Emily E. Nam OD
4.8 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Interstate Medical Office Central
3600 North Interstate Ave.
Portland, OR 97227

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.8
Overall Score
  • 4.7
    Wait Time
  • 4.8
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.8
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.8
    Explanations
  • 4.8
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 405 Ratings
  • 108 Comments

10/10 would recommend my eye doctor.

July 20, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I really appreciated Dr Nam's direct and friendly communication style. She is awesome and I felt my questions and needs were readily and clearly addressed.

July 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

She was great very engaging and friendly will see her again !

July 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The Dr. was friendly.

June 22, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

mentioned a couple of concerns and it didn't seem like she fully listened to me and just handed me some artificial tears. felt rushed to get out of the office

June 14, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

She was professional, thorough, and efficient.

May 29, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

thorough, informative, friendly and kind. and smart.

May 18, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This is my second time I have been attended by Dr. Emily E. Nam and I think she is absolutely wonderful. She remembered me and was very knowledgeable and pleasant.

April 18, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

great experience she told me why I was having trouble reading with contacts and fixed the problem

April 11, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My favorite Dr. ever!

March 23, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Good

March 20, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Nam was great and spent the extra time to educate me.

March 15, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good experience.

March 14, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Nam was very competent and i had a great experience.

February 20, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

fantastic

February 16, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Nam explained things so well! I felt like I was her only patient!

January 31, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Loved this provider!!

January 31, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I had seen Emily Nam b4 at the Beaverton office. It was nice to see her again. She took care of my concerns; was very helpful.

January 30, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Nam is amazing!

January 26, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Nam was efficient, courteous, and extremely likable. // She was fantastic, highly personable.

January 05, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was rescheduled to Dr. Nam and she was awesome! she explained my options for contacts and got me in for a follow-up appt. before I left on a trip. All good..

December 22, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I felt at ease with Dr. Nam though I had never met her before.

December 20, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Nam was wonderful - professional feel she was very thorough & explained things as the eye exam went along // Absolutely will recommend Dr Nam!

November 22, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am very satisfied with Dr. Nam, and feel confident in her ongoing care. I was particularly impressed with her concern to keep a close watch on my tendency to develop glaucoma, as exhibited by my family history.

November 08, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

She knows my history and acts accordingly. Discusses changes and what it may mean in the future.

October 31, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

er personality is a little stiff. I didn't feel any personal connection. she did a good job technically and reassured me that she could help me.

October 12, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Emily Nam has been my Optician for many years. I always look forward to seeing her and trust in the high quality of her service. She is very friendly and caring. I would give her an A++ rating

September 15, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Nam was very kind and helpful in getting me to try contact lenses for the first time. She had a great relaxed and confident vibe that made me feel at ease. I will definitely try to make appointments with her again in the future.

August 17, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

excellent!

August 10, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

terrific

August 03, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Nam was professional and friendly. Couldn't ask for better care.

July 11, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Nam was very friendly & personable. She made me feel at ease and confidant in her abilities

June 23, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Nam listened carefully to my concerns and thoroughly responded to them. I have great confidence in her skills and knowledge.

June 15, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

the doctor was very patient and easy going. made me feel very comfortable. look forward to seeing her for any future eye needs

May 24, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Outstanding service from start to finish. Attention to detail, friendly, great communication, no delays. All questions answered.

April 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Nam and her assistant were professional, warm and thoroughly helpful.

March 17, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Nam is a wonderful doctor! She's friendly, professional, courteous, and explains things very well. I have total confidence and trust in her.

March 10, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Nam was amazing! Very thorough, clear, and thoughtful.

March 10, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Nam was very kind and great to work with. I already have an established eye doctor but if I didn't I would definitely see Dr. Nam again!

March 08, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Nam was very efficient, caring & she gave me one of the best eye exams I have ever had with Kaiser - I will return next year to see her -

March 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My main concern was that she didn't talk to me about what she discovered during the exam. She told me she wanted another screening to be done and that the results might take awhile. I didn't hear the word glaucoma, but learned after the appt. (by reading the exam summary) that that was what the other test was for. I thought that glaucoma is a serious eye disease and thought there could have been some conversation about it. I would have asked questions if I had been given more information.

February 23, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My wife & I love *Dr. Nam.

February 22, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

She and her MA/RN were great and supportive while my child refused to follow through with the exam.

February 10, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very impressed with *Emily Narn. She was very professional as well as personable. I was very comfortable talking with her and she showed interest in my questions and comments even though I'm sure she's heard then many times before from other patients.

February 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent doctor

January 26, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent people skills, great visit

January 18, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Nam was personal, personable, attentive, and able to easily explain what is going on with my eye 'flashes.' I heartily recommend her!

January 18, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Nam is awesome. She listened to my concerns, did a thorough examination and was professional and positive throughout.

January 13, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very Good

January 05, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was impressed. I plan to request Dr. Nam in the future.

December 21, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I liked the doctor.

December 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Good experience. Doctor was very empathetic to my with the eye testing machine. Very thorough. Thanks for a good experience.

December 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Emily Namm and her assistant were terrific!

November 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Nam was so kind and patient with my daughter. This was her first eye exam so she was a little nervous but Dr. Nam made her feel at ease very quickly. Thank you for the wonderful care and experience!

November 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good

November 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My provider (eye doctor) was exceptionally courteous and respectful about listening to me.

November 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Was dismissive about my concerns.

November 03, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Nam explained why I was having vision troubles and recommended action to determine the severity of the problem.

