David S. Hindahl MD
4.7 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Rockwood Medical Office
19500 SE Stark St.
Portland, OR 97233

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.7
Overall Score
  • 4.5
    Wait Time
  • 4.7
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.7
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.7
    Explanations
  • 4.6
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 157 Ratings
  • 43 Comments

My doctor retired at the end of June, so this was my first visit to *Dr. Hindahl - found him to be excellent in every area!!!

August 09, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Doctor Hindahl's demeanor and professionalism are exceptional!

July 16, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Hindahl is AMAZING I am lucky to have him as my primary care dr.

June 18, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Overall I find *Dr. Hindahl and staff are courteous and answer any concerns about my care. I have confidence in his treatment of any health concerns. [name]

May 07, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Everything was great *Dr. Hindahl is a wonderful doctor. Dr. Hindahl is the reason I stayed with Kaiser after retiring.

April 16, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

felt rushed

April 16, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I would highly recommend *Dr. Hindahl because he was so caring and interested in helping me with my back problems. He is not my regular doctor but I certainly liked him. My husband was with me all the time and was also impressed by *Dr. Hindahl.

March 29, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Hindahl & his staff are wonderful.

March 16, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Hindahl has been a consistent, trusted and exemplary physician. I feel safe knowing when issues arise I have a knowledgeable source, who really seems to care about me and my family. Thank you for all that you do.

March 01, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Hindall has been my physician for several years. He has been personable, collaborative, knowledgeable, honest and understanding.

December 20, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

have always liked my Doctor

December 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. H. id very friendly and easy to talk to.

November 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Hindahl really listens and is very informative.

October 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Doctor Hindahl is the best doctor I've ever had. He is very thorough and is the only doctor who got my blood pressure under control.

August 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I liked *Dr. Hindahl so much that I want him as my primary care physician! He's caring & very personable. Made it easier for me.

July 03, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Not perfect, but best there is. Noted over time - the doctor gives little or no encouragement for any patient improvements - too busy with what is wrong than any improvements.

June 30, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Hindahl is very thorough in his exam and explaining my past and present health status and reviewing my daily activities.

June 28, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Hindahl is excellent!

June 23, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

good appointment, doctor was easy to talk to and very informed. answered all my questions and addressed all of my concerns

June 19, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Talking to Dr Hindahl is like talking to a good friend, except he is your doctor. Always proactive with my concerns.

March 29, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

dr. hindahl is always friendly and patiently answers my questions, he's a very good doctor

March 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Hindahl always does a great job.

March 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

(Liked dr. very happy with appointment.)

February 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent service always from *Dr. Hindahl & staff.

January 25, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Hindahl is very professional, friendly and he listens to me. // Dr. Hindahl has always been very kind. I have no complaints. I have recommended Dr. Hindahl.

November 30, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

this is a perfect doctor for me he considers and responds to all of my concerns. He answers all of my questions and gives me good.

November 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Second visit with Dr. Hindahl. Like him very much so far.

November 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I find Dr. Hindahl to be unusual. He has a great sense of humor, great bedside manor, is knowledgable and is compassionate. This can be hard to find in a primary care physician.

October 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He is jut a wonderful doctor. He is competent and he really cares.

June 30, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Hindahl is brand new to us (replacing [name]) so the visit was mainly to get acquainted. My husband & I had back to back appts. but ended up seeing *Dr. Hindahl together. We both really liked him & felt very comfortable with him.

June 20, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Hindahl, was a pleasure to talk to, he was professional and easy to talk to. He was very informative.

June 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Didn't care about my problem. Just wanted to review my medication. Should have refered me to a specialty clinic for some help.

March 30, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. took care of all my needs // I have been treated by Dr. Hindahl for a number of years and have confidence in his ability as a physican

February 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was my first visit with Dr. Hindal and I couldn't be more pleased with the primary physician I chose. He's kind, understanding, thorough, and knowledgable.

February 26, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

It seems like the Doctor was rushed. I could of asked a few more questions but felt like he needed to go. Dr. Hyndal was very good discussing the problem and getting me set up for PT

February 24, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

As a patient of *Dr. Hindahl's now for numerous years, I enjoy being a patient of his and will for many years to come!

January 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

nice doctor. first time we met. very professional yet friendly.

December 04, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The doctor was grat to deal with best of all he listened the best thing is he is not afraid to bring upareas I should be working to improve or stop. He is a good man.

November 30, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He is just good at what he does

November 19, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I always feel Dr Hindahl listens to me and wants the best for my health. I really appreciate his care and trust him.

November 02, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He was very informative on the questions I had about test results and medications that are changing

September 23, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I did not feel that doctor was listening to what I was trying to explain. He was running late from last appointment and tried to rush my appointment! He left quickly saying - I have someone else waiting.

September 17, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good experience. *Dr. Hindahl is very thorough and made me feel at ease. I look forward to working with *Dr. Hindahl to make my life better.

August 27, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I grew up in Salem, Oregon, but moved to central Illinois at the start of my junior year of high school. I graduated from the University of Colorado in 1978 and the University of Illinois medical school in 1983. I completed my family medicine residency at Oregon Health and Science University in 1986. I am married and have two adult children; one is an RN working in Spokane and the other is a student at Evergreen State University in Olympia, Washington. I chose to practice family Medicine so as to be able to combine my interest in the natural sciences with my interest in working with people on a day to day basis.

About my practice

Family medicine is a demanding and yet very broad category of medical practice. It is similar to the older form of general practice, but the training is much more thorough and lasts two years longer. It is recognized as a medical specialty. We family doctors like to say that we "specialize in you," meaning that we take care of all aspects of medical care for people of all ages. I spent the first 19 years of my post graduate professional life in a rural town in the Columbia River Gorge. A fluctuating team that included myself and between three and seven other physicians at any given time provided all the medical care, including obstetrics, for the towns of Stevenson and White Salmon in Washington state. I decided to join Kaiser Permanente in 2006. Although I don't practice obstetrics any more, I still provide most types of routine primary medical care to everyone from newborns to the very well-aged.

How I thrive

I thrive by spending as much time as I can outdoors. There are lots of chores to do around the house, but I try to get those done as quickly as possible so I can go out and have fun. I enjoy telemark and cross-country skiing in the winter, and bicycling, golf, windsurfing, and fishing when the weather is nicer. I play the guitar occasionally, and not terribly well. My wife and I still live in White Salmon, WA, which puts all these recreational resources right out our door.

Medical School ?

University of Illinois College of Medicine at Urbana-Champaign
Urbana

Medical Training ?

Family Practice
Oregon Health & Science University
Portland OR

Board Certification ?

Family Medicine
American Board of Family Medicine