Darren J. Young MD
4.7 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Mt. Scott Medical Office
9800 SE Sunnyside Road
Clackamas, OR 97015

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.7
Overall Score
  • 4.5
    Wait Time
  • 4.7
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.7
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.7
    Explanations
  • 4.6
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 190 Ratings
  • 50 Comments

Excellent!!!

May 31, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent care!!

May 25, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I like doctor Young. He's personable, talks to you face-to-face and really tries to answer all of your questions clearly and concisely with language that you understand.

May 25, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am grateful to *Dr. Young for taking me seriously and making a plan for me to follow. Because he set this plan in motion, I discovered I have cancer and am going to start treatment soon, which may not have happened as soon, had *Dr. Young not jumped into action. Thank you so much, *Dr. Young you may have just saved my life!

March 21, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Like the dr. Easy to talk to.

March 14, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I appreciate Dr. Young's counsel. he is knowledgable, responsive, and has a positive demeanor.

February 14, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good experience with *Dr. Young.

January 02, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Young and his nurse always are very attentive and professional. Dr Young is willing to answer any questions I may have and spends as much time as needed to make sure I understand. He is also very prompt (within one day) in responding to emails when I have other questions or concerns later.

January 02, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Young was excellent. This was my first visit with him and I was impressed that he was aware of my situation, had read my "chart" and took excellent care of me.

December 08, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Young and his staff were great, very caring, and listened to my concerns.

December 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Young is excellant

November 21, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I like Dr Young very much. I have confidence in his opinions, as he has been right so many times in the past.

November 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

a Great Doctor

October 16, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Young is a very good, and caring, knowledgeable physician. He listens to my problems and solves my health issues.

October 16, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Darren Young is great!

October 11, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I like having Dr. Young as my physician. He takes time to ask questions and explain tx. He also reads email prior to visit so we don't waste time playing 20 questions.

October 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Young is an excellent physician! In my experience, he has never been wrong on a diagnosis nor a treatment. He is also very personable.

September 22, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Young is very friendly also ask about my family how they are. I can easily contact him thru email & phone.

August 15, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

doc was great.

August 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Young is truly one of the top doctors Kaiser is lucky enough to employ. He acts like a friend to most of his clients. It's a pleasure to go to see him. Hope I'm not bothering him with incidentals though.

July 31, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Young is awesome! Loved this doctor. Very down to earth and easy to get along with.

June 23, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Young and staff Top Service.

June 21, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Young is fabulous. He is energetic and professional. I feel very comfortable having him as my primary care physician.

June 14, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Good, very friendly, easy to talk to.

June 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent, as always!

April 28, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Young is friendly and easy to talk to. Takes time to explain

April 25, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Young is an excellent care provider and very professional. He is very attentive and his follow-up is superb.

April 17, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

good man,good doctor

March 24, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

all he wanted to do was give me prescription drugs and get out of the room. he had terrible "bed side manner" and cared more about getting to his next appointment than listening to what I was saying and treating me appropriately.

March 03, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. young is professional and makes me feel comfortable. He really cares about the whole health of the patient and not just about the reason for the visit. He is always very easy to talk to and goes over everything in detail so I understand. He always addresses my concerns and doesn't make me feel uneasy about not understanding everything or feeling concerned about other issues.

February 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Again, doctor does know me. And he really cares for me. He does care for his patients!!!

January 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Young is a wonderful provider. I feel blessed that I chose him as my provider. In fact, I just gave his name to a friend who was unhappy with her dr.

October 03, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr young is friendly, thorough, thoughtful.

August 17, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Love Dr Young! Genuine concern for his patients, great listener and follow up.

August 17, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

1st visit with *Dr. Young. I was very impressed with his knowledge & professionalism.

August 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Young is always ready to listen to my concern & responds to them.

June 27, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

We really appreciate Dr. Young seeing both my spouse & I together. We can explain our medical concerns and how they affect each of us and our life together.

May 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

attentive. friendly

May 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Young is an excellent doctor. He is very thorough. He explains what he is doing in a procedure. He is very personable as well as professional. As his patient you feel he really does care about the problem you are there for. I would recommend him very highly. He is always very prompt in answering emails directed to him.

April 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Young went above and beyond to assess my condition and make contacts for further treatment. both my husband and I trust him explicitly.

February 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Doctor and X-ray were excellent.

January 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

good experience. very little wait time. doctor was also courteous and professional. dr was thorough and answered all my questions.

December 30, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Young is so friendly, and down to earth. He's professional, but also makes things as light as possible and has a good sense of humor. // Dr. Young is fast to enter, and quick to assess, without seeming rushed or uncaring.

October 28, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Good experience overall. Especially pleased with Dr. Young and his staff. Very professional, knowledgeable, and helpful.

October 26, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

As usual great care!

October 16, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

amazing care!

September 29, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was very pleased with d. Young . He was easy to talk to and gave me clear answers to my questions & concerns. He quickly provided me solutions that are working for a couple of problems I had.

September 18, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Doctor seemed in too much of a hurry - no pleasantries - didn't seem interested complaints I might have had.

September 04, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

great DR

August 24, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was nervous about seeing another doctor as I am used to dealing with Dr. [name]. Dr. Young was excellent and provided a quick solution to my health concern.

August 19, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was born and raised in San Diego. I have always wanted to be a physician, and still cannot imagine doing anything else. I moved to Portland for medical school, attending Oregon Health and Science University, where I met my wife. I attended residency at the University of New Mexico, transferring for my final year to Providence St. Vincent's to be nearer to my wife. We live with our two beloved cats, Duke and Earl.

About my practice

I am an internal medicine physician. I enjoy being able to see patients both in the inpatient and outpatient setting. I particularly enjoy treating the Medicare population, as it is a privilege to give back to those who have already contributed so much to our community.

How I thrive

In my free time, I enjoy being physically and mentally active. In the Northwest, I have the opportunity to take advantage of the wonderful scenery in the city and surrounding areas. I enjoy running, soccer, and tennis. In my downtime, I love cooking for my wife and reading.

Medical School ?

Oregon Health Sciences University School of Medicine
Portland

Medical Training ?

Internal Medicine
Providence Health System/St. Vincent Hospital and Medical Center
Portland OR

Board Certification ?

Internal Medicine
American Board of Internal Medicine