Colin R. Cave MD
4.9 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Westside Medical Office
2875 NW Stucki Ave
Hillsboro, OR 97124

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.9
Overall Score
  • 4.7
    Wait Time
  • 4.9
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.9
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.9
    Explanations
  • 4.8
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 221 Ratings
  • 52 Comments

Dr. Cave is an exceptional provider. I have complete trust in him and his treatment approach.

March 20, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

How could one have a "bad experience" with *Dr. Cane? He's a very kind & caring doctor.

March 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Cave is an excellent member of your organization & I've known him for quite a few years now.

February 26, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I could not have been more pleased with Dr. Cave. Dr. Cave's experience was exhibited by the ease of the examination with the scope and his understanding of my problem and his recommendation for follow-up labs, tests, and medication. Dr. Cave gave clear explanations. Dr. Cave asked me to update him on how I was doing in two weeks. It was also evident that Dr. Cave listened because as he left the room he wished me the best with my Mother's illness. That meant a lot. I was amazed to receive an e-mail from Dr. Cave asking me how I was doing. I have been telling everyone about the wonderful care I received.

February 16, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Cave is both compassionate and caring. he used layman's terms. He is wonderful.

February 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have seen *Dr. Cave for many years on this same ear. He is excellent caring and gentle. Hope he never retires.

February 05, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I would highly recommend Dr. Cave to anyone. He is THE BEST in all ways.

January 24, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Cave and his nurse treated me very well. They listened to my description of my problem, treated it in their usual fine fashion. They were friendly and comfortable in treating my medical problem. They explained everything to me during the visit. They explained both verbally and in print what follow-up procedures I needed to take for maintaining my health.

January 19, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I thought Dr. Cave was a very competent professional. I am very happy that I had him as my doctor and now that I know him I will request him on all future surgeries.

December 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very impressed with *Dr. Cave!! I have ongoing health issue - he was very knowledgeable, answered questions well. Highly recommend him!

December 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good doc. Probably the best I have every had. Can't say good enough things about him excellent. [name]

December 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Cave did a great job

November 30, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

You don't have enough room for me to write all the wonderful things about *Dr. Cave & his staff. They are kind & caring people & it comes across to me as a patient & I feel very lucky to have him as my doctor!

November 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

We appreciate *Dr. Cave's exceptional surgical skill, flexibility, kindness & care for our family's needs.

November 09, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Cave removed a benign tumor on my [body part] & he was so quick & calm that I didn't even have time to be nervous! The area also healed perfectly, with zero evidence that here was ever wrong! Excellent bedside manner & demeanor. Wonderful doctor! I am extremely grateful for his skill.

November 09, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Cave treated my daughter with respect, not talking down to her but making sure to get info from me (mom) also. She panicked about the idea of surgery and about the nasal spray. He sprayed the air and then the liquid on her hand, but when she was still scared, he backed off gently and gave me options verbally. Really handled her well!

November 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The staff and Dr Colin were wonderful; they exceeded all my expectations for a first office visit with a specialist at KP. Throughout the visit I was treated with kindness, courtesy and most of my questions were answered in that first visit. I had a small procedure performed, treatments were given and a plan for further care was made. I was very impressed!

November 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Cave is pleasant and capable.

October 26, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent care!

October 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Cave was excellent! First time meeting him. He explained my [condition] so clearly. He was very compassionate and listened to my fears and concerns. Definitely like him.

October 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was my first appt. with *Dr. Cave. I was very impressed! I felt I was really heard, and he formulated a plan of action based on my symptoms and concerns. Excellent doctor. Very empathetic, kind, and I feel my health care is in good hands.

September 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Wish all my doctors wee as attentive as *Dr. Cave.

August 25, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Cave has always treated me as an equal when he treats me. He asks me what the problems are, what I would like him to do and quickly and efficiently treats the condition. He is kind, careful, and always very concerned how I am doing during the treatment. He asks me if I have any questions during and after the treatment. He makes me feel relaxed while he is taking care of my condition. He gives me follow-up instructions on what to do to help cure and fix the condition.

August 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Cave is an excellent physician.

August 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Cave did an excellent job in helping my young son understand what was going to happen in his visits and was very caring. interacted well with my child and answered all our questions and concerns

July 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Cave is easy to talk to, kind, skilled and I trust his care. I came to him 6 months ago (1st time) in pain. he quickly resolved the problem, helped me understand what happened and planned follow up. I'm thankful he's my doctor.

June 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I had an exceptional experience with this physician; I felt like he was concerned about my health and engaged with me as a person. He understood my medical situation and what it meant to me personally. While I suspect that ultimately I will be told that there is nothing that can be done, he relieved my anxiety when he adamantly explained to me that I could not have changed the outcome. Dr. Cave has ordered tests to be conducted in order to ascertain that there are no underlying causes, grave or otherwise. I very definitely feel that Dr. Cave has my best interests and health in mind. I have told my husband and friends, who have been concerned for me, that I feel it was a productive visit with a physician who cares.

June 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good.

June 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Cave is an excellent doctor and so is the staff.

May 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I had a very good visit with *Dr. Cave. Have told all of my friends.. - very professional.

May 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Cave knows his patients, remembers personal details and comments.

May 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

We felt like he took our concerns and challenges seriously. It made the experience better and encouraged us as parents to the patient.

