David J. Black MD
4.9 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Orchards Medical Office
7101 NE 137th Ave.
Vancouver, WA 98682

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.9
Overall Score
  • 4.3
    Wait Time
  • 4.9
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.8
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.8
    Explanations
  • 4.8
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 86 Ratings
  • 14 Comments

*Dr. Black is the best doctor my kids have seen at Kaiser. He is extremely knowledgeable and I feel he listens to my concerns. Highly recommend him. Kind man.

February 22, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My family likes Dr. Black. He is a knowledgable good doctor.

January 08, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

David black is an asset to Kaiser he is very knowledgeable and has good demeanor my daughter's [condition] improved the next day thanks dr black!

December 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Love Dr. Black!! He's been our son's doctor for years! He's the best!!

November 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

We love *Dr. Black and staff. Always friendly and professional. They make my kids feel at ease and they enjoy going to the dr.

October 03, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Black and team are always so nice and amazing. My kids love going to the dr.!

October 03, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

excellent and caring physician

June 09, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

dr black and his pa student were both wonderful. answered our questions and made us feel at ease

May 09, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. David Black is nothing short of PHENOMENAL. Doctor Blacks level of concern, compassion & knowledge, surpasses expectations. He is a wonderful man. I'm utterly in awe of him. Perfect experience time and time again! Above and beyond perfect.

April 26, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was not our normal doctor for my children and he was wonderful. // I was concerned about the wait time, but that ended up being nothing. Dr. Black and the medical assistant were awesome. I really enjoyed them and I feel like my daughter was comfortable with them as well. She is only 2 and was very cooperative.

April 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Black is an excellent physician!

December 09, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

We've always had an AMAZING experience with both *Dr. Black and his staff. Love coming here to see them!

November 04, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Black and staff are always exceptional! I have and will continue to recommend him to all who are looking for an amazing provider. My family has always received great care and we have nothing but wonderful thing to say!

August 27, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

And *Dr. Black is great too.

August 24, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am originally from Stamford, CT, a suburb of New York City. After going to college in Baltimore, I moved back to Connecticut for medical school. Everything about medical school was fascinating and exciting, but by far the most satisfying and fun was working with kids. I loved watching kids grow up and spent a lot of time learning about how they grow and develop. I stayed in Connecticut to do my residency in pediatrics with some concentration in child development and behavior. My first job after residency was in a teaching clinic in Hartford, CT. I saw kids from the inner city and taught medical students and residents about caring for children. In 1998, I came to work for Kaiser Permanente in Vancouver. In the past 13 years, I have met and gotten to know thousands of children and families in Vancouver. It is a pleasure to get to know families and help them meet the challenges of growing up, life, and health.

About my practice

My practice for Kaiser Permanente is split between the Vancouver Medical Office and the Orchards Medical Office. I am a generalist pediatrician, first and foremost, I see and take care of whatever issues come to my office. But my first love is helping parents support their child's growth and development throughout the child's life. I am happy to share my knowledge and understanding of child development and behavior with parents, grandparents, students-anyone who is interested in discussing it. Children may have medical problems, some pretty serious, but they still need the support and guidance to grow and learn in all areas of their life. I do not want the medical issues to interfere with that, and try to help parents raise the strongest and most resilient child they can.

How I thrive

I thrive by eating well, doing yoga, walking and other exercise, and by being with my wife. We enjoy seeing our four adult children when they are around and love doing family vacations each summer. My favorite activity, by far, is reading. I love reading about many topics. I read fiction, neuroscience, psychology, philosophy, the classics, and history (especially medieval history lately). I incorporate everything I read and learn into my life and work. I am a strong believer that no knowledge is ever wasted and am thrilled to be able to connect a patient's question to some information from post-barbarian Rome or the Renaissance.

Medical School ?

University of Connecticut School of Medicine
Farmington

Medical Training ?

Pediatrics
University of Connecticut
Farmington CT

Board Certification ?

Pediatrics
American Board of Pediatrics