David P. Parsons MD
4.8 / 5
(503)813-2000
Sunnybrook Medical Offices
9900 SE Sunnyside Rd.
Clackamas, OR 97015

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.8
Overall Score
  • 4.5
    Wait Time
  • 4.8
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.8
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.8
    Explanations
  • 4.8
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 90 Ratings
  • 17 Comments

Dr Parsons is a wonderful doctor. He is very thorough and made me feel very comfortable when he did a procedure. It recommend him to anyone!!!

June 19, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The dr. seemed thoughtful. He explained so well I really could not come up with unanswered concerns. Great job!

November 21, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Please keep *Dr. Parsons. He is excellent.

September 07, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. made me feel at ease. I was very stressed when I came in and he was able to make me feel relaxed & confident by his manner. Thank you!

August 03, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My overall experience with the provider was good and I appreciated his sensitivity to my reaction when I realized what the surgery entailed. I only wish I would have had a little more information about why removal of my [organ] was the only option. I was not completely active in the questioning as I was taken back and got a bit emotional after hearing the news. I would have also like to know more about what to expect after the surgery and how the recovery might be. Otherwise *Dr. Parsons was very helpful & professional.

June 22, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Another positive experience with *Dr. Parsons and the Kaiser staff, I am very pleased with the standard of care and professionalism I experienced so far.

April 20, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Even though *Dr. Parsons needed to check in private area, he was extremely kind to give me privacy in getting undressed and dressed again. His kindness made me feel respected and valued.

October 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent. *Dr. Parsons is very professional!

October 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Parsons operated on me 3 times and I trust and respect him implicitly. He's always been the consummate professional and instills confidence in his skills & abilities. I rate *Dr. Parsons number #1 of all the professionals I've seen at Kaiser over the years. He's an absolute credit to Kaiser and enhances your reputation substantially! [name]

July 21, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Parsons was professional and thorough with explanations and with his answers to my questions & concerns. Very pleased with this visit.

May 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Parsons was wonderful.

March 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Parsons' skill & compassion as a surgeon was exceptional. I know his excellent reputation as a doctor & as a person is well deserved.

February 23, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He is kind, personable, punctual, professional, runs a tight office, is user friendly and a great doctor. He LISTENS and lets the patient be involved in decisions and plans.

February 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Parsons is an amazing doctor.

December 03, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Doctor David Parsons excellent person, doctor. Good as any doctor at Kaiser. First class person. Wonderful doctor.

October 08, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr.Parsons is OUTSTANDING!!

October 06, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was very happy with the professional service I received. Thank you. [name]

September 29, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was born in Rochester, Minnesota where my father was a Neurosurgery resident at the Mayo Clinic and my mother was a nurse anesthetist. We moved to Portland, Oregon when I was very young. I grew up in the Raleigh Hills area with my five brothers and sisters. I went to Jesuit High School, Oregon State University (Go Beavs!), and Oregon Health & Science University. I did my General Surgery residency at the University of Massachusetts in Worcester and my Colon and Rectal Surgery fellowship in Seattle, Washington. When I am not at work, I am usually driving my children somewhere. I enjoy woodworking with a focus in 18th century furniture reproduction and, more recently, furniture in the Greene and Greene style. I also like to cycle, fish, and backpack.

About my practice

I was hired in 1998 as Kaiser Permanente Northwest's first Colon and Rectal Surgeon. I now have the pleasure of working with two other colorectal surgeons. We treat patients with colon/rectal cancer as well as benign colon and anorectal diseases. We perform a large amount of laparoscopic procedures and we are mainly centered on the Kaiser Sunnyside Campus. Our group has participated in the National Surgical Quality Improvement Program through the American College of Surgeons for the past several years. We have used the outcomes data from this to make changes that have improved overall patient care. We have significantly lowered surgical site infections and now we have one of the lowest infection rates when compared to all other participating hospitals. I enjoy teaching residents, and for three months out of the year we provide training for the Oregon Health & Science University colorectal surgery fellow. I also do a fair amount of administrative work. Currently, I am chair of the Kaiser Sunnyside Surgical Council, which oversees management of our operating rooms. I also serve on the Quality Council, Products Council, and Executive Committee. My goal in serving in these capacities is to improve the overall care of all patients in our organization through monitoring of practices, improvements in quality and efficiency, and stewardship of our patients' resources. I really enjoy this work.

How I thrive

I thrive by balancing a rewarding career and a busy family life. I enjoy doing all sorts of activities with my family, including cycling, camping, fostering the children's musical talents, helping out with Boy Scouts, and watching the kids play soccer and baseball. We enjoy heading to the sunny side of the state whenever possible. Woodworking is one of my major stress reducers. Woodworking is a lot like surgery: one must be careful, but when done correctly, the outcome can be magnificent.

Medical School ?

Oregon Health Sciences University School of Medicine
Portland

Medical Training ?

Colon and Rectal Surgery
Northwest Colon and Rectal Clinic
Seattle WA

General Surgery
University of Massachusetts
Worcester MA

Board Certification ?

Colon and Rectal Surgery
American Board of Colon and Rectal Surgery

Surgery
American Board of Surgery