Gerald A. Dunlap MD
4.7 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Beaverton Medical Office
4855 SW Western Ave.
Beaverton, OR 97005

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.7
Overall Score
  • 4.6
    Wait Time
  • 4.7
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.7
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.7
    Explanations
  • 4.5
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 182 Ratings
  • 46 Comments

all off the times when I visit the doctor, I feel like I am always rushed with what my concerns are and what I need as a patient. even when I arrive early, the doctor always says that we only have a few minutes and goes in asking me what my concerns are in rushed way then says oit of the things I said, to choose what is more important to me, that is not right. i feel intimidated each time I see dr. Dunlap and I am always shy to say anything because i do not like to hurt others feelings but i think it is time for me to change providers and help my health. it is not right to rush your patients, I do not feel cm lmp comfortable.

July 10, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Dunlap - a caring dr.

May 04, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

It's as the doctor really cared for my health and not a pay check. Very satisfied with *Dr. Dunlap.

March 30, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Dunlap is smart, works hard at communication. BUT he jumps too fast to creating a "plan" as he calls it. Said another way, he does not listen as fully as I would like and does not ask questions as fully as I would like. I do believe he is a good technician but his personal approach and understanding of me is not what I had previously with a PPP. Seems to want "to get it done" rather than get to know me.

March 30, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Dunlap is an excellent physician who listens carefully and is very good about following up on any problems brought up during the visit. I feel his knowledge of medicine is excellent. I feel very fortunate to have him as a doctor.

March 21, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Dunlap is the VERY BEST.

January 30, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

dr. dunlap is thorough and I have grown to trust his insights. He is very responsive in my kponline questions.

January 24, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Dunlap is very kind, considerate, informative, and knowledgable.

January 12, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Felt that even though the doctor was on a tight schedule, he was patient and generous with his time spent with me, and answered all my questions

December 13, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was impressed with *Dr. Dunlap. He treated me as a meaningful person, almost a peer & did not lord his expertise over me. He is (will be) a special doctor.

November 29, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Dunlap seemed open, friendly and knowledgeable. I look forward to working with him to best manage my health care.

November 15, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Gerald Dunlop was very thorough and even consulted another doctor in the ear nose and throat department to ensure that I had the best treatment. I was very impressed that he did that above and beyond step. He also checked back with me all along several times to see if I was still okay. I am thankful for his professionalism and his kindness.

October 20, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My name is [name] and my doctor *Dr. Dunlap and his nurse [name] at the Western are location are amazing they deserve a raise.

October 13, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Dunlap is very attentive to patient's needs.

September 27, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Already recommended Gerald A. Dunlap, MD to a friend.

September 05, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was my first visit with Dr Dunlap. First impression is that he could be a good primary physician for me. He had reviewed the notes in my file before the appointment and was prepared with relevant information.

August 16, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

First time seeing Dr. Dunlap and I was very impressed with him and the care provided

August 10, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

without a doubt, my experience with both Dr Dunlap and his nurse, [name] was the best experience I have had with Kaiser. I have always received excellent care and have been very satisfied but they raised the bar to a new level. I am most grateful!!

June 21, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent.

May 05, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I felt a little rushed by both the doctor and the nurse. I particularly didn't appreciate to be told to stop talking so charting could be done.

April 13, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was seen promptly, I did not have to wait at all. I was smooth. The doctor *Gerald A. Dunlap left me with hoe with respect to a physical personal issue my last doctor did not address well. My overall experience was a good one, thank you!

March 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am especially pleased with *Dr. Dunlap's thoroughness, manner, and approach to my care, and he has my complete confidence.

February 28, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Dunlop is very warm and caring. He is new to me and I am sure the doctor will be a good match for me.

February 15, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He did a wonderful job.

December 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Dunlap is excellent!

December 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Friendliness seemed artificial.

November 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Really liked *Dr. Dunlap!

October 26, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Dunlap was great!

October 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very happy to have *Dr. Dunlap as my physician!

October 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Dunlap was excellent! I really felt taken care of.

September 13, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

A good experience for 1st time to *Dr. Dunlap!

August 30, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Dunlap is a great communicator and makes me feel that hew will take care of anything I need.

August 19, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

dr. Dunlap was great. friendly, courteous, attentive and knowlegable and proposed a good sense care plan.

August 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Dunlap is very professional

July 20, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Dunlap listened advise with several choices. In the end I made the choice which type of medication to take.Thank you Dr Dunlap!

July 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This is one of the best docs I have seen at Kaiser in the 12 years I've been with them; kind, informative, attentive, personable.

June 17, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Dunlap is a very caring and thorough physician.

June 17, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great Bedside Manner and was willing to talk about other concerns apart from what brought me in.

June 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

New Dr. I like him.

May 20, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was very impressed with Dr. Dunlap. It was my first meeting with him as a primary care doctor and I am most pleased.

May 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Dunlak was so very polite & helpful. He listened to my concern. At the end of my visit. I felt well taken care of.

April 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Dunlap treated me as though I were his patient. After examining my leg he changed the diagnosis and prescribed a different medication.

April 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Dunlap was not my own physician, but did a careful assessment of my problem, and was very caring. He also ordered an X-ray to make sure I was not suffering from pneumonia and had a copy of the results sent to me at home.

April 13, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He was very through and thoughtful. He listened to all concerns and was able to help me negotiate a tough situation.

March 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Dunlap is exceptional. I have been with Kaiser for over 6 years. He is the very first doctor to address any of my concerns. I find this a wonderful new experience.

March 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Dunlap is excellent.

February 26, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was born in North Carolina and grew up in Montana. To complete medical school, I attended Oregon Health Sciences University, and have been in the Portland area ever since.

About my practice

As an internal medicine physician, I specialize in the care of adult members, many of whom have complex or chronic health concerns. I believe that the best medicine comes through an active partnership between a member and provider. Providing options and expertise to members to help them reach a decision as to how they would like to proceed with their care. I enjoy discussing options with members regarding their care and using the best current evidence to try and help frame the options that are medically optimal while following a member-centered approach.

How I thrive

I enjoy spending time with my family and at home. I enjoy gardening and canning as well as hiking in the lovely Pacific Northwest. I am always trying to acquire new skills and expertise both inside and outside of medicine. Some of my favorite hobbies include working with electronics, woodworking, and computer programming.

Medical School ?

Oregon Health Sciences University School of Medicine
Portland

Medical Training ?

Internal Medicine
Providence Health System/St. Vincent Hospital and Medical Center
Portland OR

Board Certification ?

Internal Medicine
American Board of Internal Medicine