Cody J. Benthin MD
4.7 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Kaiser Sunnyside Medical Center
10180 SE Sunnyside Road
Clackamas, OR 97015

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.7
Overall Score
  • 4.6
    Wait Time
  • 4.7
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.6
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.7
    Explanations
  • 4.7
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 87 Ratings
  • 10 Comments

Very nice dr. & staff.

May 01, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good. Very happy.

January 16, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I felt listened to, respected and supported.

November 22, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Benthin's communication is minimal. Not real forth coming unless asked specific question, even then it was somewhat awkward.

November 16, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent!!!

November 14, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was my first visit with *Dr. Benthin. He was very professional, thorough and kind. I feel confident that if future pulmonary problems arise. I will be well taken care of.

September 26, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. was great, he was concerned about my issue, took all the time I needed to ask questions.

July 26, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Benthin ordered x-rays in case I did not get better in a few days. I felt he trusted me and valued my ability to follow the plan. I have been sick for 4 months and *Dr. Benthin is sincere, kind, listens, questions and cares. Thank you.

June 21, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I thought *Dr. Benthin was very nice and informative.

June 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Benthin was an excellent listener and that gave me the confidence that he was going to give me that time needed to answer all my questions and he did! He even showed me the computer screen and the _____ of my lungs. It was - very informative and impressive to know more about my health. I thank you all for your efficiency.

March 08, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am a native of the Willamette Valley, having grown up in the small town of Colton. Since I was young I wanted to be a doctor. While completing my undergraduate education at the University of Portland, I spent a year studying in Salzburg, Austria. This formative experience gave me an appreciation of history, art, and music, as well as the differences and similarities among people. I attended medical school at Georgetown University, in Washington, D.C., where I developed a passion for respiratory physiology and the care of critically ill patients. I stayed in Washington to complete my internal medicine residency at George Washington University, then served four years of active duty in the United States Air Force. My experiences practicing medicine during deployments to Haiti and the Middle East solidified my desire to pursue a career in pulmonary and critical care medicine. After my service in the military, I returned home, where I completed my fellowship at Oregon Health & Science University. My wife is also a NW Permanente physician.

About my practice

I am one of many pulmonary and critical care physicians at NW Permanente, and together we are dedicated to providing high-quality care to our members. I approach each member with individualized attention to their specific needs and respect for their unique circumstances and concerns. In my general pulmonary practice I care for members who have a range of respiratory disease and dysfunction and employ the advanced bronchoscopic techniques of endobronchial ultrasound and navigational bronchoscopy. I provide critical care at Kaiser Permanente Sunnyside Medical Center, where we deliver a team-based approach to members with a broad array of disorders involving organ dysfunction and failure.

How I thrive

Family is very important to me and is the reason I call the Willamette Valley home. My young family is happy to be close to our extended relatives. Growing up in the foothills of the Cascades, I developed a keen appreciation for the outdoors. I am an avid hiker, camper, skier, and mountain biker. These are all activities I enjoy with family and friends. It is the stillness of the forest, the push to reach the next vista, and the thrill of speeding down a mountain that drives me. Exercise is a stress reliever for me, especially running, although I must be honest that I prefer the heat and sun to our sometimes rainy Northwest days. I enjoy traveling and engaging in new experiences.

Medical School ?

Georgetown University School of Medicine
Washington

Medical Training ?

Pulmonary Disease and Critical Care Medicine
Oregon Health & Science University
Portland OR

Internal Medicine
George Washington University
Washington DC

Board Certification ?

Pulmonary Disease
American Board of Internal Medicine

Internal Medicine
American Board of Internal Medicine

Critical Care Medicine
American Board of Internal Medicine