Denise M. Bilbao MD
4.6 / 5
  • Spanish
(503) 813-2000
Interstate Medical Office East
3550 North Interstate Ave.
Portland, OR 97227

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.6
Overall Score
  • 4.2
    Wait Time
  • 4.6
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.6
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.7
    Explanations
  • 4.6
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 193 Ratings
  • 78 Comments

Dr. Bilboa was excellent. I didn't feel rushed or like my problem was trivial to her. I'd be happy to see her again.

August 15, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Keep Dr Bilbao...period!

July 24, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Doctor creates a sense of calm and it seems she would be willing to sit and talk to me as long as I needed. Honest and friendly.

July 16, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My provider Dr Bilbao is very helpful for me

May 22, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Doctor seemed more focused on the time she had and much less on listening to understand; instead she seemed to listen to respond, reminding me several times that we had only 20 minutes. I am a new patient of hers but no time was given for context of my visit. My wish was for a wellness discussion with a doctor who would listen.

May 21, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Already have recommended her to other people.

April 24, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

It is a pleasure to work with Dr. Bilbao. She is kind, intelligent and well informed. I have a great deal of confidence in her.

March 26, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great Doctor!!!

February 26, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Bilbao is the best. Period.

February 06, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Bilbao was very patient and compassionate during a very uncomfortable procedure.

January 24, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I feel she truly listened to my symptoms, I felt valued and I only wish she practiced in my region. She also was very respectful and gentle with me even as I was so very upset. I am SO grateful to have seen her.

January 12, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Outstanding doctor and staff. All very efficient, intelligent, and kind.

January 12, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was a bit late so I expected to wait in the waiting room, but Dr Bilboa was prompt and apologetic for the waiting room time. I felt her empathy only further complimented her professionalism. // I am very hopeful with Dr. Bilbao, I felt she was very knowledgeable about insulin resistance and provided me excellent information and background on what course of action we were going to take to turn my health around. I am very hopeful she will be a better fit for me.

January 05, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Bilbo has been a great partner in helping me determine health goals and ways to be successful in achieving them. She has been very encouraging and supportive helping me make some difficult decisions about my how to improve my health and life. I am very grateful to have her as my provider.

December 08, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I really like this doctor. I can tell she cares about me and wants my input in planning how to improve my health.

November 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Bilbao is always friendly and professional. I feel that I will always get the care and attention needed while I'm there. I feel very comfortable and confident in my visits.

October 27, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Bilbao & her assistant [name] are top notch!

October 16, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Bilbao was wonderful! She raised my confidence in the care I get from Kaiser.

October 09, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Denise is a true gem. I am so lucky to be in such good hands!

October 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The time spent with the doctor felt rushed and I was prescribed medicine that (1) I didn't know were being prescribed to me, (2) I didn't know what they were for, and (3) Didn't know how to use them.

July 25, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Bilbao's care and advise is life transforming. She is a fantastic doctor, ahead of most by leaps and bounds.

July 19, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Bilboa and I engaged in a positive and encouraging conversation about my health and how I could improve it. She gave very helpful suggestions and answered all of my questions.

July 12, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I really like my primary care doctor and would recommend her to others. I feel confident in her medical care she provides for me.

June 27, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Bilbao has great strengths in preventative care.

May 05, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Bilbao showed great concern and genuine care for my issues. //always efficient and easy.

May 05, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My experience with Dr. Bilbao was absolutely amazing! She did not appear rushed in the slightest and took the time to address my every concern. Dr. Bilbao was friendly and professional. She made the dreaded visit to the doctor's office such a seamless and pleasurable experience!

May 05, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

She was an on-call doctor who my husband had seen last summer. I was impressed with her concern for him and chose her for my doctor. Made a very good impression.

May 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Denise M. Bilbao was wonderful, as always! Informative, attentive, caring, friendly, all the good things. Couldn't have hoped for better care.

April 28, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Bilbao offers the perfect mix of professional authority and confidence while also sharing control and decision-making with her patients. She's very direct and clear.

April 20, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My doctor is a good listener and encourages me to be healthy without judgement.

April 07, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I love Dr. Bilbao. She listens and trusts me to give her information re: my body. I like the fact that she doesn't go crazy with prescriptions. I trust her judgement and appreciate her sharing her opinions on treatments.

March 20, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

DR Bilbao is a professional and kind person " amazing " with the patience.

February 20, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Even though I was fit into her busy schedule, I was allowed to explore another area of concern with my health. I suggested that I make another appointment to discuss this issue, but she insisted that we take care of it while I was there.

January 25, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I saw my doctor, went to the lab, and picked up an Rx in about an hour's time and that was without feeling rushed during my Dr. visit. Very pleased with this visit. The Dr. seemed like she understood my issues and was kind and knowledgeable.

January 13, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Bilbao was great! She really took the time to help me with my problem and to get me set up with right medication discussed a plan for managing my chronic conditions within the Kaiser system.

January 09, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The doctor took the time to explain everything including options. Excellent service from everyone.

December 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Bilbao was excellent as always.

October 25, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I would happily return to Dr. Bilbao if my primary physician was not available.

October 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Satisfied w/out reservation on service received.

October 03, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Bilbao is a wonderful physician - smart, explains treatment plan concisely - good listener.

September 16, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Bilbao rocks! she is the first MD who managed to persuade me to complete health screenings I needed. She seemed to know exactly where I was coming from and my concerns about the risks of too many interventions.

September 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Bilbao is so smart and prfessional. she went way above to help me...was thorough, comprehensive and personable.

