Eugene P. Nicholson IV, MD
4.8 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Rockwood Medical Office
19500 SE Stark St.
Portland, OR 97233

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.8
Overall Score
  • 4.5
    Wait Time
  • 4.8
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.9
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.8
    Explanations
  • 4.8
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 42 Ratings
  • 9 Comments

Dr. is kind but kind of quiet.

February 16, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Nicholson was very friendly and explained our options very well to where my 11 year old grandson understood his options for treatment. I would recommend him to family and friends.

January 04, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My sons first visit w/*Doctor Nicholson. He really liked him and was extremely personable.

September 28, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

We enjoyed how the doctor took the time to listen to us always appreciated.

August 30, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am pleased with my visit and overall care.

October 24, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

We love *Dr. Nicholson! He is extremely kind, and helpful. He follows up quickly on needs. I've received a couple phone calls from him following up on things. I so appreciate him taking his own time to do this. He is great with my kids. They enjoy him and know him by name. We have chosen Kaiser many years specifically because we want *Dr. Nicholson to provide our care.

May 31, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Nickles (as my kids refer to him) continues to provide a perfect experience. He's down to earth, always has a relaxed and pleasant disposition and knows what he's talking about.

May 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

No complaints, job well done.

September 30, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Nicholson is just the best. Regardless of where I live I would travel to have him care for my children. He is knowledgeable, reassuring and has a kind and gentle disposition that even with toddler misbehavior, is calming to both me as mom and my two year old. He as helped me though the vaccination process, and has worked me through my strong resistance by gently nudging me along until now both my kid are caught up in their shots. He is never rattled, always kind and full of helpful information. It's as though his care style was designed with my family's needs in mind.

August 12, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I came to pediatrics at an odd angle. As an undergraduate, I double majored in French and Anthropology and went on to work on excavation sites in Europe. Though this was fascinating work, I soon began working as an emergency medical technician and refugee relocation volunteer to satisfy my need to reach out in a direct way. I went on to earn my MD from the Medical College of Georgia where I met my wonderful wife, and then complete my pediatric residency and chief residency at OHSU. We are now both pediatricians, she in the hospital setting and I in the clinic. At home, our lives revolve around a little boy and a little girl who teach us more about the importance of our work than any textbook.

About my practice

I have diverse interests in pediatrics. Above all, I believe in protecting and fostering the immense capacity for joy, creativity, and intellect in every child. My job is to guide families through the myriad of diseases, parenting challenges, and social struggles, which can threaten healthy development. When I see a child of any age, I see someone in the moment as well as a person minutes, hours, days, and even years older. I see myself as a family partner, focusing on preventive medicine and offering evidence-based treatment recommendations when needed. In addition to serving as a primary care provider, I work in urgent care and run a monthly diabetes clinic.

How I thrive

I sneak in play wherever I can. I bike to work and I laugh at work. As a family, we garden, hike, goof off, and sometimes travel. With my friends, I'm all about whitewater kayaking, which is so abundant around Portland. I also have a passion for supporting efforts to protect wild places and to keep our air, streams, and oceans clean for all of our children to enjoy.

Medical School ?

Medical College of Georgia
Augusta

Medical Training ?

Pediatrics
Oregon Health & Science University
Portland OR

Board Certification ?

Pediatrics
American Board of Pediatrics