Christopher J. Schmitt MD
4.6 / 5
(503) 813-2000
West Salem Medical Office
1160 Wallace Road NW
Salem, OR 97304

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.6
Overall Score
  • 4.6
    Wait Time
  • 4.6
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.6
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.6
    Explanations
  • 4.6
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 223 Ratings
  • 35 Comments

Dr. Schmitt demonstrated superior professionalism and courtesy.

July 16, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good "bedside manner"

July 12, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Schmitt (*Christopher) very kind understanding - very honest, friendly -

June 25, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The doctor is very nice.

April 24, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

very good

April 20, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I find Dr. Schmitt to be thorough and reassuring. Good at answering my questions.

April 03, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

very good

March 05, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Staff and physician are extremely friendly. There very understand. Great job everyone.

March 02, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He was great

February 06, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I really liked Dr Schmitt and thought he was great at giving information! He also took information I gave him and put it to use!

February 05, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am very pleased to have Dr Schmidt as my physician

January 23, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Schmidtt always tries to go above and beyond.

October 10, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

very nice ,calm and easy to talk to.

September 19, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

very responsive and thorough and knowledgeable and kind and professional

May 12, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Schmitt is the best doctor I have ever visited, and I've visited quite a few.

May 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Schmitt is everything a good primary doctor should be. He listens, asks appropriate questions, and his experience and demeanor help develop a patient's confidence and comfort level.

April 10, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

doctor lectured did not do much else.

April 07, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

amazing Dr

February 03, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Schmitt listens and responds to concerns. I left the office reassured with orders for follow up testing.

January 30, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was the first time with Dr. Schmidt and I am glad that I have him as my doctor. I really feel comfortable with him and his knowledge of questions I ask is above and beyond what I expected.

January 19, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good

December 19, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Schmitt discussed with me all my concerns to my satisfaction.

December 16, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

very pleasant experience

October 13, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My first visit to this doctor. I am positively impressed. I think he is probably as good as my retireing doctor said he is.

September 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

All Good

August 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Schmitt was wonderful. He answered all my questions, & brought up things I didn't think of. Just great!

July 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My initial visit with *Dr. Schmitt - very positively impressed. Pleasant demeanor, listened to my concerns, addressed my issues and attended to my needs. Am pleased he will be my new primary physician.

May 23, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

great Dr good experience

April 21, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

First visit with *Dr. Schmitt. I like him.

March 31, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr wasn't very friendly, I didn't feel comfortable going in depth with him about my needs or past. Although I do trust him regardless.

March 31, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Was my first visit as Dr [name] retired. I plan on remaining with Dr Schmitt as I liked him :-)

March 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Not bad just not concerned no directions, I hadvtovadk how many days off I need hevwalked out not telling me that. // The new doctor he seemed uncomfortable which made me uncomfortable. Descend doctor but he's award to be around.His bed side manner not there yet.thanks [name]

February 16, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

First meeting with provider

February 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

With my condition it seemed that it was a non issue FOR HIM. I wasn't certain if it wasn't serious or he wasn't taking it serious

January 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was my first visit with *Dr. Schmitt. He was efficient and cared about my health and maintenance of it.

December 31, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have been practicing as a family physician for 36 years. I moved to Oregon from Tacoma, Washington, in 2015. I enjoy getting to know members and helping them with their health-care needs and consider it a privilege to be a partner in this relationship.

About my practice

I offer a broad range of family medicine services, but at this stage of my career I am mostly interested in adult medicine. What I like best about being a Kaiser Permanente provider is the overall model of coordinated care that we offer.

How I thrive

We live close to the ocean, and I love taking walks with my wife on the beach. I also enjoy traveling, reading, watching movies, and eating out.

Medical School ?

Saint Louis University School of Medicine
Saint Louis

Medical Training ?

Family Medicine
Louisiana State University
New Orleans LA

Board Certification ?

Family Medicine
American Board of Family Medicine