Emily J. Doss MD
4.7 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Mt. Scott Medical Office
9800 SE Sunnyside Road
Clackamas, OR 97015

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.7
Overall Score
  • 4.6
    Wait Time
  • 4.7
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.7
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.7
    Explanations
  • 4.7
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 216 Ratings
  • 62 Comments

Always a pleasure to see Dr. Doss and her staff.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have always found Dr. Doss helpful, straightforward and very approachable about anything

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Miss Emily J. Doss is wonderful! She is very sweet, patient and made me feel safe talking to her and in a vulnerable position.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was fortunate to receive care from *Dr. Doss, after having the best [previous provider] who retired. *Dr. Doss is caring, listens and takes time with me, she and her male nurse [name] are the best!

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very Caring,great listener,Engaged with the topics I wanted to cover ,very thorough in covering the issues,options,medications and next steps for me. Best Doctor I ever had in 73 years in all areas.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Doss is our special dr. We are very happy with her. *Dr. Doss.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I loved both the nurse & *Dr. Doss!

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I felt comfortable explaining my health concerns and having my Dr. respond.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Doss is kind, patient & explains everything thoroughly.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My doctor is very helpful in all areas.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

DR. Doss is wonderful and thorough.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I think Dr. Doss is the BEST! She shows concern for my issues, is responsive, can work with me via email or phone some of the time, and says clearly when she thinks I need to come in. She is knowledgeable and creative. Great doctor.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I requested *Dr. Doss after having an emergency visit. I was so impressed with her, I immediately requested her for my primary care physician. She actually listens to any concerns I have. I don't always have that same experience with others. I have had the opportunity to recommend a primary care physician to other and have done so with complete confidence that she will do a wonderful job for those people as well.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Doss is been the best dr. I've ever had with Kaiser. Very best.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Emily Doss is very thorough, compassionate & knowledgeable. I highly recommend her expertise!

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good experience. I liked how important *Dr. Doss made me feel with my personal issues and problems/concerns.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Doss is friendly answers my questions well, willing to help in any way. I feel comfortable when I come for my appointments - Thank you.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Doss is a wonderful provider!

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My first visit to this care provider. She took time to explain and answer all my questions. I was very pleased! And she made sure to follow up with a phone visit.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Doss really understands mycocers. I am very great full to be her patient.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great, very nice dr.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I told her I'm vegan and she looked up whether the medication she recommended is vegan.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very satisfied with my visit with Dr. [Doss]. Was scheduled for a wellness checkup, but when the day of my appt arrived, I had a cold & fever. Dr. [Doss} was kind enough to put my checkup on hold, treat me for the fever. I've been seeing Dr. Doss for a year now and am very pleased with her.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

She did not listen well, did not seem to trust my knowledge of myself. She referred me to a Behavour Specialist despite my telling her thst I've had the sam therapist for the past 13 years. She immediately went to prescribing medicinema before understanding my quality of life.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was very pleased with experience.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent experience. *Dr. Doss & her assistant friendly, thorough & very concerned about me. *Dr. Doss took her time, asked many questions about my overall health. I am very pleased she is my doctor. [name]

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Doss is a new dr. for me, and I was pleasantly surprised by her receptivity & pro-active approach. She is a breath of fresh air.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Doss is an excellent communicator! She was thorough, detail oriented and totally invested in my health care. I am excited about going forward with her as my doctor. Thank you. [name]

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent as always!!

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Really liked Dr. Doss and was impressed with her knowledge of vitamins and herbal supplements.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Doss was very through and knowledgeable about the medical field

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The best visit I have ever had!

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Doss is wonderful!

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

it was a pleasure to meet Dr. Doss

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I felt the experience was very good.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Best care provider.......EVER!

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was an appointment for interviewing a new PCP. She was very personable and informed of of my ongoing problems.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Doss is not my primary doctor so this is the first time I have seen her. I liked her very much and would be comfortable and confident in seeing her again.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Doss was friendly, professional, attentive, empathetic, knowledgeable and thorough. What more could you ask for in a doctor?