October 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was impressed with Dr. Nam's calm but efficient manner. She answered my questions without making any of them seem trite. She was very positive.

October 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I very much appreciated the courtesy of all the support staff and the wonderful attention and the manner of the assistant to the doctor and particularly the Dr. Nan. She was GREAT! I appreciate she took time to answer my questions and help me understand my eyesight.

October 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Nam was excellent. She was very calm and caring, and I have very high confidence in her abilities.

October 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Emily Nam has been my Optician for any years. I have the highest regard for her care and for her friendliness.

October 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The provider was very friendly, demonstrated empathy, and created a positive experience. She was able to address my concerns and conveyed clear information.

September 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Nam was kind and gentle, taking time to listen to what I had to say. At the end of my visit she made a point of telling me to contact her if there was a problem with my new perscription. She was excellent.

August 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

excellent

August 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

such a great first eye visit for [name]. wonderful staff and Dr Nam was great!

August 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

such a great first eye visit for [name]! Dr Nam was excellent.

August 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I trust her a lot I have macular degeneration in one eye and do not want in my good eye.

July 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good experience.

July 20, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I've seen Dr. Nam for several years, annually for glasses and on other occasions. Very pleased with her and will continue.

June 30, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

She was phenomenal working with my daughter and made her feel very comfortable during the appointment

June 23, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

very friendly and professional. hope to return to this doctor!

June 17, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Loved Dr. Nam. The appointment was efficient and thorough and quick.

June 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Nam is great. She is very competent, courteous, patient, and listens well.

June 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very professional.

June 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Emily is greatI

May 26, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

one of my best opto visits ever

May 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

she was condescending, frequently interrupted me, talked over me, and did not listen to my questions or concerns since she kept giving me the same response which didn't address my concerns or answer my questions.

May 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

While I think *Dr. Nam is entirely competent, she SPED though the exam

May 03, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The doctor appeared to be thorough and committed to her calling.

April 20, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

She was awesome, super friendly and informative and kind and helpful. I really enjoyed the visit.

April 20, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Nam is an excellent physician. Remembers me and my previous visits. Provides sound advise in a professional, caring fashion. I cannot recommend her highly enough.

April 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

It was great.

April 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Love *Dr. Nam.

April 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good experience. Thank you!

March 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The care provider was courteous, thorough, and helpful.

March 09, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The way it is suppose to work! Good experience

February 17, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Emily is an excellent Dr she is very thorough and I feel she cares about my eye health

January 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I really enjoyed Emily E. Nam, OD. She was very professional but explained things in layman terms so that I could understand. She also had a great sense of humor. It was a good experience.

January 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Nam was pleasant and professional -- I look forward to seeing her again next year.

January 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I really like Dr. Nam. She is very personable and appears very competent.

December 08, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Nam has such a caring and gentile approach. I wish that she could be my regular physician. She makes you feel that you are the most important person and ensures you are well cared for. Best physician ever.

December 01, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Nam herself welcomed me to the exam room, as on the day of my actual appointment her assistant was out ill! I no sooner had sat down in the waiting area than she greeted me. // I truly enjoy seeing Dr. Nam.

November 16, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Nam explained the changes in vision that I had been experiencing and helped me understand what I hadn't known about aging eyes. She was a great help in calming fears that I had been experiencing. A new prescription willhelp me read more easily! A very good visit. [name]

November 16, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good experience with my first time visit with this dr.

November 10, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Nam was amazingly knowledgable, personable, and patient centered. this was my first eye exam as an adult and she made the process so comfortable and easy

November 05, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Nam was friendly, professional, and thorough, as always.

October 26, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very easy to get an appointment, minimal wait time at the clinic, and assistant and doctor were both friendly and explained issue well. Doctor took time to answer questions, and recommended follow-up care.

October 19, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The doctor super friendly and hope to see her again for routine check.

October 15, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

All good experience..very good Dr realationship

October 01, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am so happy I found Dr. Nam.

September 30, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Nam is always very friendly, thorough, professional, and joy to see. Also, her assistant, [name] is great!

September 09, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

excellent staff.

September 03, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

pooh-poohed my concerns about issues that had been previously given to me by a highly judged Portland physician from the medical school.

September 01, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Emily Nam is a top notch professional eye care provider with a warm and easygoing personality. She's always fully up to date with technology and gladly answers my many questions about the exam and treatment procedures. I hope she will be retained by Kaiser for very long time.

August 18, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

also very friendly and competent

August 17, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

very good

August 17, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Emily is patient, knowledgeable and professional.

August 03, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I moved from Seoul, Korea to the United States with my family when I was young and received my education and training in Portland, Oregon. My parents always stressed the importance of hard work and humility and I've always wanted to do something that made a difference in people's lives. I love living here and caring for Kaiser Permanente members. I've done some international pro-bono work, bringing eye care to people in third world countries, which I found enormously rewarding.

About my practice

I consider myself on a team with my patients. My core practice philosophy focuses on working and making decisions together. I keep the line of communication open with my patients, and try to build trust and good relationships. I'll give you my best, and I want your best as well.

How I thrive

Being healthy takes work. As much as I love sitting on my butt, I'm committed to keeping myself healthy both mentally and physically. I swim and bike for fitness, and enjoy classical music, cooking, travelling and spending time with my family and friends. Trying and discovering new things keeps me engaged.

Medical School ?

Pacific University
Forest Grove

Medical Training ?

Optometry
Pacific University
Forest Grove OR

Board Certification ?