Gabriela McTyier OD
4.8 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Salmon Creek Medical Office
14406 NE 20th Ave.
Vancouver, WA 98686

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.8
Overall Score
  • 4.6
    Wait Time
  • 4.8
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.8
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.9
    Explanations
  • 4.8
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 334 Ratings
  • 70 Comments

Excellent care

June 15, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Gabriela McTyier was wonderful. She put me at ease, explained everything and even used pictures so that I really understood what was going on. I felt very comfortable and at ease and she made what could have been scary into some informative and interesting.

May 23, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

again I say the appointment went very well and I was appreciative of the information that was given to me and relieved some of my concerns I will be happy to reschedule with her next year when I need the routine checkup

May 21, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Mc Tyier alleviated my concerns about my eye condition.

May 11, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very confident in this provider. Listened well as well as providing good information.

May 04, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

good experience. ver satisfied with doctor

March 30, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

She was very thorough. I was impressed!

March 28, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Professionalism and good customer service from beginning to end. *Dr. McTyier was great!

March 28, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. McTyier thoroughly answered all my questions. She described the condition of my eyes in an understandable way.

February 05, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Love the doctor and her nurse. Both listened to my questions and informed me very well as to my vision issues.

January 08, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

always great!

December 18, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. McTyier was kind, patient, thorough and answered every single one of my questions. We discussed any past and present concerns and she took my past experiences into serious consideration. I never felt rushed or made to feel dumb. She double checked a couple of things I had concerns with and gave detailed and well considered answers about issues I should be or need not be concerned with. I liked her a lot and would choose her again when the next eye exam is needed.

December 18, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

It was an enjoyable experience.

November 22, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

optometrist was great! will see her for future appts

November 17, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This doctor was amazing!

November 03, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

She took her time with me, gave me time to ask questions, her explanations were clear and easy to understand. Very professional and thorough in a caring way.

November 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. McTyier was very helpful and found a solution to my vision concerns. She explained everything & she had great insight. Very grateful to her.

September 29, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

once again, a very good experience that lived up to my (admittedly high) expectations.

September 20, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I always try and schedule eye exams with Gabriela McTyier, OD because she is straight forward, gives a through exam, and explains each step to me. She speaks in terms I understand and I feel good about my eye care every time I leave the exam.

September 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have recommended this care provider to friends who have then scheduled with her.

August 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Gabriela was very thorough & caring! I felt well - taken care of!

August 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My appointment was just to recheck my vision to make sure my recent glasses were correct. My doctor was both professional and courteous.

July 17, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Routine eye appointment. Very efficient & professional.

July 12, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Gabriela was very helpful in explaining my condition to me.

June 30, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Ms. McTyier was friendly and apologetic for the short wait, and made me feel comfortable during the appointment.

June 07, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I'd definitEly would recommend the care provider to others. thumbs up.

June 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

excellent clinician

May 24, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

very competent provider

April 26, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very thorough, I didn't feel rushed, her explanations were clear and easy to understand.

April 19, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I brought in some specific concerns. She patiently listened to me. Tested everything. I left with confidence.

April 19, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent service!!

April 19, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

excellent Dr very caring

April 07, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. McTyier was great. I did have questions. She and the other lady ([name], I think) were really good!. They took my questions seriously. Very respectful.

April 07, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

interested in my care

April 03, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent provider - and staff.

February 08, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I really like Dr. McTyier and have great confidence in her knowledge and advice.

December 21, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Loved her!

November 16, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

She was outstanding! My I was really impressed with her caring ways, exploring all possible causes for potential issues. Left no stone unturned. Very thorough answering all my questions. High marks!

October 31, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am very happy with *Dr. McTyier!

October 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

All good

September 26, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. McTyier was extremely helpful and thorough. She answered all of my questions, and gave me extra information to look over. I had a great experience in the exam.

September 16, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

She is very straight forward with her exam and explains what is being done and why. She is very considerate, knowledgable, and is always asking me if I have any concerns or questions. She is a gem and I hope Kaiser doesn't loose her.

September 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. McTyier was very personable, easy to talk with & informative. My first time seeing her & enjoyed him.

August 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

She was very friendly and efficient. Also apologetic about the delay. She did an excellent job!

July 20, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

both assistant and doctor were very nice and efficient

July 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Doctor was excellent in showing a model which showed the changes of my eyes through the aging process.

July 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

It was obvious the dr. had reviewed my previous visit & showed concern about an on going diagnosis. She encouraged me to re-evaluate it as suggested in my follow-up at home with tools she gave me.

July 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Enjoyed meeting with Gabriela / very professional!

June 24, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very thorough. Wants me to return in 6 month to check a concern she has. Very pleased with her attention to details.

June 17, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. McTier listened to my concerns over changing to contacts to glasses because of balance.

June 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. McTyier is excellent in every way. Seems knowledgeable, is professional, does not waste time, and is eager to answer questions. She builds patient confidence. // I thought the personal touch was outstanding.

June 03, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

good experience

May 23, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Always a good experience with *Dr. McTyier. She is very thorough. Thank you.

May 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Doctor was friendly and well informed. Great clinician.

April 25, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

She is excellent.

April 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. McTyier seems to be the best @ fitting contact lenses.

April 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I very much appreciate the caring work of *Dr. McTyier. I hope she will stay with Kaiser so I can see her consistently. I trust her. [name]

April 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Seemed very caring, knowledgeable and answered questions beyond the reason for the visit.

December 02, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Everything was great.

November 20, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Overall, a very good experience.

November 13, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. McTyier was thorough. I felt that I was in good hands.

November 09, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Ms. McTyier was personable, professional and thorough.

October 16, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good.

October 09, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I appreciate my doctor taking the time with me because of issues I have with my eyes.

October 07, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I continue to see her because of the kindness and care I receive from her.

September 21, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Good!

September 01, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

All of the service and care I received was perfect. And my vision has improved *so much* from the adjustments that were made and the solutions that were provided. I am very grateful.

August 19, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My regular provider had retired since I saw him last, and so I didn't know what to expect, but I was very pleased with my care and by Ms. McTyier, so I will definitely be back next year with her!

August 19, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr McTyier gave me the best and most complete eye exam, She warned me of a possible retinal weakness to be aware of. New glasses due to her exam are best I have had. My preferred eye Dr now. She is a true asset to Kaiser. Professional and personable to the max! Thank you.

August 17, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. McTyier is very friendly and reassuring. This was my first time seeing her and I am glad I chose her. She does not rush through the appointment. I would recommend her to anyone who needs an optometrist.

August 14, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was born in Argentina and raised in California. I'll always be a California girl at heart, but love living in the Northwest and can't imagine being anywhere else.

About my practice

I strive to provide a comfortable environment where I can help members make well-informed decisions about their vision and eyes. I feel privileged to work amongst such high quality colleagues.

How I thrive

I enjoy yoga and playing soccer. I have a passion for cooking and any adventure involving food and drink. I love traveling and exploring new places, though in the past few years I've spent more energy as a new parent.

Medical School ?

University of California (Berkeley) School of Optometry
Berkeley

Medical Training ?

General Optometry
State University of New York College of Optometry
New York NY

General Optometry
University of California (Berkeley) School of Optometry
Berkeley CA

Board Certification ?