Danita Tom MD
4.8 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Interstate Medical Office Central
3600 North Interstate Ave.
Portland, OR 97227

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.8
Overall Score
  • 4.2
    Wait Time
  • 4.7
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.7
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.8
    Explanations
  • 4.7
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 434 Ratings
  • 73 Comments

Dr. Tom has always been very attentive to questions and concerns.

July 13, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I really like my doctor!

June 20, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I appreciate her clear explanations. She explains why she recommends future tests and appointments.

June 18, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I get excellent care by ophthalmology clinicians & staff - No complaints at all.

May 31, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Tom was very professional, pleasant and informative regarding varying degrees of remedies for my ailment.

May 14, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Tom is always kind and thoughtful. She listens and responds to my questions/concerns about my condition and treatment processes.

May 07, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

dr tom and staff provided exceptional service

May 03, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Tom and staff were very efficient and organized. All went smoothly.

April 30, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Tom and her assistants are the best!

April 26, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Danita Tom provided clear and concise instructions for my eye care after cataract surgery on both eyes. She was courteous, and caring. I highly recommend her and Kaiser clinic.

April 05, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent doctor and surgeon.

April 05, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Tom had a strong medical presence but also caring. I did not enjoy I exams and she made it comfortable for me. I could also tell from the way she was examining me that it was a more thorough review and others I have received from other practitioners outside of Kaiser

March 09, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have one eye left to go through the procedure. Thanks to the doctor and staff, I have no worries.

February 27, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Explanations and treatment discussions were clear, persuasive, and delivered in terms that I could readily understand.

January 29, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Tom is always pleasant and professional. She treats me as a person, not just a collection of symptoms. I really appreciate the information she shares with me about my condition, treatment and progress.

January 08, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Tom is a caring, thoughtful provider who answered my questions and reassured me Re: My procedures. I would gladly see her again with no hesitation!

January 05, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Danita Tom is a competent, delightful charming practitioner.

November 30, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I greatly appreciated the explanations, care and advice provided by *Dr. Danita Tom she was thorough, patient and went through all my issues. I would highly recommend her.

October 27, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Clear, concise, consistent.

October 10, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Tom was exceeding thorough, never rushing, patient, provided detailed and easily understood answers.

September 29, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I had complete confidence in the care I received.

September 14, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Danita Tom is an awesome dr. thank you.

September 08, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Tom was patient and understanding and calm. She explained everything clearly and thoroughly. She sent e-mail notes with visual field test results. We really recommend her!

August 17, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Tom was very courteous and professional. She is easy to talk with and made the visit very comfortable.

August 04, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Best Dr ever.

July 31, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Danita Tom is very sweet, and explain everything very well to me. She is very nice and very professional.

July 28, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Tom is a skilled doctor who communicates well with me. I appreciate her PROFESSIONAL and PERSONAL care and concern for my eyes & my health in general.

July 28, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr very competant and easy to work with

July 13, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Tom is one of the best physicians I have ever had the pleasure of working with. She explains everything clearly, but without condescending or overly simplifying. She ensures that she is able to answer all questions that you may have, and shows genuine concern for any issues. She also is very honest in her assessments and direct in her recommendations (when appropriate).

July 10, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Tom was easy to communicate with and explained things very well.

July 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was very impressed with the care I received before & the day of the cataract surgery. Excellent care!

June 30, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Tom and her staff are the best. I have no concerns about my care from them.

June 29, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Tom is very professional, easy to understand, very thorough. She is great.

June 29, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

this was my first appointment with Dr. Tom to follow-up on a cataract that's developed in my right eye. She was wonderful, easy to talk to and answered all my questions & concerns, earning my trust and confidence.

June 16, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I appreciate Dr. Tom's manner in treating me. She's knowledgeable, reassuring, thoughtful in answering my concerns and treats me as a person, not just a collection of symptoms.

June 12, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I liked *Dr. Tom. She seemed really good and very confident. Both in her ability & a good outcome. I really liked her. Thank her for us. [name]

May 31, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

One of the most effective pre-exam/exam/post-exam presentations I have experienced. Dr. Tom used language that was clear, precise, and consistent with my needs.

May 22, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was my first apt with Dr. Tom, and I was very pleased with the appt. I will be seeing Dr. Tom in the future, and I have already recommended her to my sister.

May 12, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Tom and her entire team were fantastic. Dr. Tom is very warm, takes all questions seriously, answers thoroughly and has a great sense of humor which put us at ease. She was a good problem-solver for me concerning the type of lenses to choose. She gave me confidence in her as a practitioner and made my entire experience as relaxed as possible. I am so grateful that she was my surgeon.

