Dexter James D. Asuncion MD
4.5 / 5
Rating Details Details
4.5
Overall Score
  • 4.3
    Wait Time
  • 4.5
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.5
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.5
    Explanations
  • 4.5
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 300 Ratings
  • 45 Comments

*Dr. Asuncion was very thorough.

May 29, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Experience was good.

April 27, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very positive experience. [name]

March 27, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good.

March 26, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I would have liked more attention to me instead of typing on a computer.

March 12, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Asuncion is a very caring doctor.

February 21, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The best provider I have ever had. He addressed all of my concerns, kept in touch, explained everything. Thank you!

January 30, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Asuncion is one of the good ones, and I'm glad to be his patient.

January 17, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Thank you for caring.

January 05, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was a new patient for Dr and he was very caring and well informed.

December 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good; service was prompt, finished quickly!

November 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

didn't really listen to me, was more concerned about his only thought about a my condition. and not other reasons to have the flair up

November 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

would highly recommend

November 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I just met the provider, I am sure we will work together very well.

October 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Appreciated the call back with test results and need for additional care and meds.

October 09, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I did not need any other services than having *Dr. Asuncion look at a wound on my leg which had a small amount of red around it. I needed to be reassured that it was okay. *Dr. Asuncion told me how to treat it and prescribed a medication to remove infection. The office visit was worth everyone's time -

August 30, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Everything went well. Dr. and assistant very efficient and friendly.

August 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very pleasant visit with MD. Direct & to the point.

July 27, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

First rate!

July 25, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent physician!

May 23, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am so very impressed with Dr. Asuncion! He has helped me a great deal since I rejoined Kaiser

May 16, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Was an excellent visit. *Dr. Asuncion was pleasant with a positive attitude. He was very helpful to me during a trying health issue.

April 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Had a great experience with the medical assistant & doctor!

April 25, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The doctor did a wonderful job. He took the time to explore my concerns and explain them while finding out what was actually wrong. He shared and explained my previous test results in an easily understandable way with out being condescending. Test results came back quickly. The doctor emailed that night with instructions and the nurse called the next morning. Logically I know that these health care providers have a lot of patients in need of care, but this doctor and nurse made me feel like I was priority. I'm sure they do this for each person that walks through the door. Thank you so much.

March 21, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Kudos to Dr. Asuncion and [name]. They are the very best Kaiser has to offer....bar none!

March 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Made appt specifically to talk about possible food allergies, he did not ask me about symptoms or anything along those lines, just recommended a probiotic- did not give any further details about what I should look for in a dietary supplement.

March 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Asuncion and his nurse were extremely nice and professional. I would recommend to anyone.

March 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very attentive.

January 25, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Asuncion and his assistant are both friendly and understanding. They do not appear rushed like my previous Dr. did.

January 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was my initial appointment as a new member. All high priority concerns were addressed and resolved, i.e., medications prescribed & filled and access to a urologist.

January 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good experience with Dr. Asuncion, my primary care doctor.

December 20, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

DR. ASUNCION IS THE BEST RIMARY CARE PROVIDER I HAVE EVER HAD A KAISER

December 15, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I came in w/ several questions. He didn't have time for them. Instead he reviewed my chart and was ready to leave. I needed more time. He didn't appreciate my question/problem that I had hoped he could solve.

December 10, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very caring person.

December 08, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

THE BEST, can not say enough goods things about him. BEST doctor I have ever had at Kaiser !

November 15, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Asuncion was extremely helpful and very concerned about my condition. He explained the reason for the Thrush and asked detailed questions that were pertinent to my current condition and overall health.

November 10, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was so happy with the care, that I changed my primary care giver to him!

October 25, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I chose Dr. Asuncion April 2015 as my previous doctor retired. I decided to go with Dr. Asuncion because his background stated he specialized in geriatric care. I made a very wise decision with my choice as I feel very comfortable and at ease with him. He is just so nice!

October 20, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Wonderful personable Doctor

October 11, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was my 1st visit to this MD. Both Dr. and Nurse were exceptionally helpful. So, I have chosen this Dr. as my Primary Care.

September 21, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

provider talked to fast and I could not understand and him. He did not seem to care about the pain I was in and dismissed it. I made the appointment for pain and he diagnosed everything but my pain.

September 15, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am very pleased with Dr Asuncion and the nurse that checked me in. It was a good experience.

September 14, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very happy with my first visit with my new doctor. I felt he was thorough and professional in going over my health history as well as attending to my immediate problem.

August 30, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

All staff very considerate, good discussion with Dr. and no waiting period. Very good over all experience.

August 13, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

good

August 10, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Growing up with my maternal grandparents inspired me to pursue a career in medicine. I received my medical degree in 1995, residency training in Manila and Framingham, Massachusetts, and a fellowship in geriatric medicine at Oregon Health & Science University. Most recently I practiced at PeaceHealth, St. John Medical Center in Longview, Washington and joined Kaiser Permamanete in 2014.

About my practice

Geriatric medicine focuses on the health and diseases of aging: visual and hearing loss, cognitive impairment, falls, depression, congestive heart failure, hypertension, and diabetes complications. My philosophy of practice is to provide responsible, dedicated, efficient, comprehensive, and compassionate care. I want to work with my patients and their families on realistic and practical goals that will help them thrive.

How I thrive

I am fortunate to have a loving wife, children, family, and friends. Watercolor painting, singing antiquated Tagalog kundiman (classic Filipino love songs), and listening to songs from the era of Bing Crosby, Perry Como, and The Lennon Sisters are just a few of my favorite things.

Medical School ?

University of Santo Tomas
Manila
Philippines

Medical Training ?

Geriatric Medicine
Oregon Health & Science University
Portland OR

Internal Medicine
MetroWest Medical Center
Framingham MA

Board Certification ?