Eric N. Shamo MD
4.4 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Mt. Scott Medical Office
9800 SE Sunnyside Road
Clackamas, OR 97015

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.4
Overall Score
  • 4.4
    Wait Time
  • 4.4
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.4
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.4
    Explanations
  • 4.5
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 154 Ratings
  • 32 Comments

I found the care provider to be personable & knowledgeable.

July 11, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Shamo listener to my concerns, examined me carefully, and prescribed the exercises that I need to do to recover from my rotator cuff injury.

March 06, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was scheduled with Dr. Shamo as emergency appointment and he was extremely informative. I appreciated the time he spent with me in helping to clear up my symptoms.

December 19, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Shamo and [name] provided outstanding service. Both of them listened to all my concerns and addressed each one of them.

November 10, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Shamo is a caring and compassionate doctor who seems to have his patients' needs in mind. Excellent!

November 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Our care provider & nurse were both excellent.

October 26, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Shamo is very professional, friendly and a good listener. He asked about my family and how I was doing. I appreciate the interest in me as a person.

June 22, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

he's not very personable... and comes across very rigid and conservative about every test or medication.

May 18, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The doctor laughed at my jokes even if they weren't all that good.

April 26, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I love Eric Shamo, he is an excellent doctor and I have no complaints to make, he's always very good at listening and respects my care choices without making me feel bad. He's awesome and you can tell him that.

April 19, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very compassionate committed doctor

April 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The visit went like it was complete and to the point. Very good.

March 09, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Overall, couldn't expect or imagine a better experience

January 03, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My son and I very much like/respect this dr. & nurse. Dr. takes his to thoroughly understand concerns and planning action plan. I have referred this dr. to other people.

December 30, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr Shamo is the best! He is pleasant, concerned and treats (my care) excellently!

December 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Shamo, MD is one of the most compassionate doctors who really cares about his patients. Please take some time to publicly recognize *Dr. Shamo for his outstanding care and dedication to the medical profession!

October 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Provider extremely good at listening and giving treatment options.

August 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Highest praise for *Dr. Shamo and *Dr. [name].

July 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Shamo saw me when my regular doc was unavailable. He made the effort to contact the dermatologist who then prescribed a new medicine. He was caring and got the job done!

June 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He is really a great doctor!

May 24, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was very pleased with my care provider.

May 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Had such a good experience that I request *Eric Shamo as my PCP. He spent lots of time and address all my issues proactively.

April 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Shamo is also very good and caring and we like him.

March 31, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I really like DR. Shamo. He was real with me. He showed genuine caring and understanding. I felt DR. Shamo heard everything I said.

February 03, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Shamo is definitely the best physician I have had. He is very engaged in me as a patient, treated me courteously and was very focused on assisting me with my medical issues/questions. He should be considered one of your best examples of a care provider; someone to model after.

February 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The visit with *Dr. Shamo was great. I had low expectations due to past visits and care. *Dr. Shamo was helpful in explaining and took the time to listen. Thank you.

January 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My overall experience was excellent. *Dr. Shamo was thorough, friendly, easy to talk to, super explanations, took time to deal w/ everything, my only concern was follow-up instructions for B-12 injections---

January 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I'm very glad we found *Dr. Shamo. My long time care provider left for Eugene I am pleased to have *Dr. Shamo.

December 03, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am very pleased with my medical care here THANK YOU VERY MUCH - *DR. SHAMO IS EXCELLENT!

November 25, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr [Shamo] has excellent interpersonal skills with patients. He's obviously bright, but never "talks above" me with his questions or explanation. I appreciate when he's asked me what I think we should do. We decided together in the best route for my care and follow-up. He treated me like an informed adult, which I am. :)

October 16, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The physical did not include many areas usually covered; no explanation, so the assumption is there are no problems.

September 22, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This doctor took the time to ask me about myself during our initial meeting. He did not appear to be in a hurry to get thru the visit and answered all my questions.

September 11, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I grew up in the Midwest and moved to Portland to complete my medical training in 2010. I am grateful for the opportunity to work at the intersection of people and science.

About my practice

I see patients of all ages and all backgrounds. My mission as your doctor is to help you to become the healthiest person you can be. Having optimal health requires a healthy diet, regular exercise, disease prevention, and screening. I am excited to be your doctor and coach you to achieve your health goals.

How I thrive

As an urban-dwelling outdoorsman, I am happy to call Portland home. I enjoy being in the city for good food, tennis, and culture. I also love getting out of the city to backpack, travel, snowboard, or spend a weekend at the coast.

Medical School ?

Ohio State University College of Medicine
Columbus

Medical Training ?

Family Medicine
Oregon Health & Science University
Portland OR

Board Certification ?

Family Medicine
American Board of Family Medicine