Christine A. McBurney MD
4.9 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Interstate Medical Office East
3550 North Interstate Ave.
Portland, OR 97227

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.9
Overall Score
  • 4.6
    Wait Time
  • 4.9
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.8
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.8
    Explanations
  • 4.8
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 182 Ratings
  • 65 Comments

Dr. McBurney listens to me and seems to appreciate and encourage all my efforts to adhere to a healthy life style in order to manage my RA. She is so kind and positive.

June 20, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. McBurney is excellent. Technically excellent. Good listener. Good at explaining my condition & treatment. Good at answering my many questions. Truly outstanding. Thanks *Dr. McBurney.

June 14, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very nice & caring dr.! My regular *Dr. [name] was on vacation. *Dr. McBurney was very kind & informative!

June 11, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Mcburney shows genuine interest in how I'm feeling. She appears to take everything I say seriously. I would recommend her to anyone without any hesitation. The only thing missing is wanting to have her as my primary care physician.

June 01, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. McBurney is the best!

April 02, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Christine is awesome at giving the shots I need so badly. Christine is a pro. They barely hurt at all. And she is so sweet. I would never want to go to anyone else!

March 30, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I being seeing *Dr. McBurney MD she been great. She explain everything very clear so you can understand what happen with your health. She check out on medical making sure this is the right medical for your health.

March 21, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was my 1st visit to *Dr. McBurney - she was excellent. I learned a lot & she was kind & patient. [name]

March 15, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

dr. mcburney is fabulous. takes time I listen and truly cares about her patients.

March 14, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. McBurney is an awesome doctor! She warm, easy to talk with, has a good sense of humor and you can tell she really cares about her patients.

March 13, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

great recommendations with clear explanations of what to expect

March 12, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Five Star- I'm Thriving.

February 23, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. McBurney and I exchanged several e-mails regarding my test results thru the Kaiser web site. She was very prompt to answer my questions. This was veyr helpful. Thank you.

January 22, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. McBurney is a warm & caring doctor - so glad I am her patient.

January 10, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. McBurney is very thorough and never tries to rush me through. Her explanations are clear and she ensures I understand the treatment plan before I leave.

January 10, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. McBurney is awesome. I feel lucky to have her!! Very caring, helpful and educates her patients. Even showed me a Youtube video for Nordi-walking. The best rheumatologist!

December 27, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

She is very good.

December 08, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. McBurney is a rock star! super knowledgeable and down to earth with expectations

October 27, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My doctor is amazing.

October 18, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. McBurney is always pleasant & friendly as were everyone else I came in contact with.

October 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. McBurney, listened to my concerns - she really hard me & go was able to give me a diagnose after 8 months of seeking one from other doctors. She was able to give me very meaningful help. She was very respectful to which I appreciated - especially after many doctors who condescending & who were unable to hear my concerns & very really experience. Thank you!

September 21, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am so impressed with Dr. McBurney and her team. Thank you for being a partner in my health.

September 08, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I can find zero fault or problems in *Dr. McBurney's practice. She is skilled, empathic, a true listener and healer. I've said it before, and I'll repeat my assessment that *Dr. McBurney represents everything that Kaiser promises. She is one of your best!! Thank you!!

September 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I like *Dr. McBurney a lot!

August 03, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I wish *Dr. McBurney, MD, could be my primary care doctor.

July 21, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was sooo Happy with my Dr. with in 2 days my pain was very minimal.. thank you so much

June 28, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

While very informative and professional, Dr. McBurney was also friendly and when she smiled, she smiled with her eyes (not a fake smile - I work with students on the Autism Spectrum - we notice those things). After my visit, I feel like I am in control of my OA/EA and know all options available for me to manage day-to-day living. Dr. McBurney is the type of hcp that I want in all areas of my health care. She is just wonderful!

June 28, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great dr. love her!

May 05, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. McBurney is a very caring and good individual. Best knee dr. I have ever seen. It is a joy to go to Kaiser knowing I will see her.

April 19, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

She is a wonderful doctor. I couldn't have asked for anyone better. Very pleased!

March 10, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great experience

March 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. McBirney is the best. So friendly and efficient and caring.

March 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. McBurney and her staff are excellent, kind and helpful. They make my appointment stress free and always go out of their way to help in anyway. Can't thank them enough. *Dr. McBurney is very knowledgeable and explains process very well and thorough. I am glad she is my dr. Thank-you!

November 30, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. McBurney is very knowledgeable thorough and empathetic. Love her!

November 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I feel that *Dr. McBurney is on top of my issues and my overall health. I think she is conscientious about appropriate medication and cautious not to over medicate. I am very confident and comfortable with my health care at Kaiser in general and with *Dr. McBurney specifically. Thank you!

October 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. McBurney is the best. Very caring & proactive in assisting me with as many alternatives that will enhance my dealing with my RA to ease & enrich my life. Very knowledgeable & Up to date on my issues.

October 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The first time I met her, which was the visit prior to this, I was ecstatic. She was so kind and took her time with me and explained my disease and my tests more thoroughly. She is great and I actually look forward to seeing her versus dreading my appointments!

September 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. McBurney was delightful and gave me detailed explanation for everything she said & did. My every question was answered & all my concerns were addressed.