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I really checked out her credentials before choosing this doctor. I was very pleased with my choice.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Emilly Doss is wonderful!..A new doctor that both my husband had chosen.She spent time with me and we did a medication update. She was okay with what I am taking and so ,with her OK ,I feel comfortable with our visit.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am delighted with my doctor of choice. I think it will work out well.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I felt very rushed by the doctor, part of which I take responsibility for as I was 10 minutes late to my appointment. When I tried to bring up another issue to talk about (other than my presenting problem), however, I was very quickly brushed off and told I could talk about it at my next appointment. This could have been handled much better, and without making me feel unimportant and brushed off. I will not be returning to see her again.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Both the Dr. and the nurse showed great care and concern, and encouragement to be healthy.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good, very timely, really enjoyed *Dr. Doss. Felt he was very personable and has helpful and concerned. Have already recommended her to a friend!

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very pleased with nurse and doctor. Very engaged and listened thoroughly to me and was a pleasure to have seen. _____

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good experience! Dr. Dobbs was pleasant, thorough and addressed multiple issues I was experiencing that day.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Doss and her assistant are great people

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was my first visit to Kaiser and to my new doctor. Dr. Doss was respectful, listened carefully and gave good feedback.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good first impression! I was there for "same day appointment" and thought that I might even be interested in having this provider for primary care!

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was my first visit w/*Dr. Doss. She was friendly and nice but not very personable considering, I am looking for a dr. I can continually see for my future needs.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Doss impresses me and I am sure she is a good fit for me.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Doss made a very good impression on me.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

First time meeting Dr Doss. I felt our exchange was positive, and pleasant.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Doss was great. Explained everything about my care. Called me right after my results to tell me I was doing great! She is also my daughters Doctor. We both like her!!!

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I feel like my doctor didn't listen to me. As if I don't know my own body. She didn't seem concerned about what I've been through medically. I haven't had any relief in years, and instead of treating my symptoms first so I can function in my daily life she prescribes anti-depressants that are supposed to help with nerve pain. I'm not convinced my pain is completely nerve related and I had horrible reactions to the medication, and that I was prescribed anti-depressants without a referral to a therapist or any knowledge of what my doctor was thinking.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am a new patient to Dr. Doss and she was GREAT! Took time to listen to my medical problem as well as go over my Kaiser medical history to date. She was very thorough in her exam. Answered all my questions. Couldn't have been a better first appointment. I am glad she is my doctor.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Doss is wonderful. She was warm and friendly, but still maintained a professional decorum. She was made feel like I was her only concern during that time. I appreciate the fact that she gave me her undivided attention. She only made entries on the computer, or referenced it during appropriate pauses.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Seemed hurried, quick appointment, not super personal. Courteous but didn't feel genuine.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

over all good experience, happy that DR.DOSS is moving forward with additional tests to figure out the issues I am having with my hands

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

very caring/concerned doctor that asked a lot of questions and was careful to request the correct lab work

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am originally from South Dakota but now love calling Portland home. I enjoy hiking, running, and doing basically anything outside to keep my family busy; however, the rain is always a great excuse to get my next knitting project underway.

About my practice

My partners and I manage care of adults (18 and older), practicing medicine that's based on evidence and current research. This includes preventive medicine and helping to keep members up to date and informed on recommended cancer screenings, as well as management of chronic disease and other complex issues. I enjoy forming relationships with patients, individualizing care plans, and encouraging understanding of individual health.

How I thrive

I strive to maintain a balanced, healthy lifestyle and believe fully that life is what you make it. I like to stay physically active; having three dogs around provides considerable impetus to go running and hiking, but I also love yoga and cycling. I look forward to springtime for gardening and visiting farmers markets--especially because I also enjoy cooking and trying new recipes to celebrate our locally grown foods.

Medical School ?

University of South Dakota School of Medicine
Vermillion

Medical Training ?

Internal Medicine
Providence St. Vincent Hospital and Medical Center
Portland OR

Board Certification ?

Internal Medicine
American Board of Internal Medicine