Douglas S. Whitten DO
4.6 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Mill Plain One Medical Office
203 SE Park Plaza Dr Suite 140
Vancouver, WA 98684

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.6
Overall Score
  • 4.7
    Wait Time
  • 4.6
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.6
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.6
    Explanations
  • 4.6
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 126 Ratings
  • 30 Comments

Efficient and competent. Reassuring!

March 22, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I had an excellent experience with *Dr. Whitten and staff.

February 06, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Deff. will recommend *Dr. Whitten to our family & friends. Dr. Whitten is the best surgeon we have had professional & confident respectful & friendly. Very informative. We were cared for through this who ordeal.

December 13, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Whitten is great. Outstanding care.

November 14, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

We really appreciated meeting *Dr. Whitten and his staff pending my hip replacement surgery. He made us feel so comfortable and confident to be in good hands!

November 13, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Whitten is so special & caring.

October 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Doctor very considerate and caring. Listened carefully & responded to my concerns. Presented options for my consideration. Thank you!

October 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The doctor's manner is too abrupt. My appointment was brief (probably 1st one in the morning), but I had the impression he wanted to get out quickly - This is not my usual experience with Kaiser doctors.

September 14, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Was very impressed with *Dr. Douglas S. Whitten. Enjoyed our numerous medical visits to his exam rooms. Will miss our visits!!! [name]

August 29, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Whitten is great with his answering questions and letting me know what's going on with my concerns.

August 08, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Whitten is wonderful and I would return because of him.

June 23, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

"SUPERIOR" cortisone injection of left knee -

February 22, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Whitten has given me the best of care. I would not want any other dr. to treat me.

February 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Whitten may be a little "stiff" but nice and took care of everything need.

January 26, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Superior care provider!

January 26, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Whitten is a wonderful doctor and I receive excellent care from him.

October 24, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr.Whitten & the staff at Mill Plain One are very professional & easy to work with.

August 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I don't think I'm a good match with this Dr. I need someone who is more dialed into sports medicine & people with active lifestyle.

July 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Everyone was pleasant, but I especially appreciated *Dr. Witten's care - he explained my needs very clearly and provided clear options. Thanks for the good treatment! [name]

May 31, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am sure *Dr. Whitten is fully competent and good at his job. I saw him one time only. On that day he exhibited zero "people skills". He sounded angry and was rude and even mean. Based on my experience with him on that one day. I will not have any further contact with him.

May 26, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Whitten is the best best of all-

May 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Although x-rays were taken prior to my seeing *Dr. Whitten, he did not refer to them while with me. I asked when a knee replacement might be necessary and he said "when the x-rays indicate the need" but he didn't show them to me or use them for teaching me about my knee.

February 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The service was excellent as always.

January 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Whitten is very engaging and makes you feel at ease. Comfortable and confident with his as our Orthopaedic Dr.

December 16, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good. No delays. Have met her before and always very nice.

December 16, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Physician was thorough

December 16, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Whitten is an excellent doctor. Very friendly full of smiles and very concerned. Did an excellent job of surgery on my knee. [name]

November 17, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Whitten spent lots of time with us, explaining xrays and helping us make a decision to have total hip replacement. In one week since having the surgery and I'm doing great. What a talented surgeon.

October 20, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Because of his demeanor by the end of the consultation I knew I'd feel comfortable if *Dr Whitten were the one to do my surgery.

September 16, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Whitten knew he was not going to do my hip replacement due to my not meeting his BMI and weight. Instead of calling me and informing me of that he had an appointment made. Not only did that waste his time and mine but since I am on a fixed income that wasted gas and money I need. I am very unhappy about that. I would have much been okay by a call saying I'm not ready yet.

August 24, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am from Detroit, Michigan. I trained in the Henry Ford Health system.

About my practice

I practice general orthopedic surgery with an emphasis on primary knee and hip replacement. In addition, sports surgery on the knee and shoulder.

How I thrive

I enjoy practicing general orthopedics.

Medical School ?

Michigan State University College of Osteopathic Medicine
East Lansing

Medical Training ?

Orthopaedic Surgery
Bi-County Community Hospital
Warren MI

Board Certification ?

Orthopedic Surgery
American Osteopathic Board of Orthopedic Surgery