Ellen L. Singer MD
4.8 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Interstate Medical Office East
3550 North Interstate Ave.
Portland, OR 97227

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.8
Overall Score
  • 4.6
    Wait Time
  • 4.8
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.8
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.8
    Explanations
  • 4.8
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 139 Ratings
  • 68 Comments

my doctor is great

July 19, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I love my doctor

April 24, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Best doctor at Kaiser. Made time for me when I was sick.

April 05, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Singer is outstanding. She makes the client feel as though she is the most important person in the world for the time she is interacting. She explains thoroughly and carefully, and her knowledge is excellent. She is also interested in the whole person, not just a particular injury or complaint. I can't say enough positive things about her.

March 30, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Ellen Singer is the best doctor I have ever had and I am 73 years old! She is very very responsive to a patients needs and takes immediate action!

March 27, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

one of the best heathlcare provider i have had at Kaiser.

March 21, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I love my dr. she's amazing. Always, making me feel so special.

March 14, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Singer is an excellent provider. She shows genuine interest and concern. She talks me through the visit and treatment plan. I moved to [other city], continue to see her. Wouldn't want another provider.

March 08, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

She is everything we all want in our doctor: very smart, very experienced, very kind. If it weren't for the ethical considerations, I'd say clone her.

February 28, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This woman saved my life and hold her in high esteem.

February 08, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Singer is wonderful - she explains everything and is easy to talk with and very accessible.

February 06, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Singer is one of the best doctors I have had in my 40+ years with KP! She is attentive to my needs even when I do not have an appointment with her in that she always personally follows up on any lab tests that she knows I have concerns about even if she is out of town! She always listens well; is caring; and never makes me feel she doesn't have enough time for me! She is wonderful!

January 19, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Singer really cares about me and I must say I am a real handful. I feel very secure with her decisions and hope she never retires. I am sure there are other patients who feel the same. This is a difficult time in my life but I have far worse in the past and Dr.Singer got me through it. She is wonderful and a very nice person.

January 18, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Singer is a very good listener. She includes me and my daughters in any discussion and decision.

December 21, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Singer is the embodiment of an ideal primary care provider. I have no second thoughts ever about recommending Kaiser or *Ellen Singer to my friends and family.

December 20, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Ellen reads the chart before you get in the office some don't - She is caught up. She looks everywhere including feet. She knows what tests to order and is good at referring me to specialists when needed. I love that there is a piece of paper with info when you leave the office. *Ellen makes good notes.

December 08, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Singer is the best primary care physician I have ever had in my life.

November 07, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

If every team was like *Dr. Singer and her assistant, people would be happier. I feel good and safe expressing my needs w/this team and they continue to show a sincere concern for my needs. I'm blessed to have them!

September 18, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Liked her so much, esp. her detail orientation, that I am considering changing providers.

September 07, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Doctor & staff very good.

August 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Singer is always accomodating and a very skillful physician. She examined me good and asked questions that I understand. Anybody is lucky to have her as their Primary Care giver.

May 26, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Singer is very thorough, ease in medical care and takes the time to talk and explain procedure. // Most professional and caring

May 22, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

extremely helpful

May 16, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have had *Dr. Singer & [name] for years they are always highly respectable friendly & professional they both deserve gold stars!

May 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Singer is always very thorough and anticipates needs for follow up and testing

March 21, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Singer is hands down the best Dr I've ever had. My entire family sees her and all of us truly value her as our Primary Care Provider. She is extremely knowledgeable, kind and efficient. I just can't say enough great things about her.

March 08, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Singer is great - very attentive, friendly & knowledgeable.

March 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I feel fortunate to have Ellen Singer as my PCP. She is an excellent doctor, who is also insightful and compassionate.

March 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Singer is a jewel. She always answers all concerns and checks history to see if anything I haven't brought up needs to be looked at. She has taken care of our family for years and the only bad experience I could imagine in future would be her retirement.

February 13, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

What a GREAT health care provider!

February 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Singer has my full confidence -- her style is perfect for me -- caring and businesslike at the same time.

January 04, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Ellen and [name] were fantastic-

November 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Singer represents the best of Kaiser Permanente. Outstanding in patient care she takes time to listen and carefully explain. Very professional and expertly recommends other staff members when their expertise is required. Excellent!

October 17, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Ellen Singer is a wonderful doctor, who I'm very grateful to have on my side. She actively listens and empathizes with her patients. She always provides professional advice and solutions for health challenges, whether acute or chronic. She helps you to feel comfortable in confiding in her, and in that way she builds a very special trust and bond with her patients.

September 16, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Ellen Singer is a wonderful, caring provider. KaiserPermanente is lucky to have her.

September 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I love Dr.Ellen Singer and [name].

September 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Singer and assistant [name] provided a thorough annual exam, answered questions well.