September 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am very happy with *Dr. McBurney she is never in a hurry I am very blessed to have her for my doctor.

August 26, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I would highly recommend *Dr. McBurney.

July 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr McBurney and her nurse [name] were the best experience I have had at Kaiser. They are expert, responsive, and caring--and accessible.

July 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. McBurney has always been very concerned about finding the treatment that will be the best for me. She explained things thoroughly and answers all my questions.

June 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. McBurney has been our R.A. dr. for many years and she is an amazing dr. don't ever let her go!!!

June 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am very impressed with *Doctor McBurney - not only is she smart, knowledgeable and understanding - she knows how to present herself in the very best manner!!! SHe is one of my favorite doctors. I find myself, looking forward to my follow up visits.

June 27, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. McBurney and receptionist [name] are wonderful

May 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I found *Dr. McBurney to be very informative and took the time to explain everything very well.

May 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. McBurney should be the poster-MD for Kaiser. Her natural empathy exemplifies the finest elements of Kaiser care. I trust her! She listens and follows through with a comforting manner that encourages me to be a more compliant patient. She inspires good results. I feel lucky that Kaiser makes *Dr. McBurney available to me as her patient. A great assignment! Thank you, Kaiser!

April 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. McBurney is awesome, caring and staff support is equal. I always know I can call and get help when I need. Having RA means having unpredictable flare ups when I call I get an apt. soon. Also *Dr. McBurney is invested in my overall health. A very huge thank you -

April 21, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Seriously - Dr. McBurney is the main reason I actually get my [diagnosis} treated - and I am glad I switched from my last rheumy instead of just never coming back for treatment... She is takes the statistically large percentage of Black women that die from [diagnosis} in my age group VERY seriously and is both consistent and careful with my care ( I was in pretty bad shape when I came to her) by continuing to educate herself on my disease. We have talked about how to best manage my [diagnosis} and we collaboratively created a written '[diagnosis} action plan' to support my hopes of being both alive and well for my kids as long as possible. Our goal is to beat the odds! Further, she was so kind to me (and commented on how I am usually in such good spirits) that day as I was close to tears and gave me a much needed hug. She is such a gift and I am very thankful for her good care.

February 16, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr is always on time and is very concerned about my problem and always tells me the truth not what she thinks I want to hear. She listens and answers my questions // no bad experiences with her I have recommended her to others

February 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I enjoyed visiting with my provider she explain everything I asked and she make her recommendations even gave me some visuals I need it.

January 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Mcburney was very informative and i think will be a good fit for me.

January 20, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I would have preferred if she listened more and let me better respond to questions but okay overall.

January 19, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. McBurney and her staff are very professional and inspire confidence with the exceptional quality of health care provided. A pleasure to work with all involved.

January 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was having a very bad reaction to [medicine] and I felt my doctor did not take this seriously or give me much info as to how to mitigate.

January 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent physician and very caring. Very quick and thoughtful responses both in clinic and to email questions.

December 10, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very professional, very close to the patient, carring and concerning of all patient's problems. Sensitive to all my concerns. Able to create a warm and confident athmosphere during the visit.

December 01, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

one of Kaiser's best, 67 yr member

November 25, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

dr and nurse both very caring. couldn't ask for better service.

November 11, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

What a delightful and thorough doctor!! The whole service was a pleasure and I particularly appreciative of the willingness to fulfill my needs.

October 12, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr mcburney was very thorough and listened to my concerns. She answered my questions and was warm and personable. // She was great

October 02, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I can't say enough good about the doctor & Kaiser in general. I've never had anything but a wonderful experience. *Dr. McBurney is just wonderful.

September 11, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

great Dr. and staff. Dr. McBurney was thorough and encouraging and her assistant even took the time to show me where I needed to go next.

September 11, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. McBurney is top notch. I am so thankful for her compassionate care. // it is remarkable how Dr. McBurney remembers little details about me and my condition and history. I feel that she really listens and cares about my well-being.

September 10, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

One of Kaiser's very best.

August 13, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I'm excited to be practicing rheumatology at Kaiser Permanente. I am originally an "army brat," but most recently called Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania home. My father has always been my inspiration. He is an Army Colonel and physician who has taught me the value of hard work and caring for others.

About my practice

I believe that the relationship between patients and their physicians is a partnership. We are here to help provide the best care we can, but we need to listen to our patients' point of view as well. The best new treatment will not work the way it should if it does not fit into our patients' lives, if they are not able to take it, or if the lines of communication are not open between patients and physicians. Rheumatology has entered an exciting time for our patients, with more information on established treatments coming to light and new treatments being developed as we speak.

How I thrive

I enjoy spending time with my family, walking and hiking, riding my bicycle, cooking, reading, and exploring the beautiful Northwest. And of course, I will always have a soft spot in my heart for the Pittsburgh Steelers!

Medical School ?

University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine
Pittsburgh

Medical Training ?

Rheumatology
University of Pittsburgh Medical Center
Pittsburgh PA

Internal Medicine
University of Pittsburgh Medical Center
Pittsburgh PA

Board Certification ?

Rheumatology
American Board of Internal Medicine

Internal Medicine
American Board of Internal Medicine