Christine M. Barnett MD
4.9 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Interstate Medical Office Central
3600 North Interstate Ave.
Portland, OR 97227

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.9
Overall Score
  • 4.6
    Wait Time
  • 4.9
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.9
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.9
    Explanations
  • 4.8
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 275 Ratings
  • 48 Comments

*Dr. Barnett is a warm, loving, upbeat and cheerful person - and an excellent practitioner. She is a great communicator, able to explain my disease and how it is being treated in understandable language. She is great at addressing all my questions and concerns. Kaiser is fortunate to have her on staff - and so am I. She has shepherded me through some tough times with my lymphoma and has been instrumental in my recovery.

March 27, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good experience.

March 26, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Barnett saved my life by her determination to stabilize me and advocate for my ability to have a transplant-she cares about my survival and my health

March 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Barnett has been very detail & she explains everything. She also ensure that I understand her and she always welcome my questions. Her & her staff are the best. Very supportive.

February 23, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Barnett is also very friendly plus concerned and informative. She is always updated on CLL plus covers any concerns. I leave thinking I receive the best care.

February 20, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Barnett is very careful - very professional and - very smart! Thank you!

February 19, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

You get the feeling with *Dr. Barnett IMMEDIATELY that she REALLY cares. DO NOT SEE THAT MUCH ANY MORE!

February 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great to work with, easy to understand explains labs & made me part of my cancer treatment. Thank you.

February 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Barnett is always professional and caring and listens to my concerns. Weighing treatment options and trusting 100% her expertise and recommendations. She is a great oncologist and I am blessed to have her as my doctor.

January 29, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

From the beginning I have been blessed to have *Dr. Christine Barnett as my oncologist. She is always an encouraging, compassionate voice for her patients. With *Dr. Barnett's skillful help, I've had three years and still fighting. Kaiser is fortunate to have her.

January 23, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Christine Barnet is one of the best doctors I have ever had and I have had many.

January 05, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent dr. & treatment.

January 04, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I love Dr Barnett, she is a very good doctor, and is very knowledgeable. I feel very confident in the care I receive from her.

January 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great experience! *Dr. Barnett and staff really care about their patients.

November 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

It was a Sunday, and she and a few others had to work since the Thanksgiving holiday would close Kaiser in a few days. But even giving up her Sunday, she was ready, able, friendly, cooperative, and extremely encouraging...another delight to work with...the whole Barnett office is superb!

November 19, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Barnett is very professional and respectful. I can only grade my experiences with her at the highest rating level. Thank you *Dr. Barnett.

October 24, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Barnett is a very kind lady, and certainly knows her job. She has always given me time to ask questions, and clearly answered them. I believe that she has my best interests at heart. I certainly would recommend her to anyone in need of this kind of doctor.

October 23, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very happy with my first meeting with Dr Barnett. She was thorough in her explanations of my condition/ medication, and I feel trust in her expertise and knowledge. Also appreciate her friendly demeanor--definately an asset in this area of medicine.

October 17, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Barnett is wonderful -- listens carefully, explains clearly, obviously very knowledgeable, sincerely caring.

October 17, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am very pleased & confident with my provider.

October 09, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Barnett is the BEST. She is VERY patient, understanding and you SURE could tell she honored her suffering patients. SHE CARES. (One of Kaiser's best.)

October 03, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The right doctor for us. Direct, honest, compassionate but with humor when appropriate. Encouraging without being unrealistic. Great match!

October 03, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Barnett is EXCELLENT at listening to my concerns and developing an appropriate course of action to address concerns. She's empathetic, really listens, works with me, & follows up quickly. I am VERY happy she is my oncologist! She's wonderful!

August 31, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

If everyone who has the unfortunate situation of having cancer could have a doctor with the combination of competence, compassion, and ability to communicate possessed by *Dr. Barnett, it would be a good day.

August 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The care I received from *Dr. Christine Barnett was excellent.

July 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The wait is never excessive and when *Dr Barnett arrives I know I'm with a friend who cares about me - my treatment, my concerns and shares my hopes for recovery & remission.

June 27, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Barnett is super!

May 30, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Barnett as well as her staff are some of the best.

