Claudia D. Ostermeyer MD
4.7 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Interstate Medical Office East
3550 North Interstate Ave.
Portland, OR 97227

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.7
Overall Score
  • 4.3
    Wait Time
  • 4.7
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.7
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.7
    Explanations
  • 4.7
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 215 Ratings
  • 69 Comments

The doctor sent me a message after the appt. which was very reassuring.

June 29, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I wish I could have Dr. Ostermeyer as my primary physician. She has a very positive attitude, answered all of my questions and overall, my daughter, who accompanied me, and I, would have loved to be her patients.

June 15, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Ostermeyer is fantastic. I would have her as my PCP if I needed to change.

May 30, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I especially liked the professional yet friendly approach of *Dr. Ostermeyer. She was very approachable and I had complete confidence in her analysis and recommendation for my health concerns.

April 25, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Was Ostermeyer was very pleasant.

April 18, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Exceptionally good experience.

March 22, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Ostermeyer let me know that she had reviewed my chart in the morning of my same day appointment. I felt she was concerned about having the full picture and doing the right thing for me.

March 14, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Quickly helped me w/my concern. Thank you *Dr. Ostermeyer!

March 02, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Ostermeyer was exceptional! I would recommend her to anyone, especially WOMEN.

March 01, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I would strongly recommend Dr. Ostermeyer. She was kind, attentive and helpful.

February 15, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My nurse and Dr were wonderful and very informative.

January 26, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. went above and beyond in explaining and empathizing.

January 18, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Thank you for such good care. I appreciate your frank conversation concerning my situation. Although we have differing opinions and philosophies concerning a range of medical issues and approaches to take, *Claudia does not take a "doctor knows best" attitude and guides my care with an open approach.

January 05, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Ostermeyer was wonderful and courteous. I actually asked if she could be my PCP!

January 03, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

very kind

December 12, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Doctor O. was very helpful and informative, and followed up with a call about test results and recommendations the same day as my appointment, which was much appreciated.

October 09, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Ostermeyer has an outstanding bedside manner - shows concern and care. Provides needed feedback about areas where questions or concerns are involved - has an ongoing concern with resolution of the medical issues and health of her patients. Does due diligence when additional information comes to light even after patient visit. Everyone needs a doctor like her.

September 29, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have seen *Dr. Ostemeyer several times and continue to feel she is an exceptional provider. I would select her as my primary care provider if able, as she is incredibly attentive and responsive and very competent.

September 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Ostenmeyer seems very competent and is friendly. She respond quickly to an email I sent her about pain management and F/U with test results.

July 12, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent experience.

July 05, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I felt so much better when I left she addressed my fears and provided concrete explaination I know when to seek care in future thank you so much

July 05, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Polite. Professional. Precise.

June 23, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Ostermeyer and her nurse were very friendly and professional during the visit and put me right at ease!! Thanks very much!!!

June 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Ostermeyer was amazing!

June 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I had a fantastic experience with this doctor - the best I have had with Kaiser. I would go back to her in a heartbeat.

May 05, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Ostermeyer was fantastic! She made me feel at ease, was caring, and had a very practical approach that made everything easy to follow and left me with a much better understanding of what I was experiencing.

May 04, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Claudia was great. Did not feel rushed & *Dr. Claudia answered all my questions. Thanks.

May 04, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

She was amazing!! You should definitely give her a raise.

April 20, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Claudia was wonderful. Very friendly and kind. I really enjoyed my visit with her.

February 10, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Ostermeyer was terrific. She was so friendly and supportive and patient & knowledgeable. My partner, who was with me, is thinking of switching to *Dr. Ostermeyer as her primary care doc. we were both impressed & grateful.

December 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Ostermeyer was really great! A+!

December 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

She was awesome!

November 09, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Ostermeyer is a wonderful caring doctor!

October 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The doctor that I saw made me feel comfortable and like I was in good hands.

October 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Ostermeyer's care was excellent, especially considering this was a first visit.

October 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good.

October 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent service! by *Dr. Claudia Ostermeyer, MD.

October 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Ostermeyer is wonderful. she spent time with me, is smart, and is kind. Great provider

September 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Claudia was just the nicest person. I have seen her before even though she is not my primary care physician and she remembered all about me, that shows dedication to your patients!

September 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have seen her now about three times and she is excellent. Recalls and asks how previous medical issues are and if they resolved.

August 23, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I love Dr. O! I wish she was my PCP

August 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I thought *Dr. Ostermeyer was very personable and straight forward. I was seen examined and on my way in a timely manner. Great visit; I would highly recommend her to family and friends seeking care at Kaiser.

