Diane Santesson OD
4.8 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Sunset Medical Office
19400 NW Evergreen Parkway
Hillsboro, OR 97124

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.8
Overall Score
  • 4.6
    Wait Time
  • 4.8
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.8
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.8
    Explanations
  • 4.8
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 211 Ratings
  • 61 Comments

Dr Santesson was excellent

June 21, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Cool and competent doctor.

May 31, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I really liked her: direct, to the point, very clear

May 31, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

was very impressed with amount of time and care the dr took. I felt well cared for.

May 30, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Santesson was amazing! So kind and helpful with my children, and took the time to talk me through their care needs. We are so appreciative of her excellent care!

March 28, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very compassionate considering she had to deliver me some unexpected bad news.

February 16, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The Dr. Santassen sees both my kids so I decided to change to her. she's always really great, friendly and good at answering and explaining questions.

February 08, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Santesson was a nice provider who went over everything and made sure I was understanding what she was telling.

December 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was pleased with the knowledge of the doctor and her answer to my questions.

October 18, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

VERY satisfied with my first visit with her.

September 21, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My eye appts are very thorough and I'm extremely happy with my doctor!

August 30, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Diane Santesson is awesome at her job. She is kind and very good at what she does. I'm so glad I found her because I'm staying with her. She is probably the best doc Kaiser has. Thank you *Diane for caring about my eyes.

August 16, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

She is an excellent diagnostician! My new prescription is perfect! I would like for her to hear this. She is terrific.

July 07, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Wonderful as always.

June 13, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I appreciated the doctor taking the time to explain why I consistently showed high pressure in my eyes and why it was not anything to worry about.

June 07, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Awesome experience, thank you for the great care!

May 26, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The actual doctor was rude, I felt like she treated me as another number not a person, she rushed through the whole visit, I will not go back to her.

May 12, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The provider didn't seem like smaller children were easy for her and she lost her patience really fast.

May 04, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I deliberately scheduled the appointment with *Dr. Santesson because I'd seen her once before and she'd done best job of any I'd gone to before for eye app't. & new prescription for glasses. Excellent, personally & clinically.

May 03, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I think the doctor was trying to maintain a time schedule and when she realized she needed to speed up she became a bit short in her responses. It would have been better if she had voiced her concerns rather that just changing her demeanor.

April 13, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Extremely helpful with very specialized red color blindness contact lenses.

March 17, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Santesson show remarkable skill, knowledge, empathy and resourcefulness in identifying my individual needs for managing extreme dry-eye and cataract health conditions. As a health professional myself, I see her as exemplary of what good health care can be.

March 14, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The doctor met all my vision needs, and I am grateful for her talent at giving me a great fit in my contact lenses.

March 08, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The doctor arranged for me to have tests done at the clinic instead of having to drive all the way to Central Interstate to have them done by Ophthalmology. I really appreciate that. It saved me a lot of time and driving.

February 09, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

We had the most WONDERFUL visit! The time and care given to our daughter was outstanding! We left with a happy 12 year old with contacts successfully in for the first time. THANK YOU!!!

February 03, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

she is a wonderful doctor! Knows what she is doing!

January 03, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Enjoy seeing this eye dr she is very good at explaining what she finds

December 27, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Best eye care provider I have ever had!!!!!!!

September 20, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Diane is professional and knows what her patients concerns are.

August 25, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Santesson did a very thorough examine, responded to questions and concerns with in depth information. She also forwarded a referral that she found in the medical history review that had not been shared with us or acted upon. She was GREAT!

July 26, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Provider was all business no nonsense. I thanked provider for service and wasn't acknowledged.

July 21, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was treated with dignity and spoken to as if we were peers in the field. I was not talked down to nor was my concerns or feedback dismissed.

July 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Santesson was AWESOME, with her busy schedule, she took the initiative to have my son be seen by her as an overbook,(she actually stayed late) due to a photo I had taken regarding [symptom]

July 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Santesson worked very diligently to get my very rare bifocal contacts prescription to work for me.

June 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

communication between patient and care provider was very limited. All business. Aloot and/or cautious?

May 24, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This doctor was very business like and went about doing her job. I really do now know what she understood about my eye problems history or how it concerns me.

May 24, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Provider and staff were very responsive to questions regarding care.

April 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

would definitely request her again if possible

March 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Santesson is great and was my exam was over in record time. I have had her before and appreciate her style.

March 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My doctor was able to answer all of my questions very clearly. She also gave me a printed copy so that I could review her information when I left the office. I'm fortunate to have competent service providers!!

March 09, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Santesson is excellent! She is working very hard to ensure that my new contacts prescription will fit my needs. I am very confident that when I get my final pair, they will work for me.

March 09, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Disengaged; just another client on the assembly line. No repartee. Would not choose this provider again.

March 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

She was especially good about explaining what she was going to do before she did it. Her information about diabetes statistics related to retinal damage was especially helpful and motivating.

March 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Santesson is also an excellent doctor. Very thorough & personable.

February 23, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Santesson is very thorough and professional in her eye exams. // Excellent Service.

February 19, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I'm very pleased with the services I received from this provider.

February 16, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

She had no bedside manner. Didn't even explain to me what she wanted me to do or what she was doing. I did receive my new glasses and they seem to be working but I have not interest in seeing this provider again.

January 19, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Diane was great!

January 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Diane was thorough and professional.

November 17, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Santesson Was great... I'm happy.

November 03, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent. Clear and professional.

November 03, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Santesson was great in every way.

October 08, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Santesson & staff were wonderful!

October 01, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have probably seen a dozen good optometrists at Kaiser over the years. Dr Santesson is the best of them.

September 25, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

She wasn't feeling well because she had a cold. But it didn't feel like a complete exam to me. I usually go to Costco, and I think I will go back next time.

September 25, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Santessen (OD) very professional and kind

September 17, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent care!

September 15, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

She was very personable and gave good explanations of the problem I was having and the surgery that is planned.

September 11, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was very pleased with my health care provider and wish to see her again.

September 03, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Santensen has been wonderful and works very well with my three year old daughter. She uses a caring voice and helps her understand exactly what is going to happen and why. This makes taking a toddler so much easier especially when needing to exam her eyes, including full dilation.

August 21, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Doctor was excellent, as well

August 12, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I grew up in the Portland, Oregon, area. I completed my undergraduate degree at the University of Oregon and then went to Pacific University College of Optometry in Forest Grove, Oregon. I did a pediatric optometry residency at New York State University College of Optometry. After that I moved to Maui, Hawaii and held a private practice there for 10 years. While I enjoyed many aspects of owning a private practice, Kaiser Permanente's integrated health care system is a better fit for me.

About my practice

I practice general optometry, which involves doing routine eye examinations. I also see patients for diabetic eye checks, examine for "red eye" conditions, and fit contact lenses. I enjoy helping people see without having to wear glasses. I care for infants, children, and adults and work closely with Kaiser Permanente pediatric ophthalmology.

How I thrive

I live in the country with my husband. I love to be outdoors, snowboard, garden, cook, eat, and spend time with friends and family.

Medical School ?

Pacific University
Forest Grove

Medical Training ?

Optometry
Pacific University
Forest Grove OR

Board Certification ?