May 25, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good experience.

May 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Barnett has consistently been cordial, upbeat, thorough, good at communicating and listening. Also apparently quite competent at directing my care in combating lymphoma. She is operating at a very high in terms of medical savvy and patient care. I'm glad to have her help!

April 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I Thank God Every Day for Dr. Barnett, I live in S. Salem over 50 miles from the clinic in Portland where she practices. She is WELL Worth the DRIVE IN PORTLAND TRAFFIC.

April 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I must say that all of my care by *Dr. Barnett has been extremely excellent in all aspects. I have experienced really great benefits from her advice and diagnostic stills.

March 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My first time in this office, I was very nervous, given the scary topic of cancer, and the staff and Dr. Barnett were wonderful. My experience was very good, my husband felt the same, and I left my appointment feeling much better. Very compassionate staff. // I am very confident Dr. Barnett will take great care of me.

March 21, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

It was all good -

March 16, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I arrived early was seen early and everything was terrific. *Dr. Barnett gives me all the time I need. She explains everything fully. I feel I'm in good hands under her care.

February 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Barnette & staff always make me feel special when I have an appointment. Always included in my treatment plan.

February 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

It was a very good experience & have confidence in *Dr. Barnett's abilities.

February 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Doc Barnett is one fine professional - better know as a keeper! Thank doc!

January 03, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

It's been a pleasure to be *Dr. Barnett's patient.

December 09, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Barnett is an extremely skilled, knowledgeable and intelligent individual who is a very valuable member of your team. Anyone in my position, I would highly recommend *Dr. Barnett as a primary care giver.

November 22, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Barnett gave me her time and attention, even when my questions where remedial. I really appreciated her expertise and manner.

November 21, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I left satisfied that I'd received good care. I was given a flu shot which saved me another visit to a flu clinic. Both dr. & nurse/assistant were caring, pleasant & helpful.

September 27, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I can't thank Dr. Barnett enough for the care that she and her staff have given to me. I feel I'm in the best hands I could ever be in. I feel because of her is why I'm doing as well as I am... thank you do much for all the care that I have received. :-)

September 08, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Burnett is the best doctor I have ever seen.

September 02, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am in very good hands!

August 30, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Barnett is very caring and sensitivity her nurse for day however seemed like he would rather be elsewhere.

August 06, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Barnett was impressive in her thoroughness. She was also very easy to talk to in addition to being professional.

August 03, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great team - thanks!

August 03, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am originally from Minnesota where I attended college and medical school. I come from a very large family and enjoyed growing up in the outdoors, even with all the snow and mosquitos. When it came time to select a location for my residency training, my husband and I decided we were done with below-zero temperatures and scraping ice off our cars every morning so we headed out west. We fell in love with the area and have called Portland, Oregon our home since 2006.

About my practice

My practice primarily focuses on blood disorders and blood cancers (leukemias and lymphomas). I enjoy the wide variety of issues my patients present with while being able to focus on some of the most deadly but curable cancers such as acute leukemia. In addition, I have done a lot of research in GI stromal tumors (GISTs) and have many patients with this rare cancer as well. I love working in this field where I have the chance to help my patients through a very stressful time in their lives, but also form lasting relationships with them throughout their treatments and beyond. I have a special desire to ensure that my patients not only get thoughtful, tailored treatment for their disease, but that they are able to focus on quality of life and feel they are being treated as a whole person rather than just a diagnosis.

How I thrive

I love the outdoors! I know that everyone in Portland, Oregon says this and I am no exception. I love to camp, hike, climb, and garden. I spend every minute possible with my friends and family. My young son takes up most of that time. My husband and I love food and we seem to be eating our way through every great restaurant in Portland. And, in all the spare time I have left, I'm trying to learn to play the banjo.

Medical School ?

University of Minnesota Medical School
Minneapolis

Medical Training ?

Hematology/Medical Oncology
Oregon Health & Science University
Portland OR

Internal Medicine
Oregon Health & Science University
Portland OR

Board Certification ?

Hematology
American Board of Internal Medicine

Medical Oncology
American Board of Internal Medicine

Internal Medicine
American Board of Internal Medicine