May 11, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

could not be better

May 08, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was very happy with the care I got from *Dr. Tom Danita. She is very good at her medical profession. She is very good, and very professional at her work. Thank you very much.

April 27, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

While I did have a wait a while to be seen (in waiting room and in exam room), I appreciate the time that was taken once Dr. Tom was able to see me. I asked several questions, but she did not appear rushed and took time to make sure I had adequate information. I really enjoyed seeing her.

April 13, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Tom is always responsive to my questions and concerns. She provides information well and and is encouraging about the treatment of my condition.

March 10, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great customer service!!

February 08, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Tom was very thorough in explaining process and acknowledging I previously had procedure. Good explanation of new lens options and difference from [other device] I have in first eye. Was able to say she had no experience with patient with different lens' in each eye and I really appreciate the honesty!

February 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am grateful for such excellent care.

December 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Tom and her assistant, [name] were thoughtful and professional. I appreciated their care and concern in treating my newly diagnosed macular disease - Much appreciated!

November 30, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

She's great.

November 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was very impressed with *Dr. Tom's knowledge & professionals.

October 26, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Tom is very friendly and competent and reassuring.

September 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

she's great, doesn't treat me like an idiot

August 19, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Tom was very thorough and I felt very comfortable in accepting her recommendations.

August 09, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Both eye surgeries went well, thank you Dr.Tom!

July 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Tom was very informative about my condition. She gave me information about possible problems which could occur after surgery and discussed the good post-surgery results which are normally expected.

June 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Tom was excellent. She explained everything to me very well. The procedure was very simple because of her experience.

June 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Tom was especially efficient in explaining what my eye procedure (cataract surgery) would entail and made me feel confident in her. [name]

June 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Tom is wonderful!

May 24, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The visit and Dr. Tom were great.

May 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am consistently impressed and pleased with the care providers and staff, at Kaiser in general, but at *Dr. Tom's practice in particular.

April 25, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Tom & staff are professional & respectful.

April 19, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Tom was great.

April 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent on every level

April 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Tom is an excellent & caring M.D.

March 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

i went in that day concerned and nervous about my vision. The cataract surgery was scary enough and the words 'laser' and 'eyes' just don't go together for me. Dr. Tom confirmed that indeed was the case with me and she could do the laser now if I wanted. She did a great job assuring me every step of the procedure and now my vision is back to perfect!

March 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Danita *Tom is a very good doctor and I know my eye sight will be much better - I am very pleased -

February 24, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

While the doctor was thorough in examining my eye issues and identifying what may be additional problems, I felt that she didn't listen to the issues I'd described having previously to using multiple types of OTC drops for dry eye with no positive result. She did identify the secondary issues I was having after having me wait for an additional 20 minutes.

February 17, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

She is an excellent teacher as well as apparently quite skilled in her practice.

February 03, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

very professional

December 09, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Tom gave excellent care and addressed my concerns.

November 23, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Tom is a very skilled and personable physician. // Dr. Tom was excellent to work with and did a beautiful job treating the cyst on my eyelid.

November 06, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Always a pleasure to see Dr Tom

November 02, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I understood that the Doctor had a patient that she needed to take extra time with, She apologized for the wait. // This was my first visit with her and it was a good experience. I did not express worries but she patiently responded to my questions.

September 15, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Danita Toms was a new Dr. to me . Didn't know what to expect . All my concerns went out the window . This Dr. knew her stuff ! Top notch care , and informative . Best experience ever . // A +++++

September 11, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I grew up in a suburb of Chicago, Illinois and attended Northwestern University. After graduating with an engineering degree, I worked in business as a management consultant before deciding to study medicine at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. During medical school, I volunteered in the Philippines at a free eye clinic. Experiencing the sight-saving and life-changing effects of ophthalmology solidified my specialty choice. I completed my residency at University of California, Irvine and joined Kaiser Permanente in the San Francisco bay area, where I practiced as a comprehensive ophthalmologist for several years before relocating with my family to Portland, Oregon in 2015.

About my practice

As a comprehensive ophthalmologist, I treat a variety of eye diseases such as cataracts, glaucoma, macular degeneration, diabetic retinopathy, and dry eye. I enjoy working at Kaiser Permanente due to our excellent integration of primary care and specialty care. I believe my patients and I are a team, working as partners in their health.

How I thrive

My husband and two kids fill my life with happiness (and chaos at times!). I enjoy hiking, reading, traveling, and discovering new places near home.

Medical School ?

University of Wisconsin Medical School
Madison

Medical Training ?

Ophthalmology
University of California (Irvine)
Orange CA

Board Certification ?

Ophthalmology
American Board of Ophthalmology