September 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Singer is the bee's knees

September 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I appreciate Dr. Singer and the consistent high level of care that she delivers. Thanks so muc! // Dr. Singer truly is the best doctor I've ever had.

August 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Always a pleasure seeing Dr Singer.

June 23, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Singer is the best. She's an excellent and very caring doctor. We're lucky to have her as our care provider.

June 20, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

No complaints - just amazing care.

June 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Singer is a 10 plus star provider.

June 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Singer is absolutely fabulous.

May 16, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I ADORE *Dr. Singer. She is incredible and _____ gives our whole family exceptional care.

May 13, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I really appreciate the care I have received.

May 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Singer is especially good & she has a very good nurse to help.

April 21, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

dr. singer and [name] are always awesome

April 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Singer is very professional, outstanding doctor.

April 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Thank you *Dr. Singer & staff for keeping me on top of my maintenance care needs and for helping me feel genuinely cared for!

March 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I feel so lucky to have Ellen Singer as my main provider. She is the VERY BEST!!!!

February 16, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Singer is the reason I keep my Kaiser insurance. I feel confident having her for my doctor!!!

January 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The appointment was excellent care.

January 19, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

You can't get better than Dr. Singer. I have great confidence in her and her ability to treat me or my daughter for any health issues that may arise.

January 13, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

DR K. JONES IS A GREAT DOCTOR

January 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Singer is thorough, collaborative and concerned with my overall health.

December 28, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Singer was so kind. She took a lot of time to talk to me about my health issues. I really, really appreciate her.

December 24, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Singer is outstanding in all ways.

December 17, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Singer and [name] continue to be the best there is!!!!!!! They are a phenomenal team and are role models for a Doctor and Nurse Assistant....Caring, knowledgeable about me and my family; have great bedside manners; their follow-up is exemplar art !!!!!!!! Clone them .... Every doctor and nurse assistant should be like them!!!!!!!!!!!!! Kudos to them

November 16, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Couldn't ask for better!!

November 12, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Ellen is very thorough, professional.

November 04, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Have never had a bad experience with *Dr. Singer. She is top notch in my book.

October 14, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My bad experience is how he/she is for the doctor to describe medicine instead of nutrition,speaking to a nutritionist is never mentioned in my conversation with my care provider.

September 28, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I just love being able to see my provider, she's caring, and very thorough. I always leave with a great experience from her and her Medical Assistant.

September 24, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I Love My Doctor She's So Cool! & Straight To The Point. She's Not One To Tell You Any Lies She's All About Finding A Solution To The Illness

September 09, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My experience was perfect, no issues whatsoever. I was in the doctor's office 10 minutes before my appointment time and the appointment was efficient and friendly. I feel fortunate to have Ellen Singer as my PCP and look forward to seeing her and her assistant every year.

September 04, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

ordered labs I needed done and was helpful faxing the results to another outside clinic

August 31, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My whole family loves *Dr. Singer. She is amazing! She remembers everything and that means so much. My kids are NEVER afraid to come see her and my youngest ALWAYS looks forward to it. I trust her completely with my family's care. We love *Ellen!!

August 28, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was born in Oakland, California and spent most of my childhood in the San Francisco Bay Area. My family moved to Southern California when I was in high school. I attended Johns Hopkins University for two years then transferred to the University of California, Berkeley where I majored in chemistry but also worked tutoring students in English and writing. After graduating from UC Berkeley, I worked first at the San Francisco VA Medical Center in a research lab. I then took a job at Lawrence Hall of Science and worked in curriculum design and as a chemistry instructor. In 1986 I moved to Rochester, New York where I attended the University of Rochester School of Medicine. I chose to stay in Rochester for my combined Internal Medicine and Pediatrics residency. My husband completed his MBA in Rochester while I was in residency. We moved to Portland, Oregon in 1995 with our two young sons. My youngest son was born in 2000. I worked at Oregon Health and Science University (OHSU) in internal medicine, pediatrics and primary care until 2001 when I joined Northwest Permanente.

About my practice

I was extremely fortunate to train in a medical community that valued primary care and evidence-based community medicine. I also had extensive training in emergency medicine and critical care. My combined internal medicine and pediatrics training allowed me to care for patients of all ages in all care settings. I enjoy caring for patients of all ages.

How I thrive

Each day brings surprise and opportunities to learn and grow. I try to find some quiet time in each day to reflect on this - usually when walking my dog in the early morning or after work. I make an effort to keep in close contact with friends and mentors. I have been on the Neighborhood House board of directors since 2008 and am now board president. I am also a volunteer for many of my boys' hobbies and activities. My husband manages a successful farmers' market that continues our link to our community.

Medical School ?

University of Rochester School of Medicine and Dentistry
Rochester

Medical Training ?

Internal Medicine
University of Rochester
Rochester NY

Pediatrics
University of Rochester
Rochester NY

Board Certification ?

Pediatrics
American Board of Pediatrics

Internal Medicine
American Board of Internal Medicine