August 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Ostemyer was very kind. I hate going to the doctors, but her presence very calming.

June 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Extraordinary sensitivity and professionalism and, at the same, warm and welcoming! Truly an extraordinary primary care physician!

May 20, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Ostermeyer is not my usual doctor, but she was so helpful, friendly, and reassuring that I would recommend her to any of my friends without hesitation! I had to bring my two-year-old to my appointment and both *Dr. Ostermeyer and her assistant were extremely helpful in calming & reassuring my daughter (who burst into tears as soon as we entered the exam room because she thought SHE was getting a shot!).

April 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

She had a good bedside manner. She asked questions to help determine her diagnosis.

April 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Ostermeier was amazing. From the moment she came in I really felt like she cared and was searching for answers. I cannot remember the last time I felt such care from my provider. Her follow-up was thorough

March 16, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good care.

March 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Ostermeyer was very concerning of the problem. She also took the time to explain things I did not understand. If she was accepting new patients, I would choose her to be my primary provider.

February 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

felt as if the provider absorbed a lot of different things, explained her thoughts and quickly set up an aggressive approach. felt totally comfortable with her expertise and decision making. not knowing what to expect, an excellent experience; time well spent for once.

February 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr.'s [name] & *Ostermeyer are the very best.

January 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Ostermeyer is a very sensitive and caring MD who stays with initial F/U as needed - specifically x-ray!! *Dr. Ostermeyer and her staff have been incredibly responsive. This is the second time I have seen her for an injury when my primary care doctor was fully scheduled.

January 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Loved *Dr. O wish I could have her as primary!

January 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I like my doc just fine, but if I needed to change, I would look for Dr. Ostermeyer.

December 24, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was the first time I met Dr. Ostermeyer. She was great. Professional, personable, thorough. I was very pleased with the care I received.

December 23, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Ostermeyer was very helpful. She took the time to listen and provided me with a reasonable amount of information about the issue and steps that were to be taken. She was very thorough and reassuring.

December 21, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

New provider for me and very good

November 11, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was nothing more than a number to her.

November 10, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

the most charming doctor I ever met

November 03, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Ostermeyer was both thoughtful & engaging. She listened well & helped address my concerns while allaying fears.

October 29, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

appreciated email from Provider re a delay after my appointment

October 21, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I had a rare situation and Dr Ostermeyer handled it with great expertise and care. She was thoughtful, funny, knowledgable, and showed concern for my needs. I would be happy to see her any time. // Thank you to [name] and Dr Ostermeyer for making me feel at ease and the great care given!

October 15, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This care provider was excellent. // The doctor was outstanding. Thorough with a great bedside manner.

October 07, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I personally think *Dr. Ostermeyer is an amazing doctor. If there is any way that I can request to have her was my regular physician - I would be very happy.

October 01, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I really liked the Doctor and am considering making her my PCP.

September 23, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Ostermeyer was the only positive note in an otherwise long, arduous, painful day. Her bedside manner and the way she handled my treatment was absolutely perfect. I'm incredibly grateful for the empathy she showed for my situation, as well as the follow up emails we exchanged over the days following my appointment.

September 09, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

within kaiser and outside of the network, she is hands down the best doctor I've ever had

August 21, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I haven't been treated that badly by a doctor in over 20 years. She completely disregarded how I was felling, because all the tests were good. I wasted $70 just to have yet another doctor basically tell me its in my head. It Isn't!!!!

August 07, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

dr ostermeyer is fabulous. she is genuine, caring, informative, friendly and professional. I'm thinking of checking to see if she is accepting new patients

August 05, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I grew up in Johannesburg, South Africa where I attended medical school and completed an internship followed by residency at St. Vincent Hospital in Portland, Oregon. My English husband and I were drawn to the Pacific Northwest by its spectacular scenery. I have two children who have grown up in Portland.

About my practice

I love medicine because it is so multi-faceted. Rigorously applying evidence-based scientific principles to solve complex problems, while appreciating that every patient is a unique individual, is endlessly interesting. I believe it is my duty to clearly present the best science to my patient and then work with them respectfully to come up with a solution or a plan. I learn a lot from my patients and enjoy working with them.

How I thrive

Our family enjoys reading, running, hiking with our golden retriever, and travelling.

Medical School ?

University of the Witwatersrand Medical School
Johannesburg
South Africa

Medical Training ?

Internal Medicine
St. Vincent Hospital and Medical Center
Portland OR

Internal Medicine
Baragwanath Hospital
Johannesburg South Africa

Board Certification ?

Internal Medicine
American Board of Internal Medicine