April 26, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I would HIGHLY recommend *Dr. Cave! Very respectful and professional and clearly laid out all options and made me feel like we were a team in my daughter's care.

April 26, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

great doc spent time no sense of rush explained things as went along

April 19, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Cave took extra effort to address other concerns. // Dr. Cave is great!!

April 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. seemed in a big hurry - spent not more than 5 minutes with me - Too busy to spend time.

April 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Cave LISTENED to me, asked appropriate follow-up questions and was able to explain that my concern is valid and the steps that need to be taken to address it. He also noted if these steps do not work, we go to Plan 2. Very reassuring. I appreciated his calm demeanor, attention to my concerns and his thorough explanation of my condition.

March 30, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent service.

March 03, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

A very good experience. He is a very good doctor & cares about his patients.

February 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Cave is, without a doubt, a stellar physician. He is not only knowledgeable and skilled, but he is par excellence in patient interaction and communication.

February 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Have been seeing Dr. Cave on a regular basis for several years. He is kind, caring, and interested in the person, not just the patient. Always asks about our great-grandchildren, for instance.

February 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Colin Cave, is a excellent doctor!

November 22, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Cave is a very kind & caring dr. - Am extremely glad I finally found a dr. to take care of my ear problem - I appreciate all of his kindness & helpfulness

November 18, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Cave is an outstanding clinician, knowledgeable, compassionate, positive, and the added plus of an awesome sense of humor.

November 18, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Cave is so caring & genuinely concerned about my issues. Does an amazing job of making sure I agree with procedures & great explanations to make me feel comfortable.

November 03, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

OK: I have been going to ear Doctors from age 9 (52 years) have seen dozens of ear doctors. I had three Doctors that were Great now I have four Doctor Colin R. Cave, MD Ties for number One. // I feel Like Family with the Two Girls & The Doctor. What can I say 'I Love them' Good People.

October 21, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Cave is great I would recommend him any day.

October 08, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Because of *Dr. Colin Cave I have my hearing. he always knows the right treatment for my problem.

September 28, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I cheated and looked up Dr. Cave before my visit. I went in feeling very impressed with his background - strong medical school, undergrad, fellowship, etc. He had also operated on younger brother several years ago and my brother loved him. He was friendly, funny, appropriate, and helpful. I like to think about what is the smartest thing to do as a healthcare consumer (risk of complications, cost, is it even medically necessary, etc.) and he really listened and walked me through my options. I hate getting care I don't need and he made it clear that if the condition worsened, he would have to intervene. I liked that. I'm not the expert, he is. So I like that he was clear. // I'm Muslim and I wear hijab. Providers always ask before examining me which I think shows a good understanding of cultural competency. I think that's so important so I'm always impressed with KP providers, including Dr. Cave.

September 21, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Doctor & staff very friendly and professional. First time visit with this doctor and very pleased, will continue with him.

September 10, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good doctor. To the point, and informative.

August 31, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Cave is very rushed. (On call, he said). Other interruptions (not the doctor's fault).

August 04, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was born in Vancouver, British Columbia, but grew up near San Diego, California. At age 18, I left for the Bay Area to go to college, medical school, and residency. My father was a general surgeon and my mother a nurse, so I suppose you could say that medicine is in my blood. I moved up to Portland right after residency training and have been with Northwest Permanente ever since. I came to Oregon in large part because of the opportunity here to make a difference, and I have been fortunate to be part of some outstanding organizations and to serve as chairman of the board of several of them, including the Oregon Medical Association, Albertina Kerr, and Northwest Permanente itself. That of which I am most proud, however, are my two adult children. They are smart, keep me on my toes, and give me tremendous hope for our future.

About my practice

I am a general otolaryngologist. As such, I treat many conditions of the ears, nose, neck, and throat, both medically and surgically. I treat members of all ages. I believe that my role is to listen, perform a thorough examination, ask clarifying questions, and then work with my patient and their chosen advocates as a team. Often, there are several treatment options to choose from, and I can help members understand these options, including their risks and benefits. My role is never simply to tell someone what to do. I work closely with patients, parents of young patients, and loved ones who have been asked to act as advocates. I am able to take care of most conditions in my specialty. I am fortunate, however, to work at Northwest Permanente, where we have 1,200 physicians to help when asked. It is great to be part of a team that puts our members' needs first. I love working here, and I love what I do.

How I thrive

I don't golf. Really. But my interests seem to change as my family and I continue to grow and learn. Years ago, I coached my daughter's soccer team and shuttled her to the barn to ride her horse, and also was present for my son as he worked towards his 4th Degree Black Belt (Master) in Tae Kwon Do. Now that my kids are young adults I have more time to spend reading (though I'm a slow reader), taking walks with my girlfriend, getting to the gym about five times a week, and enjoying what downtown Portland has to offer in food and entertainment. I'm a bit of a political hack and from time to time have been known to join a political cause. And I'll pretty much try anything once--I have skydived from 13,000 feet, scuba dived to 105 feet, hot-air ballooned, and rafted the Colorado River. Mostly, though, I thrive by keeping things interesting and doing my best to sample what life has to offer.

Medical School ?

University of California, San Francisco School of Medicine
San Francisco

Medical Training ?

Otolaryngology
Stanford University
Stanford CA

Board Certification ?

Otolaryngology
American Board of Otolaryngology