David E. Sax MD
4.7 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Interstate Medical Office East
3550 North Interstate Ave.
Portland, OR 97227

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.7
Overall Score
  • 4.5
    Wait Time
  • 4.7
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.7
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.7
    Explanations
  • 4.6
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 184 Ratings
  • 47 Comments

Dr. Sax and the entire staff respectful and courteous. I could not ask for a better team. Thumbs up great job to all!

July 10, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Sax has a very relaxed and calm "beside manner". Although a different provider was available sooner for my issue, I preferred to wait until *Dr. Sax was available. I greatly appreciate his ability to listen, and especially, to HEAR his patients.

April 10, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Sax is very nice and takes time to listen.

April 10, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Sax is a true partner in my health. I feel lucky to have him as my doctor.

March 19, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. David Sax is very professional and is very empathetic to my health needs. Very good interpersonal relationship with us. My wife and I are verfy satisfied.

February 27, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I had never seen Dr. Sax before and came away happy with his professionalism, his manne, and my outcome.

December 04, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Good I love my doctor

October 24, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent experience as always.

October 24, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr was running late and the exam felt too rushed to the point we did not discuss all my questions fully to my satisfaction. This is the 1st time in all the years I've been seeing him that this occurred.

October 20, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Sax is great - thorough, straightforward, patient, and puts me at ease. Thank you.

October 10, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was a meet and greet. Dr. Sax spent a great deal of time with me. Enjoyed the discussion, very friendly.

September 19, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Sax and his assistant were friendly, helpful & full of humor. They were very nice & gave great service. Plus, *Dr. Sax tells good jokes. [name]

September 12, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

MY DOCTOR IS AN EXCELLENT DOCTOR , AND IS WILLING TO LISTEN AND GIVE ADVICE AS NEEDED, I HOPE I GET TO KEEP HIM FOREVER.

September 11, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Sax is an excellent doctor. He explains everything about my ongoing medical treatment and is always courteous and friendly.

September 07, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Everything was good.

July 18, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr David Sax has no problem getting the information through my thick skull. I've been with him for 10 or more years and the results was always favorable.

May 26, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Super quick - Dr. Sax was very prompt and spent plenty of time with me - very satisfying experience!

May 08, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Sax is wonderful!

May 08, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

care provider had very bad attitude and had no interest in my previous medical information

April 28, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Sax is perhaps the best MD I have had in the Kaiser system.

April 24, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

one of the best provider I've ever had.Excellent!!!!Thank you Dr. Sax

March 03, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Sax is always friendly and answers any ?? have.

March 03, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have always had good care under Dr.Sax. He has always been honest and strait with us.

February 28, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My doctor gives me all the time I need to be treated.

October 25, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I find Dr. Sax to be sympathetic and informative. My sinus condition has been very difficult to deal with, and he has tried his best.

October 21, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I feel really lucky to have Dr. Sax as my primary care doctor. HIs knowledge and sense of humor always keep me relaxed and comfortable during the climic visit. And I appreciate being able to have my wide present during the visit....she often remembers things that I don't...( i.e.: questions to ask, her concerns, etc.).

October 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Sax called me personally to get me in the day I raised my concern when he had. cancelled appointment. very much appreciated

October 03, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Everything was very good as it is all the time I go to see *Dr. Sax.

August 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Extremely PLEASED with *Dr. Sax & his staff.

August 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Sax was great.

July 26, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Good

March 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Sax is terrific.

March 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Sax is my favorite doctor, ever !

February 25, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was very pleased with my visit with Dr Sax. He listened carefully to my concerns and offered genuine advice and solutions.

February 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The Doctor was friendly and flexible in including my concerns in our medical plan.

January 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Sorry to say, that Dr. Sax seems more interested in getting rid of me and avoiding referrals for other services than in helping to solve my issues.

January 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

my description of some of my symptoms were lost in the recommended treatment

December 18, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Since my care provider was not available I could not have been more pleased with Dr. Sax and his approach to being so very thorough about my concern.

December 11, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good experience.

November 12, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Kaiser first timer. Very smooth and professional process. A pleasure to meet Dr Sax.

October 20, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Sax always sits down and takes the time to answer my ????

October 08, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Part of he information on the post treatment handout was generic and didn't exactly fit my situation or Dr. Sax's explanation. Not a big deal to me, but could be confusing in other times and circumstances.

September 22, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Sax seems nice and knowledgeable. My issue is that he seemed to be in a hurry and I was not able to discuss all my issues with him. I was not satisfied with his explanations regarding issues I brought up and feel this was a byproduct of not having enough time to spend on the appointment.

August 27, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

At the time of the APPT. when mtg. with the doctor I kind of got the impression that he didn't have a whole lot of to answer my questions. I felt rushed.

August 25, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

We have had this care provider for almost 2 decades and he is just great!!!!.

August 24, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

first visit with Dr. Sax and am completely satisfied

August 20, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Sax is an excellent physician based on my one time meeting with him. He was on time for my appointment, had read my chart, and listened carefully and thoughtfully to my descriptions of medical history and current health concerns. He and I discussed treatment options, and he promptly scheduled labs and medications as needed. He said that I could contact him anytime by email, and or call his office if I had any concerns or questions. I would recommend him highly to any other patient seeking an internal medicine physician at Kaiser Interstate.

August 17, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am from Southern California. After completing medical school in Milwaukee, Wisconsin in 1995, I began medical training here in Portland, Oregon. After my wife and I completed our medical training in Boston, Massachusetts, we moved back to Portland. I am very happy living in the Pacific Northwest with my wife and two daughters.

About my practice

As a full-time internist, I evaluate and treat a wide variety of conditions. I find my practice very rewarding, and truly appreciate the comprehensive support I receive from our staff at Kaiser Permanente.

How I thrive

In my spare time I enjoy cooking, golf, biking, and travel.

Medical School ?

Medical College of Wisconsin
Milwaukee

Medical Training ?

Internal Medicine
Cambridge Hospital
Cambridge MA

Board Certification ?

Internal Medicine
American Board of Internal Medicine