Christine S. Chen MD
4.9 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Rockwood Medical Office
19500 SE Stark St.
Portland, OR 97233

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.9
Overall Score
  • 4.2
    Wait Time
  • 4.9
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.9
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.9
    Explanations
  • 4.9
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 51 Ratings
  • 13 Comments

Dr. Chen is amazing. She is warm, friendly, encouraging, understanding and incredibly knowledgeable. By far the BEST PEDIATRICIAN we have ever had at Kaiser, and we have had several.

April 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great provider.

January 12, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Friendly nurse and provider keep up the good work.

January 05, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

We really appreciate *Dr. Chen's advice and efficiency.

November 27, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I love *Dr. Chen and her staff, as does the rest of my family. She has always made time for us, and always takes or needs into consideration.

November 09, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

We love *Dr. Chen! Every time we have gone to her for care for our children, she has been caring and professional.

November 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Chen has always been awesome!!

October 24, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Chen was amazing! My daughter loved her I loved her and we are so excited to have her as our care provider now.

February 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

very thorough, pleasant and professional

December 23, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Chen is the best doc ever. My daughter is 14 and only wants to see her so we make the drive. Sweetest, kindest, caring person who really cares.

December 03, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Chen always provide great services and pay attention to our concerns, always give great advices and we have confidence on her. Thank you!

November 23, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

We love dr chen!

November 08, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

WE LOVE *Dr. Chen!! She has seen my boys since they were burn - Over 9 years!! She has been genuine and extremely caring - I trust her completely!! My boys have a hard time seeing anyone else. #*Dr. Chen rocks.

October 29, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My parents emigrated from Taiwan to Mississippi, where I was born. I was raised in Houston, TX and received my undergraduate degree in biochemistry at Rice University in 1995. After graduation, I joined Teach for America, where I taught middle school science in an underserved community. Combining my interest in medicine and love of working with children, I pursued a medical degree at the University of Texas Health Sciences Center at San Antonio, followed by pediatric residency training at Oregon Health and Science University. After graduating in 2004, I joined Kaiser Permanente Northwest, where I continue to build strong relationships with my patients and their families.

About my practice

My philosophy is partnering with parents in caring for their children's physical and emotional growth and providing guidance as they mature from infants to adolescents. I am dedicated to providing quality healthcare with compassion, understanding, and professionalism. I feel fortunate to work with outstanding colleagues at Kaiser Permanente and am proud of the continuity of care that we provide. At the Rockwood Medical Office, I take great pleasure in working with a diverse group of patients from many different backgrounds. I am also one of the hospitalists for our Kaiser Permanente pediatric patients. The opportunity to work in both the outpatient and inpatient setting has been very educational and rewarding.

How I thrive

I thrive by staying active both physically and mentally. My husband is an artist and we love taking in the vibrant, creative art scene in Portland. We enjoy hiking in Forest Park and the Columbia River Gorge with Henri, our five year old German Shepherd mix. My other interests include running, cooking, gardening, the performing arts, and learning about other cultures through international travel. I also volunteer with local Teach for America alumni in a continued mission to provide equal educational opportunities for all children.

Medical School ?

University of Texas Medical School at San Antonio
San Antonio

Medical Training ?

Pediatrics
Oregon Health & Science University
Portland OR

Board Certification ?

Pediatrics
American Board of Pediatrics