Christopher J. Moran MD
4.7 / 5
(503)813-2000
Sunnybrook Medical Offices
9900 SE Sunnyside Rd.
Clackamas, OR 97015

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.7
Overall Score
  • 4.5
    Wait Time
  • 4.7
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.7
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.7
    Explanations
  • 4.8
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 98 Ratings
  • 29 Comments

I felt the doctor was concerned, and truly understood me. Thank you.

June 28, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Moran was wonderful, professional and kind. I would highly recommend him to others. *Dr. Moran has excellent communication skills and bedside manner. Great doctor!

June 15, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I think he was trying, but we really aren't on the same page. Our conversation felt condescending. I wish he could put himself in my shoes a little more.

May 29, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Moran is very professional, kind, and was able to answer all my questions. I'm in excellent hands through this cancer journey with *Dr. Moran.

April 19, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I couldn't say enough good things about *Dr. Moran's skills and professionalism. From the beginning of my care, operation and follow up. All of his staff and care givers during and after surgery were A+. Made my recovery so much quicker. Thanks.

January 23, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Moran is very professional and kind. He takes time to listen and answer every questions. He responds fast to email. I would go back to him anytime for my needs.

November 27, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Moran clearly explained my treatment options and the probable outcome.

November 14, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Moran is a great doctor and a VERY competent surgeon. Always nice. Answers questions in a way that non-doctors can understand. Although I hope I never need his surgical skills again, as that would mean I have cancer (again), I would not hesitate to have him do the operation and would recommend him to family or friends.

October 27, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Over the years I have been with Kaiser, I have had many doctors, all of them were great, but *Dr. Moran stands out above all the doctors I have been seen by. He is very kind gives me great advice in caring for my health.

October 03, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I always feel honored and respected when I visit this dr. & his staff. I feel I'm heard and the time spent with me never feels rushed!

September 19, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent compassionate care with excellent communication by *Dr. Moran & staff. I am privilege to be in their care.

August 03, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I feel good about KP and *Dr. C. Moran. Patient with all of my questions.

June 16, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Moran saved my life. He is an amazing doctor and always takes great interest in his patients. I understand everything he tells me about my health, he answers my questions, and I don't feel he is ever bothered by my questions.

March 13, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent care by *Dr. Moran & MA, RN.

January 19, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Moran is the BEST!!

January 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Always a pleasure to see *Dr. Moran. Very caring and willing to listen to my concerns I have and answers all my questions.

January 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Moran has been my doctor for many years. He is a great surgeon. I am honored to have him as my surgeon doctor.

September 16, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Time, professionalism, competence - all good! I left feeling well cared for, informed and glad to have Kaiser Permanente providing for my needs. I feel that *Dr. Moran is a friend! [name]

September 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Moran was specific and thorough and I appreciated the time he took with me.

September 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My visit with *Dr. Moran was great. He showed clear concern, answered questions thoroughly, and went over many options so I could make the best decision for myself.

June 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Moran is great, really personable, attentive and caring. He really listens and takes consideration to pt.'s concerns; I feel like a real patient not just a set of symptoms and concerns. He respects your opinion and gives you his professional one with pros and cons. Thanks *Dr. Moran.

May 23, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Follow up visit - very good staff & *Dr. Moran does a great job - will be having several more follow-up visits for my 'condition' & feel confident under his care.

May 23, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Moran & nurse [name] are super people. They are my heroes. Kaiser should be very proud to be associated with these wonderful, caring people (professionals). [name]

March 17, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Moran is an exceptional doctor. I feel his knowledge and skills saved my life. Kaiser is very lucky to have him on their staff.

February 25, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

All good!

February 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Moran was amazing! I feel so much better after my surgery thank you! Thank you so much!

December 07, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Moran and his staff are a tremendous asset to the community & Kaiser. Lucky to have such amazing care givers.

November 19, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Moran & staff are simply the best.

August 28, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Christopher Moran is an excellent surgeon.

August 11, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am originally from the Chicago, IL area and completed my college, medical school, and residency training in the Chicago, IL and Detroit, MI areas. After residency, I started practice as a general surgeon in a rural setting in northern Illinois. Over time, and after completing more than 5,000 cases in training and practice, I realized my true interest was surgical treatment of patients with cancer. I left my practice in Illinois to complete a surgical oncology fellowship. After the two year fellowship, my family and I moved to the Portland, OR area.

About my practice

My practice philosophy is to offer the highest level of care to my patients. My interests in surgical oncology include melanoma, sarcoma and soft tissue tumors, breast cancer, stomach cancer, and pancreatic cancer and other gastrointestinal malignancies. As the surgical oncologist of our region, I am afforded the honor of caring for many different types of cancer and many patients. Outside of my responsibilities in the operating room and clinic, I teach surgical residents at Oregon Health and Science University. I also participate in several cancer task forces dedicated to improvement of cancer care across the region and I am the acting physician lead of the Breast Cancer task force. Working at Kaiser Permanente allows me to offer superlative patient care as part of a multi-disciplinary team, including access to research protocols. I appreciate the opportunity to follow patients' long term to understand both the short- and long-term impact of treatment on patients and their families.

How I thrive

When not at work, I enjoy being with my family hiking, biking, and gardening. We also enjoy the food scene here in Portland which is second to none! I play drums in both live and studio projects. Having played drums most of my life, playing varied styles of music with many different musicians, has made for a most fulfilling hobby.

Medical School ?

Loyola University of Chicago, Stritch School of Medicine
Maywood

Medical Training ?

Surgical Oncology
John Wayne Cancer Institute
Santa Monica CA

General Surgery
William Beaumont Hospital
Royal Oak MI

Board Certification ?

Surgery
American Board of Surgery