Denise M. Bilbao MD
4.7 / 5
  • Spanish
(503) 813-2000
Interstate Medical Office East
3550 North Interstate Ave.
Portland, OR 97227

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.7
Overall Score
  • 4.2
    Wait Time
  • 4.6
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.7
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.7
    Explanations
  • 4.6
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 236 Ratings
  • 50 Comments

My doctor is a good listener and encourages me to be healthy without judgement.

April 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I love Dr. Bilbao. She listens and trusts me to give her information re: my body. I like the fact that she doesn't go crazy with prescriptions. I trust her judgement and appreciate her sharing her opinions on treatments.

March 19, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

DR Bilbao is a professional and kind person " amazing " with the patience.

February 19, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Even though I was fit into her busy schedule, I was allowed to explore another area of concern with my health. I suggested that I make another appointment to discuss this issue, but she insisted that we take care of it while I was there.

January 24, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I saw my doctor, went to the lab, and picked up an Rx in about an hour's time and that was without feeling rushed during my Dr. visit. Very pleased with this visit. The Dr. seemed like she understood my issues and was kind and knowledgeable.

January 12, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Bilbao was great! She really took the time to help me with my problem and to get me set up with right medication discussed a plan for managing my chronic conditions within the Kaiser system.

January 08, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The doctor took the time to explain everything including options. Excellent service from everyone.

December 27, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Bilbao is one of the best doctors I've ever had.

December 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Bilbao was excellent as always.

October 24, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I would happily return to Dr. Bilbao if my primary physician was not available.

October 03, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Satisfied w/out reservation on service received.

October 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Bilbao is a wonderful physician - smart, explains treatment plan concisely - good listener.

September 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Bilbao rocks! she is the first MD who managed to persuade me to complete health screenings I needed. She seemed to know exactly where I was coming from and my concerns about the risks of too many interventions.

September 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Bilbao is so smart and prfessional. she went way above to help me...was thorough, comprehensive and personable.

September 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was my first "baseline" appointment, so I don't have a deep opinion, but it went very smoothly and I really liked Dr. Bilbao's demeanor.

August 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Have been very happy and satisfied with Dr. Bilbao!

July 27, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent!

July 24, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I really appreciated how timely I was seen by asst. & Dr. during my appt. although I did feel the Dr. was rushed I would have asked more questions but I felt she needed to move on to next appt. She wasn't my PCP so I let this go. She was very pleasant & great otherwise. Thank you.

July 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The osteoporosis explanation sounded like a statistical approach, not about my specific results. Didn't make sense to me.

July 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Wow. Dr Bilbao not only took extra time to talk to me about the issues I raised, but seems genuinely interested in solutions, and clearly cares. She is what the future of primary care medicine would look like, if we were doing it right!

July 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Bilbao is very knowledgeable about my medical condition which is diabetes. She gave wonderful information regarding the diet method to keep my weight and blood sugar under control. I appreciate that she took the time to explain everything to me clearly.

July 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Bilbao is great!

July 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Provider is both knowledgeable and encouraging. It's a helpful combo!

June 19, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I appreciate that my doctor thinks strategically about my chronic conditions and recommends multiple approaches - then, she follows up with me. It encourages me to develop better health practices.

June 16, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Bilbao was great. I very much appreciate her forthrightness and honesty in assessing what I need to do to improve my own health. We don't always see eye-to-eye, but I thoroughly respect her views as to what is best for my health.

June 09, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Bilbao is great! Personable, funny and I completely trust her - I've recommend her to others.

June 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I think Dr Bilbao is a very good fit as my care provider.

May 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Bilbao is the best. I especially appreciate how she explains her thought processes as she responds to my concerns and attempts to come up with a diagnosis.

May 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Bilbao is excellent professionalist and amazing person!

April 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have only interacted with Dr Bilboa twice but have been impressed both times.

April 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

excellent care by doctor after a 25 minute wait

April 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I really like my new (to me) doctor. she was thorough and kind

April 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Bilbao is a wonderful provider. Always patient and kind.

March 17, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

New to this Dr and felt very comfortable.

February 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very confident about this caregiver. // Good experience overall

January 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Bilboa is extremely competent at her job, she always makes me feel heard, comfortable, and cared for. Thank you!

January 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Bilbao is immediately approachable and grounded in her conversation. I was able to open up about my own concerns and felt heard and validated. Also, cool socks.

January 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Bilbao always listens without making me feel rushed. She is great at explaining things and I really trust her more than any other doctor I have had.

January 03, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Bilbao was warm and attentive. She seemed knowledgeable.

December 27, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Really enjoyed meeting Dr. Bilbao, and appreciated her help. I would definitely ask for her help again.

December 27, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

asked lots of questions and made sure I got an appt with neurology to reevaluate my migraine medications right away

November 30, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

e-mailed back and forth with Dr. in order to understand lab requirements and timelines before visit....very convenient

October 25, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Not my usual doctor; wouldn't do blood tests that my PCP will do / has done. Was trying to be helpful though, considering she didn't know me. We just didn't see eye to eye nor speak same language.

October 22, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The doctor was courteous and helpful.

October 08, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Bilbao is one of best physicians I have had in the Kaiser system (2 states) or outside Kaiser. She is knowledgeable, skilled & takes the time to explain things. Could not be happier.

October 04, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I felt very comfortable with Dr. Bilbao. She has a calming manner. // Excellent experiences .

September 27, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Bilbao is the Best! Period. Very kind, very clear in her explanations, very considerate and very caring. I totally trust her advice.

September 10, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was my first time meeting Dr. Bilbao. She was professional but also personable and did a good job addressing my questions about a couple weird symptoms I've been experiencing. She called me personally a couple days later to give me my test results and explain how to schedule a follow-up with specialty care. I really felt like she went the extra mile to provide me with information related to my medical history at a time when I was anxious about my test results.

September 08, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I very much look forward to having Dr. Bilbao as my primary...she is personable, gives her full attention and presence, and is informative and supportive. Love her and am pleased to have been accepted as her patient.

August 12, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Bilbao is remarkable. I feel very lucky to have her as my doctor.

August 09, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am originally from Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania and completed my residency training at the University of California in San Francisco in 2007. I entered medicine with the goal of providing long term, high quality primary care to a wide range of patients, with a focus on the underserved. After four years at an Oakland, California based local health clinic serving a largely Spanish-speaking community, my family and I decided to leave the Bay Areas to settle in a smaller, more family-friendly town.

About my practice

I have been working as a primary care internist since residency and feel fortunate to have found such an engaging and inspiring setting in which to invest my energies. I believe each patient has a unique story and experience to share, and do my best to meet people where they are when offering my perspective on their healthcare. I am committed to the life-long learning that medicine requires, while remaining humbled by how much we still don't know. My experience has been in low-resource primary care clinics for Spanish-speaking patients, with a focus on diabetes and chronic care.

How I thrive

I believe any clinician who seeks to help others live healthy lives should be able to do the same for themselves. For me this means maintaining a healthy work-life balance, cultivating and nurturing relationships with family and friends, exercising regularly, and making time for the activities I love. I enjoy bicycling, drawing, reading, cooking, and taking classes whenever time permits.

Medical School ?

Temple University School of Medicine
Philadelphia

Medical Training ?

Internal Medicine
University of California (San Francisco)
San Francisco CA

Board Certification ?

Internal Medicine
American Board of Internal Medicine