Fern G. Russak MD
4.7 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Interstate Medical Office East
3550 North Interstate Ave.
Portland, OR 97227

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.7
Overall Score
  • 4.2
    Wait Time
  • 4.7
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.7
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.7
    Explanations
  • 4.7
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 66 Ratings
  • 24 Comments

We feel very fortunate to have *Dr. Russak caring for our 2 toddlers. She is always responsive, whether by email, phone or in person, & has a great manner of putting the kids (@ parent) at ease.

June 06, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

We have full faith in *Dr. Russak who has cared for both of our children their entire lives. She's the reason we've stuck with Kaiser, despite changes in employers/insurance over the years. Her responses to our concerns both at this last visit and in the past have been thoughtful and thorough.

April 19, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Russak was attentive and helpful, even though she isn't our son's PCP. Thank you for your empathy and kindness!

January 29, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Russak is not our regular provider. She was lovely and spent ample time covering all the bases with us.

January 18, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

love Dr. Russak! very thorough and calmed my nerves! wish she could be my doctor - can I pretend I am 12?!

September 19, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Russak was awesome - she came back into the room to thoroughly answer a question I had neglected to ask during our appointment. This was so appreciated and helpful. Best pediatric visit to date.

September 05, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Russak went above and beyond accommodating my two kids in back to back appointments. It was one of our best visits because of the trust she's built with them.

August 31, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The doctor was kind, patient and smart!. We loved her!

August 08, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Russak has been taking care of my children for 18 yrs. for my sone and 14 for my daughter and she is the best! I trust her judgment and have complete confidence in her!

June 26, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Russak is among the best. She is caring, attentive, takes as much time as she needs, is quick to diagnose problems, is always knowledgeable. I can always get into to see her. She is great to explain things so I fully understand. She is 100% top notch!!

May 10, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Russak is so thoughtful and spent extra time with us to discuss my concerns about my daughter. I really appreciate the amount of time she took from her (surely) busy schedule.

January 23, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Everytime I go, I am treated well with respect.

October 13, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Good experience. The Doctor even called to check on [child's] progress. I appreciate her display of compassion and genuine concern.

September 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Fern is a great doctor - my boys love her and so do we.

July 26, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I loved my appt. w/*Dr. Russak I didn't feel rushed or pushed to conform to her opinions - I felt heard and genuinely cared for. She also called to follow up later, and make sure I was OK. She remembered specific details, and I was impressed by her level of care.

June 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Our whole experience was great. The MA and Dr. Russak were awesome like always!

June 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was really impressed with how easily & naturally *Dr. Russak & her nurse assistant engaged with my 2 year old; putting her at ease quite quickly.

June 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This doctor asked questions, respected the patient's responses, and was appreciative of questions. She thanked the patient for asking for clarification of words that weren't familiar.

March 16, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Russuk has consistently gone above and beyond our expectations in the over 10 years she has been out daughter's pediatrician.

March 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was at the kaiser clinic for almost three hours with an 18 month old. The coordination of care between services was horrible and the doctor while friendly and helpful was too busy to properly address our needs

December 23, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Russak is one of the greatest pediatricians I ever met. She goes above and beyond every time I expres a concern. She has been in my family since my girl was born and she's 9 years old right now. I always leave her clinic with all the information I need to take better care of my family at home. She's very professional and experienced. I have the peace of mind that she always will do everything she can to help my children and myself in the best way possible. We are blessed to be under her care and to have Kaiser.

December 16, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

A great doctor who's taken care of me for years!

November 25, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Russak, she is the best dr.

September 30, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

it was the first time I saw Dr. Russak but I was impressed with her thoroughness and friendliness.

September 23, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was born and raised in sunny Southern California. I met my husband in medical school. Medicine seemed to me the ultimate opportunity to blend scientific and humanistic knowledge. My husband and I were both interested in primary care. He trained in family medicine and I chose pediatrics. Eventually, we traded sleepless nights on call for sleepless nights raising our two kids. Even though our son and daughter are now young adults, there is still nothing as humbling and rewarding as being a parent. Our own children's challenges and illnesses have taught me powerful lessons that have made me a better pediatrician. My husband's career change from family medicine to public health brought our family to Portland, Oregon. I love this drizzly town with its beautiful neighborhoods, parks, and friendly culture.

About my practice

People often bring their worries to the doctor. It is our job to use all of our training and experience to identify problems and treat them the best way we know how. Medical problem solving is a wonderful challenge. In the past, I have worked in specialty settings with kids with complex medical or developmental problems. I now enjoy working in a general pediatric clinic. I am fortunate to work with an amazing group of pediatricians at East Interstate Medical Clinic. When we have a tough case, we consult one another and our patients come out ahead. Pediatricians are fortunate to spend a lot of their energy supporting healthy growth and development and marveling and the wonder of human development. Not only do I enjoy watching children grow and develop, I enjoy accompanying adults on their journey through parenthood and teenagers becoming adults. I am humbled by the miracle of healthy growth as well as the strength and determination of families coping with illness and disabilities.

How I thrive

I love getting my hands dirty and coaxing a summer harvest out of our tiny yard. Exercise keeps me sane. Jogging buddies generate "friend-endorphins" and I often tuck my graying hair under a helmet and bicycle to work. I think it is important to "change the channel" in our brains. Practicing music is like meditation for me. I play trombone in an amateur jazz band. There is nothing quite like the joy making music with other people.

Medical School ?

University of Southern California School of Medicine
Los Angeles

Medical Training ?

Pediatrics
University of California (San Francisco)/Fresno
Fresno CA

Board Certification ?

Pediatrics
American Board of Pediatrics