September 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was my first "baseline" appointment, so I don't have a deep opinion, but it went very smoothly and I really liked Dr. Bilbao's demeanor.

August 23, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Have been very happy and satisfied with Dr. Bilbao!

July 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent!

July 25, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I really appreciated how timely I was seen by asst. & Dr. during my appt. although I did feel the Dr. was rushed I would have asked more questions but I felt she needed to move on to next appt. She wasn't my PCP so I let this go. She was very pleasant & great otherwise. Thank you.

July 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The osteoporosis explanation sounded like a statistical approach, not about my specific results. Didn't make sense to me.

July 13, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Wow. Dr Bilbao not only took extra time to talk to me about the issues I raised, but seems genuinely interested in solutions, and clearly cares. She is what the future of primary care medicine would look like, if we were doing it right!

July 13, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Bilbao is very knowledgeable about my medical condition which is diabetes. She gave wonderful information regarding the diet method to keep my weight and blood sugar under control. I appreciate that she took the time to explain everything to me clearly.

July 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Bilbao is great!

July 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Provider is both knowledgeable and encouraging. It's a helpful combo!

June 20, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I appreciate that my doctor thinks strategically about my chronic conditions and recommends multiple approaches - then, she follows up with me. It encourages me to develop better health practices.

June 17, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Bilbao was great. I very much appreciate her forthrightness and honesty in assessing what I need to do to improve my own health. We don't always see eye-to-eye, but I thoroughly respect her views as to what is best for my health.

June 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Bilbao is great! Personable, funny and I completely trust her - I've recommend her to others.

June 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I think Dr Bilbao is a very good fit as my care provider.

May 13, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Bilbao is the best. I especially appreciate how she explains her thought processes as she responds to my concerns and attempts to come up with a diagnosis.

May 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Bilbao is excellent professionalist and amazing person!

April 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have only interacted with Dr Bilboa twice but have been impressed both times.

April 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

excellent care by doctor after a 25 minute wait

April 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I really like my new (to me) doctor. she was thorough and kind

April 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Bilbao is a wonderful provider. Always patient and kind.

March 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

New to this Dr and felt very comfortable.

February 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very confident about this caregiver. // Good experience overall

January 13, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Bilboa is extremely competent at her job, she always makes me feel heard, comfortable, and cared for. Thank you!

January 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Bilbao is immediately approachable and grounded in her conversation. I was able to open up about my own concerns and felt heard and validated. Also, cool socks.

January 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Bilbao always listens without making me feel rushed. She is great at explaining things and I really trust her more than any other doctor I have had.

January 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Bilbao was warm and attentive. She seemed knowledgeable.

December 28, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Really enjoyed meeting Dr. Bilbao, and appreciated her help. I would definitely ask for her help again.

December 28, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

asked lots of questions and made sure I got an appt with neurology to reevaluate my migraine medications right away

December 01, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

e-mailed back and forth with Dr. in order to understand lab requirements and timelines before visit....very convenient

October 26, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Not my usual doctor; wouldn't do blood tests that my PCP will do / has done. Was trying to be helpful though, considering she didn't know me. We just didn't see eye to eye nor speak same language.

October 23, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The doctor was courteous and helpful.

October 09, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Bilbao is one of best physicians I have had in the Kaiser system (2 states) or outside Kaiser. She is knowledgeable, skilled & takes the time to explain things. Could not be happier.

October 05, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I felt very comfortable with Dr. Bilbao. She has a calming manner. // Excellent experiences .

September 28, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Bilbao is the Best! Period. Very kind, very clear in her explanations, very considerate and very caring. I totally trust her advice.

September 11, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was my first time meeting Dr. Bilbao. She was professional but also personable and did a good job addressing my questions about a couple weird symptoms I've been experiencing. She called me personally a couple days later to give me my test results and explain how to schedule a follow-up with specialty care. I really felt like she went the extra mile to provide me with information related to my medical history at a time when I was anxious about my test results.

September 09, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I very much look forward to having Dr. Bilbao as my primary...she is personable, gives her full attention and presence, and is informative and supportive. Love her and am pleased to have been accepted as her patient.

August 13, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Bilbao is remarkable. I feel very lucky to have her as my doctor.

August 10, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am originally from Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania and completed my residency training at the University of California in San Francisco in 2007. I entered medicine with the goal of providing long term, high quality primary care to a wide range of patients, with a focus on the underserved. After four years at an Oakland, California based local health clinic serving a largely Spanish-speaking community, my family and I decided to leave the Bay Areas to settle in a smaller, more family-friendly town.

About my practice

I have been working as a primary care internist since residency and feel fortunate to have found such an engaging and inspiring setting in which to invest my energies. I believe each patient has a unique story and experience to share, and do my best to meet people where they are when offering my perspective on their healthcare. I am committed to the life-long learning that medicine requires, while remaining humbled by how much we still don't know. My experience has been in low-resource primary care clinics for Spanish-speaking patients, with a focus on diabetes and chronic care.

How I thrive

I believe any clinician who seeks to help others live healthy lives should be able to do the same for themselves. For me this means maintaining a healthy work-life balance, cultivating and nurturing relationships with family and friends, exercising regularly, and making time for the activities I love. I enjoy bicycling, drawing, reading, cooking, and taking classes whenever time permits.

Medical School ?

Temple University School of Medicine
Philadelphia

Medical Training ?

Internal Medicine
University of California (San Francisco)
San Francisco CA

Board Certification ?

Internal Medicine
American Board of Internal Medicine