Douglas A. Ackerman MD
4.7 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Sunnyside Medical Office
10180 SE Sunnyside Road
Clackamas, OR 97015

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.7
Overall Score
  • 4.5
    Wait Time
  • 4.7
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.7
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.7
    Explanations
  • 4.6
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 198 Ratings
  • 30 Comments

To me *Dr. Ackerman is an excellent doctor. [name]

May 11, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He is amazing in his concern and treatment solutions!!

May 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very accessible. Great communications.

April 19, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Ackeman is a very good doctor & surgeon, I would recommend him to anyone.

February 19, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Fantastic care!! No bad experience, very professional.

February 08, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Ackerman is GREAT. Answers all my questions - Returned call to answer more questions. Great on telephone appt. Talks to me at my knowledge level.

January 31, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I asked him if I should be concerned about my condition and his reply was "that was his job, my job was to be at the next appointment". That impressed me very much, and relieved my worry. I like him very much...!

January 17, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Ackerman is an incredibly gifted surgeon. He has been incredibly personal and caring in all my visits to him.

January 03, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

my vasectomy was relatively painless and doctor Ackerman was great! very polite but most importantly very skilled. I will be sure to recommend him

December 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I appreciated Dr. Ackerman checking with me to find out how I was tolerating the probe and biopsies.

December 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Ackerman did a very fine job with my problem. Great doctor.

November 30, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I felt like *Dr. Ackerman provided great customer service.

November 09, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Ackerman is a very good doctor. I really like him.

November 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Ackerman has been excellent. Monitoring my condition, finding cancer almost the minute it started, having his staff call me and make appointments. A really good person as well as a good doctor. Truly amazing -

October 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Ackerman is a super good guy

October 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Ackerman and his nurse provided excellent care. They are professional, thorough, pleasant and I have great confidence in them. *Dr. Ackerman understood my concerns, evaluated them, and provided a follow-up plan.

October 03, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very pleased with care I have with *Dr. Ackerman.

July 19, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

"Excellent dr." He cares about his pts. I highly recommend him. Thank you very much!

March 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have nothing but praise for *Dr. Ackerman. I would recommend *Dr. Ackerman to any man who needs prostrate surgery.

March 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I arrived early and *Dr. Ackerman saw me ahead my scheduled appointment. Outstanding unheard of!

February 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have great confidence in *Dr. Douglas Ackerman.

February 17, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very impressed w/*Dr. Ackerman & his assistant. He's very compassionate & understanding. I've never met a doctor that I've been so impressed with.

February 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Ackerman is a fantastic Dr. You couldn't ask for a better one. He's a great listener & reflects great concern.

February 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

[name] & *Dr. Douglas Ackerman were AWESOME! 5 stars (Sunny Brook urology!)

January 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good experience with Dr. Ackerman

January 13, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The scoping of my bladder has been taken care by *Dr. A. Ackerman for about 10 yrs. He has been very professional and courteous during this period.

January 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have a very good relationship with my PCP. I trust her advice and judgement. She has been a real find -- I hope she sticks around KP for a long time.

October 29, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

We like our DR and nurses!

October 20, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I love Doctor Akerman. He made me feel like he really cared. Not someone he had to rush to get in an out of his office.

October 14, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was very impressed with Dr. Ackerman. It was one of the best doctor's visit I've ever had. Exactly what meeting with a Doctor should be.

October 13, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I grew up, mostly, in California and attended Stanford University for my undergraduate education. Subsequently, I spent four years in Nashville, Tennessee completing my medical degree at Vanderbilt University. During medical school I became interested in kidney transplantation, and ultimately Urology, and therefore sought out a Urology residency that placed significant emphasis in the field of renal transplantation. The Oregon Health and Science University (OHSU) Urology residency was an excellent match for me. The bounty and physical beauty of the Northwest grabbed me immediately, and when I met my wife (a Portland native) it became very clear that we would be settling down in Oregon. We have two children (that's it!) and are experiencing the joy and travails of parenthood.

About my practice

I have a general urology practice. Since 2005, my internal area of interest has become robotic surgery primarily for prostate cancer, but also for various other urologic conditions. The improvement in robotic technology, over such a short time period, has truly enabled us to perform complex procedures with great precision and patient safety.

How I thrive

It may be a clich_, but life is about balance and commitment. In medicine, the diversity of patients I see and treat, the multitude of problems encountered and procedures performed, and blend of surgical practice and clinic time has kept my professional life consistently interesting and stimulating. Outside the hospital, my interests range from viticulture, enology, sports, and mostly trying to keep up with my young children.

Medical School ?

Vanderbilt University School of Medicine
Nashville