Earl M. Kono DO
4.7 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Interstate Medical Office East
3550 North Interstate Ave.
Portland, OR 97227

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.7
Overall Score
  • 4.5
    Wait Time
  • 4.8
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.8
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.8
    Explanations
  • 4.7
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 242 Ratings
  • 37 Comments

Earl is a great doctor.

May 14, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kono is constantly concerned about my blood pressure, and he lets me know it. In a kind way.

May 08, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I've always had excellent care provided by Dr. Kono, and have recommended him to others often.

February 26, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I always enjoy my visits with Dr. Kono. He is concerned about you and always makes sure you understand everything.

February 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kono is always a delight to see. Very good bedside manner and always has a smile and a kind word.

January 30, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kono is TOPS

January 23, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kono is great!

January 23, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kono is a very caring doctor and gives me confidence that he cares about me as a person.

January 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kono takes the trouble to answer all my questions. // I have the utmost confidence in Dr. Kono.

December 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kono is the quintessential doctor in all respects. I never leave feeling I have unanswered questions.

October 26, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Kono is the BEST. He is the kindest man & caring doctor. [name]

October 24, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kono is a competent and compassionate physician. He is an asset to Kaiser. I'm diabetic. Dr. Kono keeps me healthy and in shape in my 83 years old. I'm thankful to his caring.

September 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My primary care physician is always very concerned about my health.

August 17, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kono is not my regular primary care provider. If I didn't like my regular provider so much, I'd try to switch to *Dr. Kono. He is a credit to Kaiser!

July 13, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kano could not have been more attentive to my problem and has begun a regimen that may lead to my recovery. He gave me ever confidence that I will heal, and that is a large part of a medical practice.

July 13, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kono is not perfect (he is human), but he is the best Dr. (by far) I have ever had in my almost 67 yrs here on the planet.

July 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Earl M. Kono is great dr. to me - he is so nice and friendly one. I love him - [name]

June 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have every confidence in *Dr. Kono.

June 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Was happy with the *Dr. Kono and staff.

June 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I feel I get the best of care!

May 30, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kono referred me to Occupational Therapy which was exactly what I needed.

May 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Absolutely no bad experience. Everything turn out 100% good experience precisely.

March 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kono took his time and really looked at my problem.

March 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I love Dr. Kono and I have recommended him to folks looking for a PCP @ Kaiser.

March 09, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kono does a good job and I am very happy with his performance.

February 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kono and other staff I saw provided a high degree of professional care and showed concern for me.

February 17, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was a first visit. As Dr. Kono pointed out, it will take time and a number of visits to cover all of my health issues, which is what I expected. I believe we did stick to my most pressing concerns, making them priority, and appreciate that. The one drawback: When I said I'd begun a walking program of 1/2 - 1 mile/day, it was met with the comment that for weight loss purposes (not why I'm exercising), a half mile walk only = a slice of bread. (In other words, don't bother?) I'm sure Dr. Kono did not mean to leave this impression, but it has taken me some big-time mental adjustment just to get to the point of thinking in terms of having an "exercise program", and the remark was a bit discouraging. I was pleased, though, with the assurance that we would address all of my concerns over the next few months, and Dr.'s effective lining out of priorities. Thank you!

February 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I really appreciated the communication from Dr. Kono. It was very prompt and even after hours. Thank you!

January 25, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Good experience.

November 08, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Love Doctor Kono. He is an excellent Doctor with a great bedside manner. He takes his time and is very kind, understanding and non-judgmental.

November 08, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kono is awesome. He is kind, caring and an excellent, well-informed and honest communicator. // I was very satisfied with my care and all aspects of my time before, during and after my appointment with Dr. Kono.

October 26, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kono has been my primary care giver for years. If I wasn't happy with him, I wouldn't be going to him.

October 25, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kono has a calming effect when he communicates.

October 07, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Kono is great!

September 30, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great dr. & nurse they really care.

September 23, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kono and his staff are so kind and always give me the information and care that I need. Can't imagine my health care without Dr. Kono.

September 13, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I feel good about the visit .

August 17, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was born in Okinawa, Japan during my father's Army military service. We relocated to Hawaii when I was two years old and I grew up on the island of Oahu with my two brothers, sister, and large extended family. Much of my childhood was spent enjoying outdoor activities such as surfing, swimming, fishing, and skin diving. I graduated from the University of Hawaii with a degree in Zoology and went on to attend Western University of Health Sciences in Pomona, California earning my medical degree. I moved to Oregon in 1988 and completed my Internal Medicine residency at Oregon Health and Science University (OHSU). My wife is a pediatric clinical nurse specialist and diabetes educator at Oregon Health and Science University. We have two sons, a senior at the University of Oregon and a high school senior.

About my practice

In 1991 I joined Kaiser Permanente practicing Internal Medicine at the East Interstate Medical Office. I work with a great team of support staff and sub-specialty colleagues. I especially enjoy my geriatric patient population. They have such great stories and life experiences to share; I always learn so much from them.

How I thrive

In my spare time I can be found enjoying my favorite activities--surfing and stand-up paddle surfing--on the Oregon coast and river estuaries. When the surf is not up, I can be found at Mount Hood, snowboarding with my family, or taking long walks with my wife.

Medical School ?

Western University of Health Sciences College of Osteopathic Medicine of the Pacific
Pomona

Medical Training ?

Internal Medicine
Oregon Health & Science University
Portland OR

Board Certification ?

Internal Medicine
American Board of Internal Medicine