Christopher P. Matthews DO
(503) 813-2000
Interstate Medical Office West
3325 North Interstate Ave.
Portland, OR 97227

Contact my office

Rating Details Details

No reviews available. ?

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 0 Ratings
  • 16 Comments

This visit was an introduction to *Dr. C. Matthews DO before the appt. I researched his Hx & liked what I read about *Chris Matthews. upon introduction & our conversation I immediately felt confidence that he will show understanding & compassion. I look forward to developing a trusting relationship w/ *Chris Matthews DO.

February 22, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This is my first visit to *Dr. Matthews. He seems to understand the pain I am in & made 2 referrals.

July 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have just had Dr. Matthews for about a year. I'm a non judgmental patient but Dr. Matthews out shines all of my past doctors over the last few years. I feel he could add yrs to my life.

December 31, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Matthews is very easy to talk with, and to discuss health options with.

December 17, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My doctor is great // I have complete confidence in his care.

December 01, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Matthews, always takes his time to make sure we understand his diagnosis, Very caring. Remembers us whenever he sees us. Familiar with our history.

November 06, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Matthews is great. I enjoy being able to talk with him and he is very helpful and understanding about my concerns.

October 23, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Matthews is extremely patient attentive and responsive to all my needs -his thoroughness is appreciated // Again Dr. Mathews listens and seeks out info- very pleased with his attentiveness to my care

October 01, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

good

September 25, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Matthews is the BEST! He is a very special person.

September 08, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

very unprofessional provider, very little time with patient. My A1c is elevated to 6.6 , but I have not get any advice or a phone call from him. It seems to me he does not care about his patient. I want to have an other provider

August 26, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Good experience. Good nurse, good doctor.

August 26, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Matthews’ communication is very positive. I feel that he is concerned with health/well-being at a high level.

August 25, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Matthews does an excellent job of listening and communicating with me. I feel comfortable discussing issues with him and know that he is genuinely concerned about my health and well being. He is respectful and does not have a condescending attitude that I have experienced with other KP practitioners.

August 20, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Possible side affects of Simvastin should of been identified.

August 07, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

For a yearly exam I feel like we were going at warp speed. I left without an answer to one of my issues and now have to go back in. I brought my issue up but we went on to something else. Physician is excellent in addressing anything I email to him.

August 06, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I grew up in Sacramento, California then ventured to Southern California and earned an undergraduate degree in Psychology at California State University Long Beach. After a Post-Baccalaureate Premedical Program at Duquesne University in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, I attended Lake Erie College of Osteopathic Medicine where I enjoyed my time in Northern Pennsylvania but desired to be closer to family and subsequently made my way back to the West Coast. Serving as Chief Resident, I completed my Family Medicine Residency Program at Downey Regional Medical Center in Downey, California in Los Angeles County. Prior to relocating to Portland, Oregon, I owned and operated my own private family practice with my wife in San Diego, California. I joined Kaiser Permanente in early 2012 because I felt then, and continue to believe, that we provide the best medical care in the Northwest. Being the family doctor provides the opportunity to help prevent disease through educating patients about healthy lifestyle choices and how best to manage illness.

About my practice

I value a strong physician-patient relationship and like to partner with my patients. Together, we review health concerns and options, and then move forward with a game plan that is best suited for that unique individual. I believe this approach yields better results than simply providing my medical advice. Taking the time to listen to a patient's concerns, and treating them with respect, is also an important aspect of practicing medicine. I feel fortunate to work in the Murray Hill Medical Office in Beaverton with my fellow colleagues who share a passion for medicine, are compassionate, and comprise a medical team who are available to their patients.

How I thrive

My wife and I share a deep appreciation for the outdoors and the tremendous year-round opportunities here in Oregon. In our spare time, we enjoy kayaking on the Willamette River and enjoying this city's rich art and eclectic music community.

Medical School ?

Lake Erie College of Osteopathic Medicine
Erie

Medical Training ?

Family Practice
Downey Regional Medical Center
Downey CA

Board Certification ?

Family Medicine
American Osteopathic Board of Family Physicians