Derrick E. Custino MD
4.6 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Sunset Medical Office
19400 NW Evergreen Parkway
Hillsboro, OR 97124

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.6
Overall Score
  • 4.5
    Wait Time
  • 4.6
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.6
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.6
    Explanations
  • 4.5
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 186 Ratings
  • 17 Comments

she spent plenty of time with me.. thank you

May 25, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was in for my annual physical. I mentioned I was feeling fatigue in the afternoons and the Doctor did a great job asking me some questions and then referring me to Kaiser's sleep department and adding some additional blood tests to see if there was a problem. I also had a positive reading on my colon test and he did a great job explaining how the test worked and how a colonoscopy works. He helped ease my anxiety to the positive reading and the colonoscopy procedure. // I had some follow-up questions to my blood tests and e-mailed my doctor. He respon

April 19, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Friendly and knowledgeable nurse on advice are, and I was very pleased with *Dr. Custino's care of my semi-urgent matter, even though he was not my PCP. He gave detailed explanations and was not rushing my visit through. Thank you!

January 12, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Custino is very courteous and respectful. He listens and presents different options for dealing with me medical issues.

December 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I really liked Dr. Custino. Was very pleasant, personable and professional. Am going to try to switch to him as my new primary care physician.

August 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent Customer Service Orientation.

July 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Custino has been my primary care physician for many years. He always treats me with respect, & I trust him completely. He has taken good care of my health; a very good doctor.

June 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

That doctors I was seeing that day was not the best NOT friendly. or he did not seen to really care

June 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He is being my Dr. for many years and we have a good communication. // My Dr. always is very kind and always listen to what I have to said. I do not change it.

April 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The Doctor is very thorough and listens to my concerns. Very professional and personable.

March 17, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Staffs and Dr. are very courteous/professional.

February 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

good

January 20, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Custino is outstanding. He is knowledgeable, compassionate and helpful. He is the best primary doctor we have had.

December 17, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Custino and staff are very cordial and work well with each other. I couldn't ask for a better provider.

December 08, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Custino and staff have been attentive to my needs the past 6+ minutes. I enjoy working with *Dr. Custino and his staff. And, I believe his course of treatment has been appropriate and helpful.

November 05, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Custino is an excellent physician I am grateful to have him as my primary provider.

November 04, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Custino AND staff have been so professional, friendly, and knowledgeable. All my interactions - from website to calling to emails...TopBox!

October 06, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was born in Ellensburg, Washington, and grew up in the San Francisco Bay Area. I attended Serra High School in San Mateo, California, which is home to such sports legends as Lynn Swann, Barry Bonds, and Tom Brady. I am also a proud alumnus of UCLA. I always had an affinity for the biological sciences and knew that my career would be in a field in which continuous learning was the norm. I also had a strong desire to help others, so medicine was a logical place to land.

About my practice

I am a family medicine physician. I care for members in all phases of life and treat a myriad of acute and chronic medical conditions. I work in an outpatient setting but occasionally provide inpatient services as well. Although challenging, my work is incredibly rewarding. I chose Kaiser Permanente because of its integrated model of care and unwavering commitment to prevention; its focus on cost effectiveness, data-driven outcomes, and electronic connectivity are also major draws. My approach to member care is quite simple--it's a partnership. My job is to be an uncompromising member advocate. Listening to my members provides the groundwork for me to assist them best. When possible, I like to offer multiple treatment options and allow members to decide what is right for them.

How I thrive

As the father of two young children, I am very involved in most of their activities. I enjoy the social interactions that come with being a parent, neighbor, colleague, and friend. Our family loves to travel to the coast, where we spend most of our time beachcombing. Music has always been a huge part of my life. On weekends, you might find me lifting weights at the local gym, cooking for my family, hitting baseballs at the park, or tending to my collection of Japanese maples.

Medical School ?

Finch University of Health Sciences/The Chicago Medical School
North Chicago

Medical Training ?

Family Practice
Southern California Kaiser Permanente Medical Care (Woodland Hill
Pasadena CA

Board Certification ?

Family Medicine
American Board of Family Medicine