Dena Bethany Witthaus DO
4.7 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Rockwood Medical Office
19500 SE Stark St.
Portland, OR 97233

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.7
Overall Score
  • 4.5
    Wait Time
  • 4.6
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.7
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.7
    Explanations
  • 4.6
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 159 Ratings
  • 31 Comments

She was serious and thorough. She took my questions seriously. Not as chatty as some doctors are, but I felt she covered all the bases and really did her job well.

June 20, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I would like to have her for my primary physchian

June 15, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good.

February 06, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am new to Kaiser. I liked *Dr. Witthaus. She covered everything. I left feeling grateful.

January 31, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Witthaus is a very attentive and active listener. She is willing to recommend treatment that fits my lifestyle. She is courteous and patient while I discuss my concerns. I feel well cared for and confident in her ability to diagnose - as I told her upon leaving the exam room, she is a joy. I appreciate the willingness to recommend non-prescriptive supplements that are evidence based. I am blessed to have such good care.

January 30, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was an emergency visit because of a fall and an ankle fracture. It was only my 2ns visit with her. She was very supportive and I was also able to get a perscription filed that day.

December 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Given more time I am sure Doctor would be better informed and able to help resolve main health issues. I have extreme confidence is my Dr.

November 09, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Witthaus provided excellent care. She listened to my concerns & questions _____ & provided knowledgeable & caring answers. She made me feel like a valued patient!

October 26, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

great

September 14, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

i am very pleased with dr dena witthaus. she is very attentive to my concerns and needs and i have total confidence in her as my primary physician

May 11, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

It was a good experience, in and out in a timely manner. Told what was wrong with me and given a plan of action for the condition

May 09, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

thorough and professional

January 17, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I received a prescription - the pharmacist said it should be used only short term. Dr. did not address this.

January 04, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I love my doctor. She takes great care of me. Dena was recommended to me.

October 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Because I am an RN I felt that Dr. Witthaus listened well and understood that I spoke with knowledge and experience regarding my personal health. I really appreciated this as some physicians do not acknowledge our experience

September 13, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Doctor showed true concern and caring.

August 16, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

She was very courteous and concerned.

July 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I as very happy with the care and concern the Dr. showed as we went over thing.

July 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Doc Dena is Great

July 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The goal of my visit was to establish care with Dr. Witthaus and coordinate next steps in my care. Dr. Witthaus listened well and provided recommendation with appropriate communication considering my level of understanding and inquiry- she acknowledged my needs and helped me feel comfortable.

June 03, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was really impressed with the physician both in care as well as followup

June 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This experience, good, well above average, doctor was impressive, valuable asset to the "Kaiser" team. Was not my regular doctor, but she did "great". Understanding & listened. [name]

May 27, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was my first visit with *Dena Witthaus. She made me very comfortable. I am very happy to have her for my doctor.

May 27, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was a chance to meet my new dr. - And was for me to see I like her or him it! Went well. I'm sure she will do well for myself & needs thank for your caring.

May 26, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I really felt comfortable with Dr. Witthaus right away and felt she was listening to my concerns. I look forward to her being my primary doctor. I really missed Dr. [name] when she left and now feel I have a Dr. I can communicate with.

April 20, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Everything was great! Thank you!

April 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent service.

April 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The care provider is very king, considerate and informative. She is very compassionate and patient. Her attention to my needs was wonderful. She is nice..

March 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

1st time meeting this new doctor. Not very friendly!

February 23, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Good.

February 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I recently started seeing *Dr. Wetthaus, she is so nice & caring. Very thorough! Like her a lot. [name]

February 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was born into a large family that loved adventure and cooking. I attended University of California at Riverside, studied mathematics, and participated in the cross country team. Starting the long road to a career in medicine, I worked as a nurse's aide at a hospital in Southern California, then volunteered at a youth home in Mexico. I completed medical school in Arizona, and residency in Corvallis, Oregon. I fell in love with the Pacific Northwest. My husband and I moved to Portland. I trained in internal medicine and chose primary care because I enjoy building long-lasting relationships with members.

About my practice

As a primary care physician, my goal is to help patients make healthy choices, and guide them through the treatment process when chronic illnesses develop. I encourage my patients to take an active role in their own well-being. I emphasize nutrition, exercise, and lifestyle. It is important to me to have open and honest relationships with members, so I can understand their motivations and the factors that might affect their health.

How I thrive

I nourish my own health with regular physical activity, a whole food diet, and spending quality time with family and friends. To keep active, I enjoy running, yoga, backpacking, and taking long walks with my husband and dog. To relax, I like reading, making art, and especially growing and cooking my own food. I am always searching for new books and radio stories to introduce new ideas into my life. I love to learn and explore.

Medical School ?

Arizona College of Osteopathic Medicine
Glendale

Medical Training ?

Internal Medicine
Samaritan Health Services
Corvallis OR

Board Certification ?

Internal Medicine
American Board of Internal Medicine