Douglas M. Lackowski MD
4.8 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Interstate Medical Office Central
3600 North Interstate Ave.
Portland, OR 97227

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.8
Overall Score
  • 4.5
    Wait Time
  • 4.9
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.9
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.8
    Explanations
  • 4.8
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 243 Ratings
  • 42 Comments

I have been under *Dr. Lackowski's care for about 9 years and I have always been extremely happy with his care.

June 08, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Good experience.

June 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent care. *Dr. L. is the best.

May 09, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Douglas M. Lackowski MD the best of the best.

April 26, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr Lackowski is a very good doctor and helps reassure me when I feel anxious.

April 19, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellant!

April 10, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I'm grateful for *Dr. Lackowski's high levels of competence and caring! Warmly, [name]

April 09, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Easy to ask any questions. Pleasant experience to attend the visit.

April 09, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Lackowski is very personable. He listens to us and cares about our views. // Dr Lackowski takes a very bad situation and gives us hope. For a Cancer patient, How much better can tihat get.

March 12, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

All good!

January 22, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am grateful to receive the professional help and expertise from my doctor & his assistant. Thanks for the good job to provide the medical support & care.

January 19, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Lackowski is the best doctor! Kind, patient thoughtful, smart.

January 18, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

First time with this doctor. Took time to review condition, review past history. Very honest about what to expect in future - in general terms of course. VERY impressed!

December 20, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I'm still here today, because of *Dr. Lackoweski, he is truly my hero and I owe my life to him.

December 13, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The oncology department , staff and Dr. Lakowsky have shown the utmost professionalism and compassion for a difficult time in my life. I can not begin to express my gratitude for the comfort and support provided. Thank you all so much. [name]

December 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Lackowski has taken excellent care of me for the last 8 years. He is one of the providers who has saved my life.

December 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I'm very blessed and thankful *Dr. M. Lackowski is the BEST. [name]

November 30, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Lackowski was a great doctor I do not have any had comments at all. He saved my life. Thank you doctor.

November 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Lackowski is a wonderful doctor- patient, kind, gentle and considerate. I am so glad he is my oncologist!! I appreciate his advice & know he has my best interests at heart. He gets a "10". [name]

October 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Lckowski and his staff are wondercful!

August 25, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Lackowski is the best!!

August 24, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

One of the best physicians that I've seen at Kaiser! Involved with their patients, open to questions & concerns and consideration's of other types of treatment (why & why not). So much better to deal with a doctor who knows we all have different ways that seem right to us individually.

July 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I've filled several surveys on Dr. Lackowski, and I'll say the same thing that I first said eight years ago: one of the best doctors I've every had. Period.

July 20, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Lackowski is a great doctor surrounded by an exceptional team.

June 30, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Visit was fine!

June 26, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Lackowski cares about me. I always look forward to a chance to discuss my concerns with him.

June 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have nothing but praise and appreciation for *Dr. Lackowski and the entire oncology department.

June 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Lackowski is so caring & courteous!

May 24, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Lackowski and the staff are courteous and observant. The Dr. listens to every concerns. The wait time is always short. Having cancer is traumatic, he is comforting, and works with us to administer the treatment. Thank you.

May 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Lackowski has really great manners and ALWAYS listens and cares about my cancer problems. For me, has has been very knowledgeable about my case, and he has always prescribed the right procedure & medication.

April 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Lackowski has been my oncologist since 2008 and I am very satisfied.

March 30, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Lacowski is always willing to answer questions and address concerns

March 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Good eye contact. Did not feel rushed through the appt. // Dr. Lackowski had great compassion and was a good listener and answered questions.

February 23, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

No bad experiences, with pleasant and informative appointments.

January 19, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I would not recommend this doctor to anyone else.

January 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr is very supportive of me.

January 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I appreciate Dr. Lackowski's friendly, knowledgeable, and professional manner.

December 30, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Lackowski is A-rated in every respect. I feel very fortunate to have him as my oncologist; he saw me through my whole treatment program and is still there for me. An wonderful physician. // Excellent experience. Staff and doctor very polite and kind.

December 16, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am very lucky to have Dr Lackowski as my oncologist. He goes out of his way to help me. Last summer, when I had to cancel an appt due to a back problem, he called instead and was very helpful and caring as he has been the last seven years.

November 12, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Lockowski and his staff are outstanding!

October 21, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent i n all areas.

October 21, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Lackowski is wonderful!! He listens, he cares, he answers the questions!!!

September 03, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was born in San Diego, CA. My father is a retired Navy Captain still living in San Diego, but I also grew up in the Carolinas, where my mother's family roots are planted. I have one sibling, my sister, who is a nurse in Los Angeles. I decided upon a career in medicine while I was a college sophomore, which wasn't long after my mother died from cancer. I came to Portland to train at Oregon Health & Science University and I've been here ever since.

About my practice

My practice focuses on general oncology and hematology. My philosophy is to consider each person as the unique individual they are, and to apply the science of medicine in a humane and effective manner. I am a believer in evidence-based medicine, and when possible I will advise my patients to go onto a clinical trial so that we can improve the science and hopefully find tomorrow's cure. I give advice to my patients in a "partnership" so that they might live their lives to fullest however they define that.

How I thrive

Whether you prefer the phrase "carpe diem" (meaning seize the day) or "joie de vivre" (joy of life), I believe we need to live each day to the fullest capacity. For me this mostly means time with my family, perhaps coaching my son's soccer team or just being together. The other part of that fulfillment is being an Oncologist. I also make sure to find time for some fly fishing.

Medical School ?

University of South Carolina School of Medicine
Columbia

Medical Training ?

Hematology/Medical Oncology
Oregon Health & Science University
Portland OR

Internal Medicine
Oregon Health & Science University
Portland OR

Board Certification ?

Medical Oncology
American Board of Internal Medicine