at Indiana University. Between these years of schooling, I shelved books at the public library, waited tables, did biochemical research, spent a year in Chicago with AmeriCorps, and volunteered and traveled in Mexico and Central America. I speak conversational Spanish and am always looking for chances to practice and learn more. I moved to Portland for my pediatric residency and can't imagine leaving! I live in NE Portland and love the quirky parts of everyday life in my neighborhood.

About my practice

The majority of my practice is working in the pediatric clinic with children from birth to 18 years old. I love getting to know families, and working with them to create a healthy, supportive environment in which their children can grow and develop. It is a privilege to care for families when their children are sick or struggling, and also to celebrate milestones at well-child check-ups! I also work at Doernbecher Children's Hospital taking care of the children that are admitted to the hospital.

How I thrive

I love any activity that gets me outdoors, including gardening, backpacking, window-shopping, farmers markets, and sidewalk cafes. I am passionate about fresh local food and love growing and cooking it myself. I have aspirations toward backyard chickens and bees again soon! Lately, I have been nourished by great storytellers at the Pickathon Music Festival, the public library's storytelling series, and traveling events like The Moth. I am always amazed by how much we have to teach each other!

Medical School ?

Indiana University School of Medicine
Indianapolis